Journal profile · Multiple
Neurotrauma Reports
ISSN 2689-288X · Mary Ann Liebert · United States
Neurotrauma Reports: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.7 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 1,750; review about 8 weeks (community reports); 89 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Neurotrauma Reports is published by Mary Ann Liebert and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Traumatic Brain Injury and Neurovascular Disturbances, Traumatic Brain Injury Research and Cardiac Arrest and Resuscitation, together about 57.9% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Helen M. BramlettPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 37, Canada 4, Australia 2, United Kingdom 1, Japan 1 (47 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Traumatic Brain Injury and Neurovascular DisturbancesMedicine26.9%
- Traumatic Brain Injury ResearchMedicine22.9%
- Cardiac Arrest and ResuscitationMedicine8.1%
- Spinal Cord Injury ResearchMedicine7.4%
- Trauma and Emergency Care StudiesMedicine5.7%
- S100 Proteins and AnnexinsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.3%
- Neuroscience of respiration and sleepNeuroscience1.9%
- Injury Epidemiology and PreventionMedicine1.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.7Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.8LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.65LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.7LetPub ·
- h-index
- 22OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 81OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.76OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.9%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 98.89%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 89LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 512 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 91 | 91 | 9 |
| 2025 | 89 | 89 | 122 |
| 2024 | 106 | 106 | 371 |
| 2023 | 79 | 79 | 444 |
| 2022 | 58 | 58 | 546 |
| 2021 | 58 | 58 | 645 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 8 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,750 | No | CC BY | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,750 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,750 | No | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,200 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare1 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- Vancouver
Article types accepted13
- hypothesisManuscript Types and Guidelines Regular Manuscript · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum …Length not stated
- letters to the editorManuscript Types and Guidelines Regular Manuscript · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum …Length not stated
- living systematic reviewsLiving Systematic Reviews · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum of six (6) tablesLength not stated
- nns neurotrauma trainee perspectivesNNS Neurotrauma Trainee Perspectives · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum of six (6) tab…Length not stated
- null hypothesisNull Hypothesis · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum of six (6) tablesLength not stated
- original articleManuscript Types and Guidelines Regular Manuscript · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum …Length not stated
- perspectiveManuscript Types and Guidelines Regular Manuscript · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum …Length not stated
- regular manuscriptRegular Manuscript · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum of six (6) tablesLength not stated
- review articleManuscript Types and Guidelines Regular Manuscript · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum …Length not stated
- review articlesReview Articles · 8,000-12,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures o Maximum of six (6) tablesLength not stated
- short communicationManuscript Types and Guidelines Regular Manuscript · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum …Length not stated
- short communicationsShort Communications · 2,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of two (2) tables and/or figuresLength not stated
- systematic reviewManuscript Types and Guidelines Regular Manuscript · 3,000-word limit · Unstructured abstract of no more than 250 words · Maximum of ten (10) figures · Maximum …Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
As part of our commitment to ensuring an ethical, transparent and fair peer review and publication process, this journal has adopted CRediT (Contributor Roles Taxonomy). CRediT is a high-level taxonomy, including 14 roles, which is used to describe each author’s individual contributions to the work. You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
Neurotrauma Reports is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of publishing, paid by the funde…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Mary Ann Liebert
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2689-288X
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Neurotrauma Reports
What CAS zone is Neurotrauma Reports in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Neurotrauma Reports is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Clinical Neurology / Neurosciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Neurotrauma Reports?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.7; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.8, h-index 22.
How long does peer review take at Neurotrauma Reports?
Authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Neurotrauma Reports based?
Of the 47 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (37), Canada (4) and Australia (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Neurotrauma Reports?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Neurotrauma Reports is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Neurotrauma Reports open access, and what is the APC?
Neurotrauma Reports is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,750.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .