Journal profile · Economics, Econometrics and Finance-Economics, Econometrics and Finance (all)
New Zealand Economic Papers
ISSN 0077-9954 · eISSN 1943-4863 · Taylor & Francis
New Zealand Economic Papers: CAS Zone 4 · Economics (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.6 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 138 days to acceptance (36 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 30% (journal website); 24 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
New Zealand Economic Papers is published by Taylor & Francis and is in Zone 4 of Economics in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are New Zealand Economic and Social Studies, Fiscal Policy and Economic Growth and Monetary Policy and Economic Impact, together about 30.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Economics and Econometrics and General Economics, Econometrics and Finance. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
New Zealand Economic Papers publishes research of the highest quality from leading international scholars in all areas of economics. The Journal also serves as an outlet for world class research on important economic and policy issues relevant to New Zealand, the Pacific, Australia, and Asia. The Journal covers all aspects of economics, from micro- to macrotheory and micro- to macroeconometrics. The Journal publishes full papers, research notes, and policy papers related to the Journal’s aims. Peer review policy Research Articles published in this journal have undergone rigorous double-anonymous peer review based on initial editor screening and detailed review by at least two anonymous referees. Notes are typically peer reviewed by one referee as well as the Editor (or an Associate Editor), while Book Reviews are editorially assessed. Authors can choose to publish gold open access in this journal. Read the Instructions for Authors .
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Economics, Econometrics and Finance-Economics, Econometrics and Finance (all)
Editor-in-chief Onur A. KoskaPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named New Zealand 12, Australia 1, Singapore 1 (14 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- New Zealand Economic and Social StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance13.7%
- Fiscal Policy and Economic GrowthEconomics, Econometrics and Finance8.5%
- Monetary Policy and Economic ImpactEconomics, Econometrics and Finance8.4%
- Economic Theory and PolicyEconomics, Econometrics and Finance7%
- Economic Growth and ProductivityEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.2%
- Global trade and economicsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.2%
- Housing Market and EconomicsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.2%
- Gender, Labor, and Family DynamicsSocial Sciences4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Economics Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Economics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Economics Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Economics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EconLitGeoRefPublisher website
Other: ProQuest, EBSCOhost, Elsevier BV, Gale, Ovid
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 1.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.24LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 0.24Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.33LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 0.33Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 27OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 154OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.73OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 18.07%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 19LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 44,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,022 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 9 | 6 | 1 |
| 2025 | 24 | 11 | 10 |
| 2024 | 30 | 17 | 35 |
| 2023 | 18 | 11 | 40 |
| 2022 | 29 | 6 | 100 |
| 2021 | 21 | 10 | 146 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
138 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 78 days – 237 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 24 days (36 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 162 days
- Sample
- 36 articles with submission and acceptance dates (41 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 30%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 17 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 93 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted3
- book reviewsNotes are typically peer reviewed by one referee as well as the Editor (or an Associate Editor), while Book Reviews are editorially assessed.Length not stated
- notesNotes are typically peer reviewed by one referee as well as the Editor (or an Associate Editor), while Book Reviews are editorially assessed.Length not stated
- research articlesResearch Articles published in this journal have undergone rigorous double-anonymous peer review based on initial editor screening and detailed review by at lea…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access
- Open access Open access
Gold open access option available. Model summary
New Zealand Economic Papers is a hybrid open access journal that is part of the Taylor & Francis Open Select publishing program, giving you the option to publish open access. Publishing open access means that your article will be free to access online immediately on publication, increasing the visibility, readership, and impact of your research. Why choose open access? Increase the discoverability…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Taylor & Francis
- ISSN
- 0077-9954
- Electronic ISSN
- 1943-4863
- Society / sponsor
- New Zealand Association of Economists
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 60, Issue 2 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about New Zealand Economic Papers
What CAS zone is New Zealand Economic Papers in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, New Zealand Economic Papers is in Zone 4 of Economics, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Economics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Economics. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of New Zealand Economic Papers?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.6 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.2, h-index 27.
How long does peer review take at New Zealand Economic Papers?
Based on the dates recorded on 36 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 138 days (interquartile range 78–237 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 30%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of New Zealand Economic Papers based?
Of the 14 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are New Zealand (12), Australia (1) and Singapore (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index New Zealand Economic Papers?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, New Zealand Economic Papers is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists EconLit and GeoRef; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is New Zealand Economic Papers open access, and what is the APC?
New Zealand Economic Papers is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .