Journal profile · Arts and Humanities-History
Libyan Studies
ISSN 0263-7189 · eISSN 2052-6148 · Cambridge University Press
Libyan Studies: subscription journal; APC about USD 3,550; 20 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Libyan Studies is published by Cambridge University Press. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Ancient Mediterranean Archaeology and History, Classical Antiquity Studies and Ancient Egypt and Archaeology, together about 48.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Archeology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Published on behalf of the British Institute for Libyan & Northern African Studies (formerly the Society for Libyan Studies) Libyan Studies is the annual journal of record of the British Institute for Libyan & Northern African Studies, appearing in November each year. Contributions are peer-reviewed and cover a broad range of subjects, including archaeology, ancient and Islamic history, geology, geography and social sciences. The articles will appeal to readers with an interest in the Middle East and Mediterranean worlds as well as North Africa.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Arts and Humanities-History
Editor-in-chief Victoria LeitchPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 16, France 3, United States 2, Germany 1 (22 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Ancient Mediterranean Archaeology and HistoryArts and Humanities20.7%
- Classical Antiquity StudiesSocial Sciences17.3%
- Ancient Egypt and ArchaeologyArts and Humanities10.8%
- Archaeology and Historical StudiesArts and Humanities8.4%
- African Studies and GeopoliticsSocial Sciences7.1%
- North African History and LiteratureArts and Humanities5.5%
- Archaeological and Historical StudiesArts and Humanities3.5%
- Archaeology and ancient environmental studiesEarth and Planetary Sciences2.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| History | Q2 | 508/1936 | — |
| Cultural Studies | Q2 | 546/1434 | — |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.28LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.77LetPub ·
- h-index
- 35OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 114OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.23OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,126 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 17 | 9 | 87 |
| 2025 | 20 | 8 | 137 |
| 2024 | 25 | 11 | 164 |
| 2023 | 21 | 13 | 223 |
| 2022 | 23 | 13 | 317 |
| 2021 | 25 | 7 | 92 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,550 / GBP 2,460 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted3
- articleLibyan Studies publishes: Article* Book Review Notes*Length not stated
- book reviewLibyan Studies publishes: Article* Book Review Notes*Length not stated
- notesLibyan Studies publishes: Article* Book Review Notes*Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access
- Open access
For the purposes of Gold Open Access funding, this journal considers these article types to be research articles. Model summary
For the purposes of Gold Open Access funding, this journal considers these article types to be research articles.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Cambridge University Press
- ISSN
- 0263-7189
- Electronic ISSN
- 2052-6148
- Society / sponsor
- British Institute for Libyan and Northern African Studies
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Libyan Studies
Where are the editorial board members of Libyan Studies based?
Of the 22 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (16), France (3) and United States (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Libyan Studies?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Libyan Studies is indexed in Scopus.
Is Libyan Studies open access, and what is the APC?
Libyan Studies is a subscription journal. APC about USD 3,550.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .