Journal profile · NEUROIMAGING
NeuroImage-Clinical
ISSN 2213-1582 · Elsevier BV · NETHERLANDS
NeuroImage-Clinical: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.21; fully open access; APC about USD 3,490; median 116 days to acceptance (108 articles, last 24 months); 210 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
NeuroImage-Clinical is published by Elsevier BV and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Functional Brain Connectivity Studies, Advanced Neuroimaging Techniques and Applications and Advanced MRI Techniques and Applications, together about 39.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cognitive Neuroscience. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
NeuroImage: Clinical,, a companion title to the highly-respected NeuroImage, is a journal of diseases, disorders and syndromes involving the Nervous System, provides a vehicle for communicating important advances in the study of abnormal structure-function relationships of the human nervous system based on imaging.The focus of NeuroImage: Clinical is on defining changes to the brain associated with primary neurologic and psychiatric diseases and disorders of the nervous system as well as behavioral syndromes and developmental conditions. The main criterion for judging papers is the extent of scientific advancement in the understanding of the pathophysiologic mechanisms of diseases and disorders, in identification of functional models that link clinical signs and symptoms with brain function and in the creation of image based tools applicable to a broad range of clinical needs including diagnosis, monitoring and tracking of illness, predicting therapeutic response and development of new treatments. Papers dealing with structure and function in animal models will also be considered if they reveal mechanisms that can be readily translated to human conditions.The journal welcomes original research articles as well as papers on innovative methods, models, databases, theory or conceptual positions provided that they involve imaging approaches and demonstrate significant new opportunities for understanding clinical problems.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): NEUROIMAGING
Editor-in-chief A. ZaleskyPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 4 in mainland China (about 6%); most named United States 19, United Kingdom 12, Australia 8, Italy 6, Canada 5 (68 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Functional Brain Connectivity StudiesNeuroscience19.6%
- Advanced Neuroimaging Techniques and ApplicationsMedicine14.2%
- Advanced MRI Techniques and ApplicationsMedicine6%
- Dementia and Cognitive Impairment ResearchMedicine5.6%
- Neurological disorders and treatmentsMedicine4.3%
- Neural and Behavioral Psychology StudiesNeuroscience3.7%
- EEG and Brain-Computer InterfacesNeuroscience3.7%
- Parkinson's Disease Mechanisms and TreatmentsMedicine3.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Neuroimaging | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Neuroimaging | Zone 1 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Neuroimaging | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.21LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 8.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 8.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.51LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.27LetPub ·
- h-index
- 47LetPub ·
- h-index
- 135OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 3,176OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.79OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 2.4%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 99.83%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 189LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,088 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 127 | 127 | 44 |
| 2025 | 210 | 210 | 642 |
| 2024 | 167 | 167 | 1,224 |
| 2023 | 249 | 249 | 3,667 |
| 2022 | 377 | 377 | 7,199 |
| 2021 | 376 | 376 | 9,400 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
116 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 85 days – 166 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 3 days (108 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 121 days
- Sample
- 108 articles with submission and acceptance dates (361 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 1 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 47 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 119 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 18 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 3,490 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 3,490 / EUR 3,260 / GBP 2,790 / JPY 432,860 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 3,400 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,490 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- original research articleOriginal Research Articles and Review Articles.Length not stated
- review articleOriginal Research Articles and Review Articles.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier BV
- Country or region
- NETHERLANDS
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2213-1582
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about NeuroImage-Clinical
What CAS zone is NeuroImage-Clinical in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, NeuroImage-Clinical is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Neuroimaging. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of NeuroImage-Clinical?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.21; CiteScore 8.2, h-index 135.
How long does peer review take at NeuroImage-Clinical?
Based on the dates recorded on 108 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 116 days (interquartile range 85–166 days); authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of NeuroImage-Clinical based?
Of the 68 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 4 (about 6%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (19), United Kingdom (12) and Australia (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index NeuroImage-Clinical?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, NeuroImage-Clinical is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is NeuroImage-Clinical open access, and what is the APC?
NeuroImage-Clinical is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,490.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .