Journal profile · INFORMATION SCIENCE & LIBRARY SCIENCE
Library Management
ISSN 0143-5124 · eISSN 1758-7921 · Emerald
Library Management: CAS Zone 3 · Management (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.4 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 167 days (submission to first decision, publisher); acceptance rate 9.1% (journal website); 27 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Library Management is published by Emerald and is in Zone 3 of Management in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Library Science and Information Literacy, Library Science and Administration and Web and Library Services, together about 53.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Information Systems. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Research area (LetPub): INFORMATION SCIENCE & LIBRARY SCIENCE
Editor-in-chief Shaobo LiangPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Library Science and Information LiteracySocial Sciences23.7%
- Library Science and AdministrationSocial Sciences17.8%
- Web and Library ServicesComputer Science12.1%
- Library Collection Development and Digital ResourcesComputer Science9.1%
- Knowledge Management and SharingSocial Sciences4.6%
- Digital and Traditional Archives ManagementArts and Humanities3.8%
- Research Data Management PracticesComputer Science2.8%
- Library Science and Information SystemsComputer Science2.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Management Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Information Science & Library Science | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Management Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Information Science & Library Science | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.4LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.56LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.16LetPub ·
- h-index
- 60OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 692OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 6.64OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 7.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 5.83%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 25LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 127,849Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,185 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 8 | 2 | 0 |
| 2025 | 27 | 5 | 246 |
| 2024 | 37 | 4 | 232 |
| 2023 | 44 | 8 | 165 |
| 2022 | 35 | 5 | 398 |
| 2021 | 61 | 1 | 421 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 9.1%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 167 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 69 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted5
- book reviewResearch Paper Opinion Pieces Book Review Editorial Please see the article types and word counts section on the about this journal page for more information. Th…Length not stated
- editorialResearch Paper Opinion Pieces Book Review Editorial Please see the article types and word counts section on the about this journal page for more information. Th…Length not stated
- opinionResearch Paper Opinion Pieces Book Review Editorial Please see the article types and word counts section on the about this journal page for more information. Th…Length not stated
- opinion piecesOpinion PiecesLength not stated
- research paperResearch Paper Opinion Pieces Book Review Editorial Please see the article types and word counts section on the about this journal page for more information. Th…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Open access, Peer review
- Authorship
This journal only accepts manuscripts written in UK or US English. Model summary
This journal only accepts manuscripts written in UK or US English.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access options
This is a hybrid journal. Hybrid journals are subscription journals but offer all authors the option to publish their work open access. Model summary
This is a hybrid journal. Hybrid journals are subscription journals but offer all authors the option to publish their work open access. If you choose to publish open access you will be required to pay an article processing charge (APC). Alternatively you can opt for the green open access route and self-archive your article (at no cost to the author). Read more about our open access options.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review type
Double anonymous peer review. All submissions are sent to at least 2 independent and anonymous reviewers. Model summary
Double anonymous peer review. All submissions are sent to at least 2 independent and anonymous reviewers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Emerald
- ISSN
- 0143-5124
- Electronic ISSN
- 1758-7921
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 46, Issue 8-9 (November 2025)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Library Management
What CAS zone is Library Management in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Library Management is in Zone 3 of Management, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Information Science & Library Science. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Management. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Library Management?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.4 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 3.4, h-index 60.
How long does peer review take at Library Management?
The publisher reports about 167 days (submission to first decision); first decisions include desk rejections; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 9.1%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Which databases index Library Management?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Library Management is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Library Management open access, and what is the APC?
Library Management is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .