Journal profile · Nutrition & Dietetics

Nutrition

ISSN 0899-9007 · eISSN 1873-1244 · Elsevier Inc. · UNITED STATES · Monthly · Founded 1987

Nutrition: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.51; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,870; median 94 days to acceptance (98 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: easy; 297 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor3.51Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time94 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 98 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 3,870Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
AcceptanceEasyCommunity average
Articles per year2972025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Nutrition is published by Elsevier Inc. and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nutrition and Health in Aging, Clinical Nutrition and Gastroenterology and Nutritional Studies and Diet, together about 36.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Physiology and Nutrition and Dietetics. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The International Journal of Applied and Basic Nutritional SciencesFounded by Michael M. Meguid in the early 1980's, Nutrition presents advances in nutrition research and science, informs its readers on new and advancing technologies and data in clinical nutrition practice, encourages the application of outcomes research and meta-analyses to problems in patient-related nutrition; and seeks to help clarify and set the research, policy and practice agenda for nutrition science to enhance human well-being in the years ahead. Papers on nutrition-related plant or animal sciences are unlikely to be considered as they are outside the main focus of the Journal.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Nutrition & Dietetics

Editor-in-chief Isabel CorreiaPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 4%); most named United States 7, Italy 7, Brazil 7, Germany 3, Canada 3 (47 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Nutrition and Health in AgingMedicine15.6%
  2. Clinical Nutrition and GastroenterologyNursing12.7%
  3. Nutritional Studies and DietMedicine7.9%
  4. Diet and metabolism studiesMedicine7.1%
  5. Body Composition Measurement TechniquesMedicine5%
  6. Fatty Acid Research and HealthNursing4.7%
  7. Obesity, Physical Activity, DietMedicine3.8%
  8. Muscle metabolism and nutritionBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorNutrition & DieteticsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorNutrition & DieteticsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorNutrition & DieteticsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
3.51LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
3.6Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
6.9LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
6.9Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.95LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.02LetPub ·
h-index
128LetPub ·
h-index
200OpenAlex ·
i10-index
4,847OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.8OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
2.8%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
25.95%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
220LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 9,159 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20262599483
2025297100642
2024242891,512
20232861062,918
20222971013,838
20213831106,577

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

94 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 64 days – 131 days

Acceptance to online
median 7 days (98 articles)
Submission to online
median 111 days
Sample
98 articles with submission and acceptance dates (618 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 6 monthsLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
EasyLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
8 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
63 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
110 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
4 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,870 / EUR 3,620 / GBP 3,100 / JPY 480,000——
Publisher websiteUSD 3,780——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Open calls for papers1, by deadline
  1. Nutrition and Critical CareDeadline
Publisher website
What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
1–7
Manuscript length
≤ 5,000 words
Reference style
Numbered, in order of citation
Templates
LaTeX and Word
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Highlights
Required
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted17, with length limits
  1. case reportOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…main text ≤ 2,500 words
  2. case studyOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…Length not stated
  3. correspondenceOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…main text ≤ 1,000 words
  4. correspondence (letter to the editor)Correspondence (Letter to the Editor) (1000 words including tables, figures and references): Opinion pieces concerning papers published in Nutrition are particu…Length not stated
  5. editorialOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…main text ≤ 1,000 words
  6. hypothesissuch material as promptly as possible. Hypothesis (up to 3000 words including tables, figures and references): Novel insights imain text ≤ 3,000 words
  7. letterOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…main text ≤ 1,000 words
  8. letter to the editorOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…Length not stated
  9. meeting proceedingsMeeting proceedings (up to 2500 words including tables, figures and references): Reports of meeting proceedings are synopses of scientific meetings of interest …Length not stated
  10. opinionOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…Length not stated
  11. original investigation (basic or applied)Original investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…Length not stated
  12. rapid communicationOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…main text ≤ 3,000 words
  13. research letterResearch letter (up to 1000 words, including up to 10 references and 1 figure or table): A Research Letter contains new data or a clinical observation, in a for…Length not stated
  14. research reportOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…Length not stated
  15. reviewOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…main text ≤ 5,000 words
  16. special articleSpecial article (up to 5000 words including tables, figures and references): Associated with a particular special event, invitation or announcement; for example…Length not stated
  17. viewpointOriginal investigation (basic or applied) (3000-5000 words including tables, figures and references): Original investigations are considered full-length applied…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

A single corresponding author must be appointed to communicate with the journal. Model summary

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics

Authors must follow Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy. Model summary

Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Single anonymized review process; submissions initially assessed by editors; if suitable, sent to a minimum of two reviewers; decision made by editors. Model summary

This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharing allowed in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy; does not count as prior publication. Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier Inc.
Country or region
UNITED STATES
Language
English
Frequency
Monthly
Founded
1987
ISSN
0899-9007
Electronic ISSN
1873-1244
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Nutrition

What CAS zone is Nutrition in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Nutrition is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Nutrition & Dietetics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Nutrition?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.51; CiteScore 6.9, h-index 200.

How long does peer review take at Nutrition?

Based on the dates recorded on 98 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 94 days (interquartile range 64–131 days); authors report an average review time of about 6 months; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Nutrition?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Templates: LaTeX and Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Nutrition based?

Of the 47 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (7), Italy (7) and Brazil (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Nutrition?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Nutrition is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Is Nutrition open access, and what is the APC?

Nutrition is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,870.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .