Journal profile · Arts and Humanities-Literature and Literary Theory
Mashriq Mahjar
ISSN 2169-4435 · North Carolina State University, Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies · United States
Mashriq Mahjar: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 20 weeks (community reports); 20 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Mashriq Mahjar is published by North Carolina State University, Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diaspora, migration, transnational identity, Migration, Refugees, and Integration and Middle East Politics and Society, together about 48.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Research area (LetPub): Arts and Humanities-Literature and Literary Theory
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Diaspora, migration, transnational identitySocial Sciences27.1%
- Migration, Refugees, and IntegrationSocial Sciences11.4%
- Middle East Politics and SocietySocial Sciences10.4%
- Migration and Exile StudiesSocial Sciences7%
- Jewish and Middle Eastern StudiesSocial Sciences4.5%
- Postcolonial and Cultural Literary StudiesArts and Humanities4.2%
- Migration and Labor DynamicsSocial Sciences3.8%
- Islamic Studies and HistorySocial Sciences3.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Literature and Literary Theory | Q1 | 233/1186 | 80th |
| Visual Arts and Performing Arts | Q2 | 197/697 | 71st |
| History | Q2 | 654/1936 | 66th |
| Arts and Humanities (miscellaneous) | Q2 | 337/692 | 51st |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.13LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.43LetPub ·
- h-index
- 12OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 15OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.14OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 304 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 21 | 21 | 45 |
| 2025 | 20 | 20 | 46 |
| 2024 | 23 | 23 | 62 |
| 2023 | 22 | 22 | 78 |
| 2022 | 24 | 24 | 48 |
| 2021 | 17 | 17 | 39 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 20 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 28 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY-NC-ND | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 10,000 words
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- articlesFor articles, research notes, conference reports, book review essays, and other formats, Mashriq & Mahjar accepts submissions from scholars who are teaching and…Length not stated
- book review essaysFor articles, research notes, conference reports, book review essays, and other formats, Mashriq & Mahjar accepts submissions from scholars who are teaching and…Length not stated
- book reviewsMashriq & Mahjar solicits book reviews from individuals who have obtained their doctoral degrees.Length not stated
- conference reporthip. Detailed Submission Guidelines for Conference Reports Conference reports are essays of 2,000–5,000 words that provide accounts of recent conferences, panel…main text ≤ 5,000 words
- conference reportsFor articles, research notes, conference reports, book review essays, and other formats, Mashriq & Mahjar accepts submissions from scholars who are teaching and…Length not stated
- research notesFor articles, research notes, conference reports, book review essays, and other formats, Mashriq & Mahjar accepts submissions from scholars who are teaching and…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePublication ethics, License & copyright, Self-archiving
- Publication ethics
Journal Practices and Ethics Model summary
Submitted articles must adhere to Mashriq & Mahjar's Journal Practices and Ethics.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright Notice
CC BY-NC-ND 4.0 Model summary
Authors who publish with this journal agree to the following terms: Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License, which allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal. …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving
Authors retain copyright Model summary
Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- North Carolina State University, Moise A. Khayrallah Center for Lebanese Diaspora Studies
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2169-4435
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Mashriq Mahjar
How long does peer review take at Mashriq Mahjar?
Authors report an average review time of about 20 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Mashriq Mahjar?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 10,000 words; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Mashriq Mahjar?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Mashriq Mahjar is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Mashriq Mahjar open access, and what is the APC?
Mashriq Mahjar is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .