Journal profile · Neurosciences
NEUROCIRUGIA
ISSN 1130-1473 · eISSN 2340-6305 · Sociedad Espanola de Neurocirugia · SPAIN · Bimonthly
NEUROCIRUGIA: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.7; hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,830; review about 97 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); community-reported acceptance: easy; 103 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
NEUROCIRUGIA is published by Sociedad Espanola de Neurocirugia and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Meningioma and schwannoma management, Cerebrospinal fluid and hydrocephalus and Vascular Malformations Diagnosis and Treatment, together about 22.6% of its articles. Its main subfields are Neurology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal of NeurosurgeryNeurocirugía is the official Journal of the Spanish Society of Neurosurgery (SENEC). It is published every 2 months (6 issues per year). Neurocirugía will consider for publication, original clinical and experimental scientific works associated with neurosurgery and other related neurological sciences.All manuscripts are submitted for review by experts in the field (peer review) and are carried out anonymously (double blind). The Journal accepts works written in Spanish or English.Neurocirugía es la revista oficial de la Sociedad Española de Neurocirugía (SENEC). Tiene una periodicidad bimestral (6 números al año). Neurocirugía considerara para su publicación trabajos cientificos originales de contenido clinico y experimental relacionados con la Neurocirugía y otras ciencias neurológicas afines.Todos los manuscritos se someten a una valoración efectuada por revisores expertos (peer review) realizada de forma anónima (doble ciego). La revista acepta trabajos escritos en español o inglés.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Neurosciences
Editor-in-chief Pedro Delgado-López Servicio dePublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Spain 53, United States 3 (56 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Meningioma and schwannoma managementMedicine8.8%
- Cerebrospinal fluid and hydrocephalusNeuroscience7.2%
- Vascular Malformations Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine6.6%
- Intracranial Aneurysms: Treatment and ComplicationsMedicine6.6%
- Glioma Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine6.5%
- Spine and Intervertebral Disc PathologyMedicine6.4%
- Head and Neck Surgical OncologyMedicine6.1%
- Spinal Fractures and Fixation TechniquesMedicine5.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Neurosciences | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPublisher website
Other: Research Alert Institute, C.A.B., Excerpta Medica, JCR, IBECS
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 0.7LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.7Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 1.4Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.27LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.47LetPub ·
- h-index
- 19LetPub ·
- h-index
- 28OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 254OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.05OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 7.97%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 54LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,468 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 472 | 12 | 0 |
| 2025 | 103 | 11 | 12 |
| 2024 | 74 | 6 | 19 |
| 2023 | 349 | 10 | 16 |
| 2022 | 40 | 2 | 73 |
| 2021 | 58 | 5 | 116 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
97 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports over 12 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- over 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- EasyLetPub ·
- First decision after review
- 64 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 97 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,830 / EUR 2,650 / GBP 2,270 / JPY 351,000 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,920 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted4
- editorialAny article submitted to this journal must follow the guidelines outlined in this author’s guide, so it is essential to consult it before submitting manuscripts…Length not stated
- letters to the editorAny article submitted to this journal must follow the guidelines outlined in this author’s guide, so it is essential to consult it before submitting manuscripts…Length not stated
- original articleAny article submitted to this journal must follow the guidelines outlined in this author’s guide, so it is essential to consult it before submitting manuscripts…Length not stated
- reviewAny article submitted to this journal must follow the guidelines outlined in this author’s guide, so it is essential to consult it before submitting manuscripts…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- Authorship Authorship
All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) the conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data, (2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content, (3) final approval of the version to be submitted.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' (see more information on this). An e-mail will be sent to the corresponding author confirming receipt of the manuscript together with a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' form or a link to the online version of this agreement.Subscribers may reproduce tables of contents or prepare lists of articles includ…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Please visit our Open Access page from the Journal Homepage for more information.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Double anonymized review Model summary
This journal operates a double anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then typically sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor'…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Please note that preprints can be shared anywhere at any time, in line with Elsevier's sharing policy. Sharing your preprints e.g. on a preprint server will not count as prior publication (see 'Multiple, redundant or concurrent publication' for more information).
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Sociedad Espanola de Neurocirugia
- Country or region
- SPAIN
- Language
- Spanish
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- ISSN
- 1130-1473
- Electronic ISSN
- 2340-6305
- Society / sponsor
- Spanish Society of Neurosurgery
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about NEUROCIRUGIA
What CAS zone is NEUROCIRUGIA in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, NEUROCIRUGIA is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Neurosciences / Surgery. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of NEUROCIRUGIA?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 0.7; CiteScore 1.4, h-index 28.
How long does peer review take at NEUROCIRUGIA?
The publisher reports about 97 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of over 12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Easy”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of NEUROCIRUGIA based?
Of the 56 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Spain (53) and United States (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index NEUROCIRUGIA?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, NEUROCIRUGIA is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is NEUROCIRUGIA open access, and what is the APC?
NEUROCIRUGIA is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,830.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .