Journal profile · Neuroscience-Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience
Neuronal Signaling
ISSN 2059-6553 · Portland Press, Biochemical Society · United Kingdom
Neuronal Signaling: fully open access; APC about USD 2,225; review about 14 weeks (community reports); 0 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
The latest issue on the journal's website is from January 2024 (Volume 8, Issue 1): the journal may have stopped publishing or moved platform in the last two years. Check its website before submitting.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Neuronal Signaling is published by Portland Press, Biochemical Society. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology Research, Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration Mechanisms and Neurogenesis and neuroplasticity mechanisms, together about 35.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Neuronal Signaling: from cell to brain. The mission of Neuronal Signaling is to provide an interdisciplinary home for neuroscience covering all aspects of in vitro and in vivo signaling from cell to brain in health and disease. Relevant topics range from signaling pathways involved in nervous system development and normal physiology through to neurodegenerative, neurological and psychiatric disorders and other pathologies. Neuronal Signaling is a single-anonymous peer-reviewed, open access journal and is a home for research and reviews on molecular and cellular neuroscience, supported by Editor-in-Chief Clare Stanford and an expert Editorial Board. Neuronal Signaling is published by Portland Press on behalf of the Biochemical Society. The Biochemical Society was founded in 1911 and, given its breadth of coverage within the life sciences, continues to attract a strong membership community; Portland Press is the publishing arm of the Biochemical Society, with all profits being returned to the Society for them to carry out their charitable endeavours. Neuronal Signaling is indexed in PubMed Central, Google Scholar and the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). The journal’s interdisciplinary scope includes (but is not limited to) basic signaling mechanisms (e.g. neurotransmitters, ions and ion channels, receptors and messenger molecules, molecular genetics and epigenetic mechanisms), as well as electrical signaling, signaling in neural circuits (including neuroimaging), signaling aspects of pathologies, synaptic transmission and plasticity, and therapeutic intervention. The Journal covers a number of areas of neuroscience, including (but not limited to): Addiction, affective disorders and depression, aging, cellular and molecular mechanisms of behaviour, cognition, epilepsy, gene therapy, learning and memory, neurodegeneration, neuroendocrinology, neurogenesis, neuroimmunology, neurooncology, neuropharmacology and therapeutics, neurotoxicity, pain and analgesia, psychiatric disorders, stress and fear, stroke and cerebrovascular disease, technical developments and methodologies in neuroscience research.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Neuroscience-Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience
Editor-in-chief Clare Stanford AffiliationPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 4%); most named United States 6, United Kingdom 5, Australia 3, Ireland 3, South Korea 2 (28 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience16%
- Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience10.2%
- Neurogenesis and neuroplasticity mechanismsNeuroscience9.1%
- Parkinson's Disease Mechanisms and TreatmentsMedicine6.4%
- Alzheimer's disease research and treatmentsMedicine5.4%
- Nuclear Receptors and SignalingNeuroscience4.8%
- Memory and Neural MechanismsNeuroscience3.7%
- Pain Mechanisms and TreatmentsMedicine3.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience | Q1 | 10/102 | 90th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PMCPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 13.9LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.99LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.88LetPub ·
- h-index
- 29OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 67OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 96 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 400 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 546 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 485 |
| 2023 | 11 | 11 | 381 |
| 2022 | 13 | 13 | 320 |
| 2021 | 22 | 22 | 274 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 14 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 14 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Unspecified peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,225 | Yes | CC BY | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,225 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,225 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 1,250 / USD 2,225 / EUR 1,885 / GBP 875 / USD 1,555 / EUR 1,320 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Required
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Required
- Cover letter
- Required
- Not considered
- meta-analyses; systematic reviews
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- commentariesCommentaries – normally commissioned; used to highlight and put into context a published research article, although non-commissioned commentaries can be conside…Length not stated
- correspondence/comments/letters to the editorCorrespondence/Comments/Letters to the Editor- Correspondence pieces should be informative and proactive.Length not stated
- editorialsEditorials – commissioned onlyLength not stated
- perspectivelength/ article structure requirements: Perspectives should be 2000-4000 words in length and can include figures Correspondence/Comments/Lmain text ≤ 4,000 words
- perspectives and opinionsPerspectives and Opinions- normally commissioned.Length not stated
- research papersResearch Papers – the normal form of publication, of approximately 6-8 printed pagesLength not stated
- review articlesReview articles – normally commissioned, although non-commissioned reviews will be considered for publication.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Open access
- Authorship
No submission or page charges. Model summary
Neuronal Signaling does not charge submission or page charges.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest
Vancouver reference style. Model summary
Please use the Vancouver style for all references.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Data Availability Statement required for research papers (as of 5 October 2020). Model summary
As of 5 October 2020, all research papers submitted to the Biochemical Society’s research journals will require a Data Availability Statement to be included upon submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access under CC BY licence. Model summary
All articles are published under a Creative Commons CC BY licence.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Portland Press, Biochemical Society
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2059-6553
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 8, Issue 1 (January 2024)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Neuronal Signaling
How long does peer review take at Neuronal Signaling?
Authors report an average review time of about 14 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Neuronal Signaling?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Required; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Neuronal Signaling based?
Of the 28 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (6), United Kingdom (5) and Australia (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Neuronal Signaling?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Neuronal Signaling is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PMC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Neuronal Signaling open access, and what is the APC?
Neuronal Signaling is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,225.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .