Journal profile · NURSING

Nurse Education in Practice

ISSN 1471-5953 · eISSN 1873-5223 · Churchill Livingstone · ENGLAND

Nurse Education in Practice: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.53; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,970; median 95 days to acceptance (85 articles, last 24 months); 396 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.

Impact factor4.53Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 2 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 2 · Medicine
Review time95 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 85 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 3,970Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year3962025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Nurse Education in Practice is published by Churchill Livingstone and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nursing education and management, Simulation-Based Education in Healthcare and Innovations in Medical Education, together about 42.9% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Nurse Education in Practice aims to publish leading international research and scholarship on the practice of nurse and midwifery related education. The remit of the journal, therefore, spans education and clinical practice. We publish empirical studies and systematic reviews with a view to contributing to the evidence base of nurse and midwifery education in practice.Nurse Education in Practice is a peer reviewed journal which promotes diversity in terms of country, culture, sexual orientation and lifestyle. Submissions to the journal should be theoretically based, methodologically sound and of interest to an international readership. We promote open science and encourage the pre-printing of manuscripts, registration of studies and sharing of data.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): NURSING

Editor-in-chief Roger WatsonPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 9 in mainland China (about 26%); most named United Kingdom 12, Mainland China 9, Australia 5, United States 2, Spain 2 (34 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Nursing education and managementNursing20.7%
  2. Simulation-Based Education in HealthcareMedicine13.1%
  3. Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine9.1%
  4. Interprofessional Education and CollaborationHealth Professions7.7%
  5. Cultural Competency in Health CareSocial Sciences3.6%
  6. Nursing Roles and PracticesHealth Professions3.2%
  7. Reflective Practices in EducationSocial Sciences3.2%
  8. Education and Critical Thinking DevelopmentSocial Sciences3.2%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorNursingZone 1

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 2
MinorNursingZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorNursingZone 2

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIESSCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
4.53LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
4.5Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
6.3LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
6.3Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
1.19LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.86LetPub ·
h-index
39LetPub ·
h-index
107OpenAlex ·
i10-index
2,118OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
5.38OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
8.9%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
33.37%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
334LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,920 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202623376146
20253961631,752
20243181353,194
20232691144,517
2022200814,463
2021259906,862

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

95 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 66 days – 138 days

Acceptance to online
median 5 days (85 articles)
Submission to online
median 102 days
Sample
85 articles with submission and acceptance dates (686 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Submission to first decision
4 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
73 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
133 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
3 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,970 / EUR 3,710 / GBP 3,180 / JPY 492,400——
Publisher websiteUSD 3,730——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Open calls for papers1, by deadline
  1. Dismantling Ableism in Nursing EducationDeadline
Publisher website
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
≥ 4
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted10, with length limits
  1. editorialNEP publishes original research, reviews, and discussion papers. We no longer publish protocols for original studies and reviews or pilot and feasibility studie…Length not stated
  2. editorialsAll editorials are commissioned, and we do not invite submissions under this category. Editorials in NEP are not reviewed and are published at the discretion of…Length not stated
  3. literature reviewNEP publishes original research, reviews, and discussion papers. We no longer publish protocols for original studies and reviews or pilot and feasibility studie…Length not stated
  4. original researchNEP publishes original research, reviews, and discussion papers. We no longer publish protocols for original studies and reviews or pilot and feasibility studie…Length not stated
  5. protocolNEP publishes original research, reviews, and discussion papers. We no longer publish protocols for original studies and reviews or pilot and feasibility studie…Length not stated
  6. research paperNEP publishes original research, reviews, and discussion papers. We no longer publish protocols for original studies and reviews or pilot and feasibility studie…main text ≤ 5,000 words
  7. research papersResearch Papers - 5,000 words (excluding abstract, references, tables, and figures) NEP publishes original research that matches the aims and scope of the journ…Length not stated
  8. reviewNEP publishes original research, reviews, and discussion papers. We no longer publish protocols for original studies and reviews or pilot and feasibility studie…main text ≤ 6,000 words
  9. reviews and discussion papersReviews and Discussion Papers - 6,000 words (excluding abstract, references, tables, and figures) We publish systematic reviews (addressing focused research que…Length not stated
  10. systematic reviewNEP publishes original research, reviews, and discussion papers. We no longer publish protocols for original studies and reviews or pilot and feasibility studie…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability

Data statement encouraged Model summary

To foster transparency, you are encouraged to state the availability of any data at submission.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Double anonymized peer review Model summary

This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharing allowed Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Churchill Livingstone
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
ISSN
1471-5953
Electronic ISSN
1873-5223
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Nurse Education in Practice

What CAS zone is Nurse Education in Practice in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Nurse Education in Practice is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Nursing. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Nurse Education in Practice?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.53; CiteScore 6.3, h-index 107.

How long does peer review take at Nurse Education in Practice?

Based on the dates recorded on 85 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 95 days (interquartile range 66–138 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Nurse Education in Practice?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Nurse Education in Practice based?

Of the 34 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 9 (about 26%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (12), Mainland China (9) and Australia (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Nurse Education in Practice?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Nurse Education in Practice is indexed in SCIE, SSCI and Scopus.

Is Nurse Education in Practice open access, and what is the APC?

Nurse Education in Practice is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,970.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .