Journal profile · ANESTHESIOLOGY

Local and Regional Anesthesia

ISSN 1178-7112 · Dove Medical Press · United Kingdom

Local and Regional Anesthesia: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.5 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 3,565; median 107 days to acceptance (35 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 19% (journal website); 16 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor4.5From the journal's website, 2025 value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time107 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 35 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 3,565Fully open access
Acceptance19%From the journal's website
Articles per year162025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Local and Regional Anesthesia is published by Dove Medical Press and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Anesthesia and Pain Management, Pain Management and Opioid Use and Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical Outcomes, together about 45.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery and Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Editor-in-Chief: Dr Stefan Wirz Local and Regional Anesthesia is an international, peer reviewed, open access journal focusing on all aspects of local and regional anesthetics and analgesics from development through to clinical use. Local and Regional Anesthesia will no longer consider meta-analyses for publication Specific topics covered by the journal include: Formulation studies, development, pharmacology, and clinical use of local anaesthetics Administration techniques and kits including the use of ultrasound to guide anaesthetic delivery Local analgesics Novel methods of pain control and regional blocks Ambulatory anaesthesia Patient satisfaction and preference Safety, organisation, and health economic evaluations The journal accepts papers in the form of original research, reviews, expert opinions, commentaries, clinical trial reports and case reports Updated 4 August 2025

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): ANESTHESIOLOGY

Editor-in-chief Stefan WirzPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 6%); most named United States 12, Italy 4, Germany 3, Mainland China 2, Taiwan, China 2 (33 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Anesthesia and Pain ManagementMedicine31.8%
  2. Pain Management and Opioid UseMedicine6.9%
  3. Cardiac, Anesthesia and Surgical OutcomesMedicine6.9%
  4. Nausea and vomiting managementMedicine6.6%
  5. Anesthesia and Sedative AgentsMedicine6%
  6. Spine and Intervertebral Disc PathologyMedicine4.7%
  7. Dental Anxiety and Anesthesia TechniquesDentistry4.7%
  8. Pediatric Pain Management TechniquesMedicine4.2%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorAnesthesiologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorAnesthesiologyZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website

Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

SJR, OA, CiteScore, Impact FactorPublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher) 2025
4.5Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
2.7Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.7LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
1.1Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.59LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.1LetPub ·
h-index
39OpenAlex ·
i10-index
120OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.15OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
16LetPub ·
Downloads per year (publisher)
73,950Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 280 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202617171
2025161614
2024141439
20232121147
20221111121
20212323241

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

107 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 82 days – 135 days

Acceptance to online
median 12 days (35 articles)
Submission to online
median 121 days
Sample
35 articles with submission and acceptance dates (37 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 16 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
19%Publisher website ·
Desk decision
52 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 16 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 3,565YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,320——
LetPubUSD 2,630Yes—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted2
  1. case reportAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
  2. reviewAuthors may use these detailed descriptions of different paper types accepted by Dove Medical Press (case reports, reviews, etc) to decide how to label their pa…Length not stated
Publisher website

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Dove Medical Press
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
1178-7112
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Local and Regional Anesthesia

What CAS zone is Local and Regional Anesthesia in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Local and Regional Anesthesia is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Anesthesiology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Local and Regional Anesthesia?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 4.5 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.7, h-index 39.

How long does peer review take at Local and Regional Anesthesia?

Based on the dates recorded on 35 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 107 days (interquartile range 82–135 days); authors report an average review time of about 16 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 19%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Local and Regional Anesthesia based?

Of the 33 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 6%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (12), Italy (4) and Germany (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Local and Regional Anesthesia?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Local and Regional Anesthesia is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Local and Regional Anesthesia open access, and what is the APC?

Local and Regional Anesthesia is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,565.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .