Journal profile · ENGINEERING, BIOMEDICAL

Medical Devices-Evidence and Research

ISSN 1179-1470 · Dove Medical Press · United Kingdom

Medical Devices-Evidence and Research: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.8 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 3,230; median 98 days to acceptance (101 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 47% (journal website); 52 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor1.8From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 4 · Medicine
Review time98 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 101 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 3,230Fully open access
Acceptance47%From the journal's website
Articles per year522025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Medical Devices-Evidence and Research is published by Dove Medical Press and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Spine and Intervertebral Disc Pathology, Non-Invasive Vital Sign Monitoring and Respiratory Support and Mechanisms, together about 20.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Editor-in-Chief: Professor Mohamad Bashir Medical Devices: Evidence & Research is an international, peer-reviewed journal dedicated to publishing high-quality research that advances the development, evaluation, implementation, and optimisation of medical devices across all clinical specialities. The journal serves as a platform bridging device innovation, clinical evidence, real-world performance, and health technology assessment. We aim to cross-fertilise translational research that moves from bench to bedside, comparative effectiveness studies, post-market surveillance data, patient-centred outcomes, and the integration of emerging technologies, including digital health, artificial intelligence, and precision healthcare. The journal aims to enhance the scientific understanding of medical device performance, safety, and efficacy across various clinical settings. The journal supports translating medical device innovation from laboratory research to clinical application through rigorous clinical evidence, while promoting best practices in medical device assessment, post-market surveillance, and real-world evidence collection. By encouraging interdisciplinary collaboration among engineers, clinicians, regulators, and health economists, the journal offers actionable insights for healthcare professionals, device manufacturers, and policymakers to improve patient care and optimise device-related clinical outcomes. Medical Devices: Evidence & Research publishes high-quality research across the entire medical device lifecycle, from concept and design through clinical implementation and post-market evaluation. The journal welcomes submissions on:1. Device Development & Innovation: Novel device designs, materials science, bioengineering approaches, and technological advancements2. Clinical Evaluation: Clinical trials, comparative effectiveness studies, safety and efficacy assessments, and patient-reported outcomes3. Regulatory Science: Regulatory pathways, approval processes, post-market surveillance, and compliance strategies4. Health Economics & Outcomes Research: Cost-effectiveness analyses, health technology assessment, and budget impact models5. Real-World Evidence: Registry data, observational studies, implementation science, and pragmatic trials6. Device-Related Complications: Adverse events, failure analysis, risk management, and mitigation strategies7. Digital Health & Connected Devices: Software as medical device (SaMD), artificial intelligence/machine le

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): ENGINEERING, BIOMEDICAL

Editor-in-chief Bashir NeurovascularPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 22, Italy 13, United Kingdom 9, Switzerland 4, Türkiye 3 (64 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Spine and Intervertebral Disc PathologyMedicine9.3%
  2. Non-Invasive Vital Sign MonitoringEngineering6.4%
  3. Respiratory Support and MechanismsMedicine5.2%
  4. Airway Management and Intubation TechniquesMedicine4.8%
  5. Hemostasis and retained surgical itemsMedicine4.6%
  6. Quality and Safety in HealthcareHealth Professions4.6%
  7. Coronary Interventions and DiagnosticsMedicine4.4%
  8. Scoliosis diagnosis and treatmentMedicine4.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorEngineering, BiomedicalZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorEngineering, BiomedicalZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

SJR, CiteScore, Impact FactorPublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
1.8Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
2.7Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.7LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
0.89Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.36LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.89LetPub ·
h-index
49OpenAlex ·
i10-index
300OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.73OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
6.7%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
98.29%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
51LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
76,390Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 660 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202641416
2025525288
20244444143
20232525149
20223434271
20214747433

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

98 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 72 days – 120 days

Acceptance to online
median 18 days (101 articles)
Submission to online
median 117 days
Sample
101 articles with submission and acceptance dates (108 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 16 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
47%Publisher website ·
Desk decision
49 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 3,230YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,320——
LetPubUSD 2,630Yes—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted5
  1. case reportAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
  2. clinical trial reportClinical Trial ReportLength not stated
  3. original researchOriginal ResearchLength not stated
  4. reviewAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
  5. short reportShort ReportLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics
Publication ethics

COPE member Model summary

This journal is a member of and subscribes to the principles of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Dove Medical Press
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
1179-1470
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Medical Devices-Evidence and Research

What CAS zone is Medical Devices-Evidence and Research in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Medical Devices-Evidence and Research is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Engineering, Biomedical. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Medical Devices-Evidence and Research?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.8 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.7, h-index 49.

How long does peer review take at Medical Devices-Evidence and Research?

Based on the dates recorded on 101 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 98 days (interquartile range 72–120 days); authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 47%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Medical Devices-Evidence and Research based?

Of the 64 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (22), Italy (13) and United Kingdom (9). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Medical Devices-Evidence and Research?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Medical Devices-Evidence and Research is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Medical Devices-Evidence and Research open access, and what is the APC?

Medical Devices-Evidence and Research is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,230.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .