Journal profile · CLINICAL NEUROLOGY
Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience
ISSN 2049-4173 · Wiley · Bi-monthly · Founded 2013
Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.3 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,870; median 81 days to acceptance (94 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 27% (journal website); 93 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience is published by Wiley and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Parkinson's Disease Mechanisms and Treatments, Peripheral Neuropathies and Disorders and Neurological disorders and treatments, together about 24.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Neurology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience, the Official Journal of the Japanese Society of Neurology, publishes high quality articles in neurology and clinical neuroscience. Original articles cover broad areas of neurology and basic research relevant to neurological diseases. There is an emphasis on research that explores frontiers to elucidate the mechanisms of neurological diseases and translational research including clinical trials to develop better treatments and their prevention. Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience also publishes Reviews, Case Reports, Pictures in Neurology, Mutations in Neurology, Commentaries and Letters to the Editor that provide the readers with new insights into neurology and clinical neuroscience. Abstracting and Indexing Information Academic Search Alumni Edition (EBSCO Publishing) Academic Search Elite (EBSCO Publishing) Biological Science Database (ProQuest) Biomedical Index (EBSCO Publishing) CAS: Chemical Abstracts Service (ACS) Embase (Elsevier) Emerging Sources Citation Index (Clarivate Analytics) Health & Medical Collection (ProQuest) Health Research Premium Collection (ProQuest) Natural Science Collection (ProQuest) Neurosciences Abstracts (ProQuest) ProQuest Central (ProQuest) SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) SCOPUS (Elsevier) Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics)
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CLINICAL NEUROLOGY
Editor-in-chief Yoshitaka NagaiPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 6%); most named United States 9, Japan 5, Mainland China 2, South Korea 2, Germany 2 (32 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Parkinson's Disease Mechanisms and TreatmentsMedicine9.1%
- Peripheral Neuropathies and DisordersMedicine8.4%
- Neurological disorders and treatmentsMedicine7.3%
- Genetic Neurodegenerative DiseasesNeuroscience5.6%
- Autoimmune Neurological Disorders and TreatmentsMedicine4.6%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.5%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering4.5%
- Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science4.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceEmbaseCASPublisher website
Other: EBSCO, ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.3Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 0.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.17LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.23LetPub ·
- h-index
- 17OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 64OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.41OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 18.32%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 62LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 79Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 69,498Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,468 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 104 | 26 | 12 |
| 2025 | 93 | 34 | 38 |
| 2024 | 91 | 55 | 68 |
| 2023 | 81 | 43 | 63 |
| 2022 | 85 | 23 | 182 |
| 2021 | 124 | 13 | 251 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
81 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 47 days – 129 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 10 days (94 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 96 days
- Sample
- 94 articles with submission and acceptance dates (201 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 27%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 27%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 19 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 19 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 80 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 10 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single-anonymous peer review, at least 2 reviewersPublisher website · model-extracted
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,870 / EUR 2,380 / GBP 1,890 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 4,000 words
- Reference style
- AMA
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted5
- commentaryvii. Commentary (only by invitation of Editors)Length not stated
- letters to the editorvi. Letters to the EditorLength not stated
- original articlesi. Original ArticlesLength not stated
- reviewThe acceptance criteria for all papers are the quality and originality of the research and its significance to our readership. Except where otherwise stated, ma…Length not stated
- review articlesii. Review ArticlesLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, License & copyright, Open access, Plagiarism, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use AI Policy
Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools—such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs)—cannot be considered capable of initiating an original piece of research without direction by human authors. They also cannot be accountable for a published work or for research design, which is a generally held requirement of authorship (as discussed in the previous section), no…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
On initial submission, the submitting author will be prompted to provide the email address and country for all contributing authors.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Reproduction of Copyright Material
If excerpts from copyrighted works owned by third parties are included, credit must be shown in the contribution. It is the author’s responsibility to also obtain written permission for reproduction from the copyright owners. For more information visit Wiley’s Copyright Terms & Conditions FAQ
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access 7. COPYRIGHT, LICENSING AND OPEN ACCESS
Accepted papers will be passed to Wiley’s production team for publication. The author identified as the formal corresponding author for the paper will receive an email prompting them to login into Wiley’s Author Services, where via the Wiley Author Licensing Service (WALS) they will be asked to complete an electronic license agreement on behalf of all authors on the paper.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism Detection
Plagiarism screening with iThenticate before review Model summary
The journal employs a plagiarism detection system. By submitting your manuscript to this journal you accept that your manuscript may be screened for plagiarism against previously published works.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
Clinical trial registration required Model summary
Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience requires that the clinical trials described in the submitted manuscript have been registered in a publicly accessible database. Authors should include the name of the trial registry and their clinical trial registration number in the Acknowledgements section of their manuscript. If you wish the editor[s] to consider an unregistered trial, please explain briefly …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bi-monthly
- Founded
- 2013
- ISSN
- 2049-4173
- Society / sponsor
- Japanese Society of Neurology
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 14, Issue 5 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience
What CAS zone is Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Clinical Neurology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.3 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 0.7, h-index 17.
How long does peer review take at Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience?
Based on the dates recorded on 94 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 81 days (interquartile range 47–129 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 27% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 5; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,000 words; Reference style: AMA; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience based?
Of the 32 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 6%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (9), Japan (5) and Mainland China (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience open access, and what is the APC?
Neurology and Clinical Neuroscience is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,870.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .