Journal profile · Neurosciences

Nature Neuroscience

ISSN 1097-6256 · eISSN 1546-1726 · Springer Nature · UNITED STATES · Monthly · Founded 1998

Nature Neuroscience: CAS Zone 1 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 19.96; hybrid open access; APC about USD 12,690; median 468 days to acceptance (75 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 20%; 343 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor19.96Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 1 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · Top journal · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 1 · Medicine
Review time468 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 75 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 12,690Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptanceabout 20%Community average
Articles per year3432025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Nature Neuroscience is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 1 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology Research, Neural dynamics and brain function and Memory and Neural Mechanisms, together about 37.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Cognitive Neuroscience and Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Nature Neuroscience is a monthly journal publishing the best neuroscience research from all areas of the field. All editorial decisions are made by a team of full-time professional editors.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Neurosciences

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 8%); most named United States 5, United Kingdom 2, Germany 2, Mainland China 1, Italy 1 (12 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience15%
  2. Neural dynamics and brain functionNeuroscience14.7%
  3. Memory and Neural MechanismsNeuroscience7.6%
  4. Visual perception and processing mechanismsNeuroscience5.5%
  5. Neurogenesis and neuroplasticity mechanismsNeuroscience5.1%
  6. Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience4.9%
  7. Photoreceptor and optogenetics researchNeuroscience4.3%
  8. Neurobiology and Insect Physiology ResearchNeuroscience4.1%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 1
MinorNeurosciencesZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 1
MinorNeurosciencesZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 1
MinorNeurosciencesZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Web of SciencePublisher website

Other: ISSN 1097-6256, ISSN 1546-1726

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
19.96LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
20.3Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
24.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
33LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
11.04LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
4.94LetPub ·
h-index
375LetPub ·
h-index
611OpenAlex ·
i10-index
6,058OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
17.81OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
2%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
47.19%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
227LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
9,944,803Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 8,207 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026265141501
20253431944,584
202431319311,320
202329617814,514
202224615221,603
202121413327,065

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

468 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 327 days – 626 days

Acceptance to online
median 48 days (75 articles)
Submission to online
median 508 days
Sample
75 articles with submission and acceptance dates (680 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 2 monthsLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
20%LetPub ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 12,690 / EUR 10,690 / GBP 9,190——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted3
  1. news & commentNews & CommentLength not stated
  2. research articlesResearch articlesLength not stated
  3. reviews & analysisReviews & AnalysisLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Publication ethics, Peer review, Preprints
AI use

AI tools used for accessory content, edited and fact-checked by author/editor Model summary

Nature Portfolio journals occasionally use internal Springer Nature-developed artificial intelligence tools to support the generation of accessory content, such as summary points.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations for implantable human brain–computer interfaces

Implanted brain–computer interfaces hold great promise for restoring communication and other functions and for revealing new aspects of human brain physiology. Yet as the number of implantations in humans expands, ethical clarity must keep pace with technical ambition. We propose that this should involve distinguishing research participation from patient care, ensuring long-term support for study …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review 3 – Editorial Process, Peer Review, Appeals & Transfers

Editorial policies Model summary

Once you have submitted your manuscript, it goes through our editorial process. If your manuscript is sent out for peer review, you will receive an email asking you to read and sign our Editorial Policies. To appeal against a decision, or transfer your submission to another journal – Appeals and Transfers. ____________________________________________________________________________________________…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints

Preprint policy and In Review Model summary

Our preprint policy – Preprint policy and In Review

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Springer Nature
Country or region
UNITED STATES
Language
English
Frequency
Monthly
Founded
1998
ISSN
1097-6256
Electronic ISSN
1546-1726
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Nature Neuroscience

What CAS zone is Nature Neuroscience in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Nature Neuroscience is in Zone 1 of Medicine, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Neurosciences; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Nature Neuroscience?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 19.96; CiteScore 33, h-index 611.

How long does peer review take at Nature Neuroscience?

Based on the dates recorded on 75 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 468 days (interquartile range 327–626 days); authors report an average review time of about 2 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 20%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Nature Neuroscience based?

Of the 12 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 8%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (5), United Kingdom (2) and Germany (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Nature Neuroscience?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Nature Neuroscience is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Nature Neuroscience open access, and what is the APC?

Nature Neuroscience is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 12,690.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .