Journal profile · Arts and Humanities-Language and Linguistics
Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaft
ISSN 1615-634X · eISSN 2942-3317 · Nomos Verlagsgesellschaft mbH und Co · Germany
Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaft: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 16 weeks (community reports); 48 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaft is published by Nomos Verlagsgesellschaft mbH und Co. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Media Studies and Communication, Journalism and Media Studies and Media and Digital Communication, together about 57.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Communication. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
M&K bietet ein Forum zur Diskussion medien- und kommunikationsbezogener Fragen sowie für Analysen der Medienentwicklungen aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven und Disziplinen und für alle Medien. Medien & Kommunikationswissenschaft spiegelt damit die Trends der Forschung und der öffentlichen Diskussion um die Medien wider.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Arts and Humanities-Language and Linguistics
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Media Studies and CommunicationSocial Sciences30%
- Journalism and Media StudiesSocial Sciences15.4%
- Media and Digital CommunicationComputer Science12.1%
- Media and Communication StudiesSocial Sciences7.8%
- Media Influence and PoliticsSocial Sciences4.8%
- Intellectual Property Rights and MediaSocial Sciences3.7%
- Media Influence and HealthArts and Humanities2.7%
- Social Media and PoliticsSocial Sciences2.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Language and Linguistics | Q2 | 304/1137 | 73rd |
| Linguistics and Language | Q2 | 365/1221 | 70th |
| Communication | Q3 | 287/541 | 47th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Google Scholar, ProQuest, Dimensions, Baidu, Baidu Xue Shu, Ex Libris Primo, Index IBZ und IBR (De Gruyter), adlr.link, World Affairs Online (WAO), IBSS, Sociological Abstracts, Sociology Collection, Social Science Premium Collection, Ex Libris Primo Index, IBZ und IBR (De Gruyter)Publisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.48LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.65LetPub ·
- h-index
- 44OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 381OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.5OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,174 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 33 | 33 | 259 |
| 2025 | 48 | 48 | 389 |
| 2024 | 38 | 38 | 430 |
| 2023 | 29 | 29 | 430 |
| 2022 | 41 | 41 | 622 |
| 2021 | 58 | 58 | 613 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 16 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted5
- artikelM&K hat einen Jahresumfang von ca. 600 Seiten und enthält Artikel, Rezensionen, eine Zeitschriftenlese, Übersichten über aktuelle Neuerscheinungen sowie über di…Length not stated
- rezensionenM&K hat einen Jahresumfang von ca. 600 Seiten und enthält Artikel, Rezensionen, eine Zeitschriftenlese, Übersichten über aktuelle Neuerscheinungen sowie über di…Length not stated
- zeitschriftenleseM&K hat einen Jahresumfang von ca. 600 Seiten und enthält Artikel, Rezensionen, eine Zeitschriftenlese, Übersichten über aktuelle Neuerscheinungen sowie über di…Length not stated
- übersichten über aktuelle neuerscheinungenM&K hat einen Jahresumfang von ca. 600 Seiten und enthält Artikel, Rezensionen, eine Zeitschriftenlese, Übersichten über aktuelle Neuerscheinungen sowie über di…Length not stated
- übersichten über die im fach entstandenen dissertationenM&K hat einen Jahresumfang von ca. 600 Seiten und enthält Artikel, Rezensionen, eine Zeitschriftenlese, Übersichten über aktuelle Neuerscheinungen sowie über di…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review
- Authorship
Authors retain copyright Model summary
Die Autoren, die in dieser Zeitschrift veröffentlichen, behalten das Urheberrecht und die vollen Veröffentlichungsrechte ohne Einschränkungen.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
CC BY 4.0 license Model summary
Alle Artikel der M&K werden unter CC-BY-Lizenz 4.0 International veröffentlicht.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access Policy
Open access since volume year 2000 Model summary
Medien & Kommunikationswissenschaft M&K ist eine Open Access Zeitschrift. Alle Artikel der M&K werden unter CC-BY-Lizenz 4.0 International veröffentlicht. Unter der Lizenz Namensnennung 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) ist Teilen — das Material in jedwedem Format oder Medium zu vervielfältigen und zu weiterverbreiten; Bearbeiten — das Material zu remixen, zu verändern und darauf aufzubauen und zwar f…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blind peer review Model summary
Alle Einreichungen durchlaufen einen doppelt-blinden Begutachtungsprozess.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Nomos Verlagsgesellschaft mbH und Co
- Country or region
- Germany
- Language
- English, German
- ISSN
- 1615-634X
- Electronic ISSN
- 2942-3317
- Official links
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaft
How long does peer review take at Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaft?
Authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaft?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaft is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaft open access, and what is the APC?
Medien und Kommunikationswissenschaft is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .