Journal profile · Obstetrics & Gynecology
Maturitas
ISSN 0378-5122 · eISSN 1873-4111 · Elsevier Ireland Ltd · NETHERLANDS · Monthly · Founded 1978
Maturitas: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.15; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,390; median 108 days to acceptance (111 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 50%; 546 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Maturitas is published by Elsevier Ireland Ltd and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Menopause: Health Impacts and Treatments, Estrogen and related hormone effects and Bone health and osteoporosis research, together about 43.3% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Official Journal of the European Menopause and Andropause Society (EMAS). Affiliated with the Australasian Menopause Society (AMS).Maturitas is an international multidisciplinary peer reviewed scientific journal of midlife health and beyond publishing original research, reviews, consensus statements and guidelines, and mini-reviews. The journal provides a forum for all aspects of postreproductive health in both genders ranging from basic science to health and social care.Topic areas include:AgingAlternative and Complementary MedicinesArthritis and Bone HealthCancerCardiovascular HealthCognitive and Physical FunctioningEpidemiology, Health and Social CareGynecology/EndocrinologyMenopause, Ovarian AgingMental HealthNutrition/ Obesity Diabetes/ Metabolic SyndromePharmacologyQuality of LifeSexualityMaturitas provides a lively and high visibility platform to encourage new insights and exchange of important new developments between researchers, clinicians and care providers in the field of midlife health to promote a personalized approach to healthy aging.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Obstetrics & Gynecology
Editor-in-chief Cédric AnnweilerPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 4 in mainland China (about 4%); most named United States 14, Australia 14, Greece 13, United Kingdom 11, Spain 8 (100 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Menopause: Health Impacts and TreatmentsMedicine23.3%
- Estrogen and related hormone effectsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology13.2%
- Bone health and osteoporosis researchMedicine6.9%
- Hormonal and reproductive studiesMedicine5.3%
- Phytoestrogen effects and researchMedicine3.7%
- Sex and Gender in HealthcareMedicine3.3%
- Nutrition and Health in AgingMedicine3.2%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance3.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Geriatrics & Gerontology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Geriatrics & Gerontology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Geriatrics & Gerontology | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.15LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 6.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.16LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.34LetPub ·
- h-index
- 91LetPub ·
- h-index
- 174OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4,181OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.57OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 32.28%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 193LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 10,809 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 251 | 96 | 105 |
| 2025 | 546 | 110 | 640 |
| 2024 | 199 | 105 | 1,818 |
| 2023 | 395 | 91 | 1,724 |
| 2022 | 147 | 90 | 2,559 |
| 2021 | 226 | 65 | 3,019 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
108 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 74 days – 159 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 2 days (111 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 112 days
- Sample
- 111 articles with submission and acceptance dates (537 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 2 monthsLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 50%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 64 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 121 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,390 / EUR 4,110 / GBP 3,510 / JPY 544,490 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 3,750 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers1, by deadline
Publisher websiteWhat to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 1
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Highlights
- Required
Article types accepted14, with length limits
- editorialch-reporting/reporting-guidelines Guest Editorials must not exceed 1,000 words and five references. Letters to the Editor: a question or cmain text ≤ 1,000 words
- guest editorialsGuest Editorials must not exceed 1,000 words and five references.Length not stated
- letters to the editorLetters to the Editor: a question or challenge to an article published recently in Maturitas.Length not stated
- meta-analysisOriginal articles: a full-length report of original basic or clinical investigation (2000-3000 words, up to 30 references). A structured abstract of no more tha…Length not stated
- narrative reviewOriginal articles: a full-length report of original basic or clinical investigation (2000-3000 words, up to 30 references). A structured abstract of no more tha…Length not stated
- original articleOriginal articles: a full-length report of original basic or clinical investigation (2000-3000 words, up to 30 references). A structured abstract of no more tha…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- original articlesOriginal articles: a full-length report of original basic or clinical investigation (2000-3000 words, up to 30 references).Length not stated
- original researchOriginal articles: a full-length report of original basic or clinical investigation (2000-3000 words, up to 30 references). A structured abstract of no more tha…Length not stated
- reviewOriginal articles: a full-length report of original basic or clinical investigation (2000-3000 words, up to 30 references). A structured abstract of no more tha…Length not stated
- review articleOriginal articles: a full-length report of original basic or clinical investigation (2000-3000 words, up to 30 references). A structured abstract of no more tha…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- review articlesReview articles: a comprehensive review of prior publications relating to an important clinical subject (2000-3000 words and 30-50 references).Length not stated
- short communicationOriginal articles: a full-length report of original basic or clinical investigation (2000-3000 words, up to 30 references). A structured abstract of no more tha…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- short communicationsShort communications: must not exceed 1,000 words with no more than one table or illustration and five references.Length not stated
- systematic reviewOriginal articles: a full-length report of original basic or clinical investigation (2000-3000 words, up to 30 references). A structured abstract of no more tha…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier Ireland Ltd
- Country or region
- NETHERLANDS
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1978
- ISSN
- 0378-5122
- Electronic ISSN
- 1873-4111
- Society / sponsor
- European Menopause and Andropause Society
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Maturitas
What CAS zone is Maturitas in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Maturitas is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Obstetrics & Gynecology / Geriatrics & Gerontology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Maturitas?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.15; CiteScore 6.2, h-index 174.
How long does peer review take at Maturitas?
Based on the dates recorded on 111 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 108 days (interquartile range 74–159 days); authors report an average review time of about 2 months; the community-reported acceptance is “about 50%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Maturitas?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 1; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Highlights: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Maturitas based?
Of the 100 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 4 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (14), Australia (14) and Greece (13). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Maturitas?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Maturitas is indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Is Maturitas open access, and what is the APC?
Maturitas is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,390.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .