Journal profile · Medicine-Psychiatry and Mental Health
Mental Health and Prevention
ISSN 2212-6570 · Elsevier
Mental Health and Prevention: CAS Zone 3 · Psychology (2026 Xinrui edition); impact factor 3.3 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,810; review about 122 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 81 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Mental Health and Prevention is published by Elsevier and is classed under Psychology in the CAS Journal Ranking. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional Development, Mental Health Treatment and Access and Maternal Mental Health During Pregnancy and Postpartum, together about 37.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Clinical Psychology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Mental Health & Prevention is a peer reviewed journal dedicated to the prevention of mental and behavioural disorders and mental ill health, and the promotion of mental well-being. Note, manuscripts must be relevant to both mental health AND prevention. Its scope encompasses universal, selective and indicated prevention and mental health promotion across the lifespan. All mental and behavioural disorders are covered, as well as suicide and self-injury. The journal does not cover early intervention or treatment of mental and behavioural disorders. This journal does not generally accept cross-sectional studies unless they are very large and population representative, or focussed on under-studied populations, with clear implications for mental health prevention.Submissions are welcome on the following topics:Research on the need for preventionResearch contributing to the development of interventionsDescriptions of major programs, where there is accompanying evaluationEvaluations of interventions to prevent disorders or reduce risk factors, including controlled and uncontrolled trials and qualitative studiesProtocols for trials (if data collection has not yet started, or is in early stages)Research on risk or protection factors that has implications for preventionPsychometrics of prevention measuresEconomics of preventionWorkforce developmentPrevention policySystematic reviews on any of the above topicsKeywords: Mental health, mental disorders, behavioural disorders, mental well-being, primary prevention, secondary prevention, universal prevention, selective prevention, indicated prevention, promotion, neurodevelopmental disorders, mood disorders, anxiety disorders, schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders, feeding or eating disorders, substance use disorders, impulse control disorders, personality disorders, neurocognitive disorders, disruptive behaviour or dissocial disorders, suicide and self-injury.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Psychiatry and Mental Health
Editor-in-chief Elizabeth WestruppPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Australia 20, United States 9, New Zealand 7, United Kingdom 2, India 2 (48 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional DevelopmentPsychology20.2%
- Mental Health Treatment and AccessPsychology11.6%
- Maternal Mental Health During Pregnancy and PostpartumMedicine5.9%
- Suicide and Self-Harm StudiesPsychology5.5%
- Resilience and Mental HealthPsychology5%
- Early Childhood Education and DevelopmentSocial Sciences4.6%
- Digital Mental Health InterventionsPsychology4.4%
- Health, psychology, and well-beingHealth Professions4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Psychology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychology, Clinical | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychiatry | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.5LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 3.5Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.12LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.24LetPub ·
- h-index
- 37OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 177OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.25OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 9.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 56.5%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 78LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 556 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 100 | 79 | 23 |
| 2025 | 81 | 52 | 183 |
| 2024 | 69 | 51 | 356 |
| 2023 | 57 | 31 | 722 |
| 2022 | 28 | 15 | 375 |
| 2021 | 28 | 19 | 440 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
122 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Submission to first decision
- 1 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 61 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 122 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,810 / EUR 2,630 / GBP 2,250 / JPY 348,520 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,060 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
- Highlights
- Optional
- Not considered
- cross-sectional studies
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- editorialFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review papers are normally systematic reviews following the PRIS…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- editorialsEditorials commissioned by the Editors (up to 1,000 words, 10 references, 1 table/figure).Length not stated
- full-length research papersFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Length not stated
- prevention in practicePrevention in Practice (up to 5,000 words, excluding references, and up to 2 tables/figures, describing an innovation in the practice of prevention including so…Length not stated
- research paperFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review papers are normally systematic reviews following the PRIS…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- reviewFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review papers are normally systematic reviews following the PRIS…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- review papersReview papers are normally systematic reviews following the PRISMA statement of 4,000-5,000 words (Introduction through Discussion).Length not stated
- short communicationFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review papers are normally systematic reviews following the PRIS…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- short communicationsShort Communications (up to 2,000 words, 20 references, 2 tables/figures)Length not stated
- systematic reviewFull-Length Research Papers (up to 5,000 words, excluding references and up to 6 tables/figures)Review papers are normally systematic reviews following the PRIS…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Submission declaration Model summary
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Ethics in publishing Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Open access Model summary
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Double anonymized peer review Model summary
This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- ISSN
- 2212-6570
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Mental Health and Prevention
What CAS zone is Mental Health and Prevention in?
In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Psychology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Mental Health and Prevention?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3.3; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.5, h-index 37.
How long does peer review take at Mental Health and Prevention?
The publisher reports about 122 days (submission to acceptance). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Mental Health and Prevention?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: APA; Highlights: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Mental Health and Prevention based?
Of the 48 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Australia (20), United States (9) and New Zealand (7). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Mental Health and Prevention?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Mental Health and Prevention is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Mental Health and Prevention open access, and what is the APC?
Mental Health and Prevention is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,810.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .