Journal profile · RHEUMATOLOGY
Lupus Science & Medicine
ISSN 2053-8790 · BMJ PUBLISHING GROUP · ENGLAND
Lupus Science & Medicine: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.97; fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; median 106 days to acceptance (111 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 36% (journal website); 163 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Lupus Science & Medicine is published by BMJ PUBLISHING GROUP and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Systemic Lupus Erythematosus Research, Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and Therapies and Multiple Sclerosis Research Studies, together about 60.5% of its articles. Its main subfields are Rheumatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Acceptance Rate:36%Time to first decision with review:39 days*Acceptance to publication:21 days*Impact Factor:4.2Citescore:5.3More journal metricsHow we get these metrics*median number of days Aims & scope Editorial Board Ownership Journal information Journal Statistics 2025 Contact Information For Authors To advertise Rights and Permissions Affiliations Related BMJ sites
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): RHEUMATOLOGY
Editor-in-chief Jill BuyonPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Systemic Lupus Erythematosus ResearchMedicine40.1%
- Rheumatoid Arthritis Research and TherapiesMedicine13.7%
- Multiple Sclerosis Research StudiesMedicine6.7%
- Systemic Sclerosis and Related DiseasesMedicine4.3%
- Cytomegalovirus and herpesvirus researchMedicine3.5%
- Liver Diseases and ImmunityMedicine3%
- Spondyloarthritis Studies and TreatmentsMedicine2.7%
- Renal Transplantation Outcomes and TreatmentsMedicine2.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Rheumatology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.97LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.3LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 5.3Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.44LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.18LetPub ·
- h-index
- 59OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 402OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 3.28OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 4.8%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 152LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 925 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 137 | 137 | 41 |
| 2025 | 163 | 163 | 508 |
| 2024 | 102 | 102 | 770 |
| 2023 | 73 | 73 | 911 |
| 2022 | 96 | 96 | 1,791 |
| 2021 | 78 | 78 | 2,016 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
106 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 86 days – 139 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 24 days (111 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 133 days
- Sample
- 111 articles with submission and acceptance dates (323 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 36%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 39 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 21 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 19 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | GBP 2,390 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | GBP 1,950 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 2,163 | Yes | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted8
- editorial and reviewEditorial and ReviewLength not stated
- letterLetterLength not stated
- meeting reportMeeting reportLength not stated
- original researchOriginal researchLength not stated
- protocolProtocolLength not stated
- short reportShort reportLength not stated
- supplementsSupplementsLength not stated
- systematic reviewSystematic reviewLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePeer review
- Peer review
Benefits of publishing with Lupus Science & Medicine® Model summary
Benefits of publishing with Lupus Science & Medicine®
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- BMJ PUBLISHING GROUP
- Country or region
- ENGLAND
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2053-8790
- Society / sponsor
- Lupus Foundation of America
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Lupus Science & Medicine
What CAS zone is Lupus Science & Medicine in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Lupus Science & Medicine is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Rheumatology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Lupus Science & Medicine?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.97; CiteScore 5.3, h-index 59.
How long does peer review take at Lupus Science & Medicine?
Based on the dates recorded on 111 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 106 days (interquartile range 86–139 days); authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 36%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Lupus Science & Medicine?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Lupus Science & Medicine is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Lupus Science & Medicine open access, and what is the APC?
Lupus Science & Medicine is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .