Journal profile · Medicine-Nephrology
Nefrologia English Edition
ISSN 2013-2514 · Elsevier · Spain
Nefrologia English Edition: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2 (journal website); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; median 82 days to acceptance (107 articles, last 24 months); 103 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Nefrologia English Edition is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Dialysis and Renal Disease Management, Chronic Kidney Disease and Diabetes and Renal Diseases and Glomerulopathies, together about 34.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Nephrology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Nefrología is the official publication of the Spanish Society of Nephrology. The Journal publishes articles on basic or clinical research relating to nephrology, arterial hypertension, dialysis and kidney transplants. It is governed by the peer review system and all original papers are subject to internal assessment and external reviews. The journal accepts submissions of articles in English and in Spanish languages. Nefrología follows the publication requirements of the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) and the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Nephrology
Editor-in-chief Enrique MoralesPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Spain 17 (17 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Dialysis and Renal Disease ManagementMedicine16.3%
- Chronic Kidney Disease and DiabetesMedicine9.7%
- Renal Diseases and GlomerulopathiesMedicine8.8%
- Parathyroid Disorders and TreatmentsMedicine6.2%
- Renal Transplantation Outcomes and TreatmentsMedicine5.8%
- Central Venous Catheters and HemodialysisHealth Professions5%
- Acute Kidney Injury ResearchMedicine5%
- Muscle and Compartmental DisordersMedicine4.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Urology & Nephrology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Urology & Nephrology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Urology & Nephrology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedEmbaseSciELOPublisher website
Other: Crossref, IME, IBECS, Web of Knowledge
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.4LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.53LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.74LetPub ·
- h-index
- 25OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 152OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.18OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,439 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 82 | 82 | 7 |
| 2025 | 103 | 103 | 93 |
| 2024 | 142 | 142 | 287 |
| 2023 | 123 | 123 | 403 |
| 2022 | 158 | 158 | 631 |
| 2021 | 116 | 116 | 616 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
82 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 52 days – 125 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 122 days (46 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 228 days
- Sample
- 107 articles with submission and acceptance dates (225 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 50 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 50 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 0 | — | — | |
| LetPub | No APC | Yes | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted15, with length limits
- clinical casesClinical cases: maximum of 2,500 words.Length not stated
- commentaryOriginals: papers on empirical research of a maximum length of 5,000 words, excluding the bibliographical references, with a maximum of 50 references and of nin…Length not stated
- diagnostic problemsDiagnostic problems: a diagnosis is proposed based on a previous statement, with a single question and a concise answer.Length not stated
- editorialOriginals: papers on empirical research of a maximum length of 5,000 words, excluding the bibliographical references, with a maximum of 50 references and of nin…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- editorial commentariesEditorial commentaries: requested by the editors or proposed by the authors, commentaries on articles published in the same issue or previous issues of the Jour…Length not stated
- editorialsEditorials: requested by the editors or proposed by the authors, with a maximum of 2,000 words, two tables or figures, and 30 bibliographical references. No abs…Length not stated
- letters to the editorOriginals: papers on empirical research of a maximum length of 5,000 words, excluding the bibliographical references, with a maximum of 50 references and of nin…Length not stated
- nephrology imagesNephrology images: illustrative images about pathology, radiology, skin lesions, etc.Length not stated
- notes on techniquesNotes on techniques: descriptions of new techniques as well as modifications to existing ones in the clinic, laboratory, imaging or vascular access techniques, …Length not stated
- originalsOriginals: papers on empirical research of a maximum length of 5,000 words, excluding the bibliographical references, with a maximum of 50 references and of nin…Length not stated
- reviewOriginals: papers on empirical research of a maximum length of 5,000 words, excluding the bibliographical references, with a maximum of 50 references and of nin…Length not stated
- short originalsShort originals: same content as previous articles, with a maximum length of 2,500 words, four tables or figures and 25 bibliographical references.Length not stated
- short reviewOriginals: papers on empirical research of a maximum length of 5,000 words, excluding the bibliographical references, with a maximum of 50 references and of nin…Length not stated
- short reviewsShort reviews: reviews on very specific themes, written in a concise and clear manner.Length not stated
- systematic reviewOriginals: papers on empirical research of a maximum length of 5,000 words, excluding the bibliographical references, with a maximum of 50 references and of nin…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following: (1) the conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data, (2) drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content, (3) final approval of the version to be submitted.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' (see more information on this). An e-mail will be sent to the corresponding author confirming receipt of the manuscript together with a 'Journal Publishing Agreement' form or a link to the online version of this agreement.Author rightsAs an author you (or your employer or institution) have certain rig…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double anonymized review Model summary
This journal uses double anonymized review, which means the identities of the authors are concealed from the reviewers, and vice versa.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint references
Where a preprint has subsequently become available as a peer-reviewed publication, the formal publication should be used as the reference. If there are preprints that are central to your work or that cover crucial developments in the topic, but are not yet formally published, these may be referenced. Preprints should be clearly marked as such, for example by including the word preprint, or the nam…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- Spain
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2013-2514
- Society / sponsor
- Spanish Society of Nephrology
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Nefrologia English Edition
What CAS zone is Nefrologia English Edition in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Nefrologia English Edition is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Urology & Nephrology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Nefrologia English Edition?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.4, h-index 25.
How long does peer review take at Nefrologia English Edition?
Based on the dates recorded on 107 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 82 days (interquartile range 52–125 days); authors report an average review time of about 50 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Nefrologia English Edition based?
Of the 17 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Spain (17). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Nefrologia English Edition?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Nefrologia English Edition is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase and SciELO; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Nefrologia English Edition open access, and what is the APC?
Nefrologia English Edition is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .