Journal profile · CLINICAL NEUROLOGY
Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical
ISSN 2055-2173 · SAGE · United Kingdom
Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,650; median 140 days to acceptance (98 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 45.3% (journal website); 63 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical is published by SAGE and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Multiple Sclerosis Research Studies, Peripheral Neuropathies and Disorders and Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Research, together about 62.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Neurology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal HighlightsNow discoverable in PubMedCentral.The open access companion journal to Multiple Sclerosis Journal.Articles received more than 130,000 full-text downloads in 2022.Multiple Sclerosis Journal – Experimental, Translational and Clinical is an international, peer reviewed, open access publication that augments the potential to publish across the broad spectrum of experimental, translational and clinical topics in Multiple Sclerosis. For more information on the journal please visit the aims and scope tab.As an open access publication, all articles are freely available online immediately upon publication. All articles are rigorously peer-reviewed, and brought to publication as rapidly as possible.The journal is also a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).Submission informationSubmit your manuscript today at https://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/msj-etc.Please see the submission guidelines tab for more information on how to format your manuscript.Open access informationPublication in the journal is subject to payment of an article processing charge (APC). The APC serves to support the journal and ensures that articles are freely accessible online in perpetuity under a Creative Commons licence.The APC for this journal is $3200.The APC is payable when a manuscript is accepted after peer review, before it is published. The APC is also subject to taxes where applicable. Please see further details here.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): CLINICAL NEUROLOGY
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 16, United Kingdom 10, Italy 7, Spain 6, Canada 6 (66 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Multiple Sclerosis Research StudiesMedicine44.9%
- Peripheral Neuropathies and DisordersMedicine12.4%
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis ResearchMedicine5.5%
- Polyomavirus and related diseasesMedicine5.2%
- Systemic Sclerosis and Related DiseasesMedicine3.5%
- Systemic Lupus Erythematosus ResearchMedicine2.7%
- Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and TherapiesMedicine2.5%
- Balance, Gait, and Falls PreventionHealth Professions2.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 2.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.9LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.67LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.72LetPub ·
- h-index
- 41OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 251OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.16OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 61LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 2,022Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 637 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 68 | 68 | 10 |
| 2025 | 63 | 63 | 79 |
| 2024 | 41 | 41 | 110 |
| 2023 | 48 | 48 | 277 |
| 2022 | 59 | 59 | 528 |
| 2021 | 68 | 68 | 921 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
140 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 101 days – 179 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 28 days (98 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 172 days
- Sample
- 98 articles with submission and acceptance dates (140 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 45.3%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 132 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 30 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 15 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,650 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,650 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,650 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,200 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare10 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 6
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Templates
- LaTeX and Word
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Required
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted8, with length limits
- case reportPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Please read the following carefully and ensure that your s…Length not stated
- letterPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Please read the following carefully and ensure that your s…Length not stated
- letters to the editorPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Please read the following carefully and ensure that your s…Length not stated
- meta-analysisPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Please read the following carefully and ensure that your s…Length not stated
- original research paperPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Please read the following carefully and ensure that your s…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- reviewPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Please read the following carefully and ensure that your s…Length not stated
- systematic reviewPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Please read the following carefully and ensure that your s…main text ≤ 4,000 words
- viewpointPlease visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstracts. Please read the following carefully and ensure that your s…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Authorship
Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
Multiple Sclerosis Journal – Experimental, Translational and Clinical is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency:Single-anonymised Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk reject…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2055-2173
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical
What CAS zone is Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Clinical Neurology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.9, h-index 41.
How long does peer review take at Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical?
Based on the dates recorded on 98 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 140 days (interquartile range 101–179 days); authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 45.3%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Keywords: ≥ 6; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Templates: LaTeX and Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Required; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical based?
Of the 66 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (16), United Kingdom (10) and Italy (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical open access, and what is the APC?
Multiple Sclerosis Journal-Experimental Translational and Clinical is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,650.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .