Journal profile
Library and Information Research
ISSN 1756-1086 · CILIP Library & Information Research Group · United Kingdom
Library and Information Research: fully open access; no APC; review about 34 weeks (community reports); 4 articles in 2025; the journal's website says submissions are paused or closed.
The journal's website says submissions are paused or closed: This journal is not accepting submissions at this time. Source ↗Publisher website ·
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Library and Information Research is published by CILIP Library & Information Research Group. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Library Science and Information, Library Science and Information Literacy and Information Science and Libraries, together about 61.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Information Systems. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
About Please note the journal is not currently accepting submissions Library and Information Research (LIR) is published by CILIP's Library and Information Research Group (LIRG). LIRG supports and raises the profile of library and information science research and its use by CILIP members and the wider community. We provide relevant activities and publications for practitioners and researchers encouraging 'research into practice' and engagement with all stakeholders.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Library Science and InformationComputer Science27%
- Library Science and Information LiteracySocial Sciences22.2%
- Information Science and LibrariesComputer Science11.8%
- Web and Library ServicesComputer Science10.5%
- Library Science and AdministrationSocial Sciences10.2%
- Library Collection Development and Digital ResourcesComputer Science2.8%
- Digital and Traditional Archives ManagementArts and Humanities1.9%
- scientometrics and bibliometrics researchDecision Sciences1.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
Indexed in: no record yet.
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 22OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 59OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 552 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 61 |
| 2025 | 4 | 4 | 72 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 102 |
| 2023 | 1 | 1 | 127 |
| 2022 | 4 | 4 | 117 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 134 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 34 weeksLetPub ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewLetPub
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 100–150 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 7,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
Article types accepted6
- book reviewsBook reviews - Reports on a review of a book; typically assigned by the Associate Editor for Book Reviews. Reviewed by the Associate Editor for Book Reviews.Length not stated
- case studiesCase studies - Reports on experiences or best practices in practical settings. Reviewed by the Editor-in-Chief. Word count should be 3,000-5,000 words.Length not stated
- conference reportsConference reports - Reports from any CILIP-affiliated conference. Reviewed by the Editor-in-Chief. Word count should be 1,000-3,000 words.Length not stated
- invited contributionInvited contribution - Any contribution solicited by the Editor-in-Chief or other member of the Editorial Board. Reviewed by the Editor-in-Chief. Word count is …Length not stated
- opinionOpinion - Critical approaches to thoughts on issues related to the focus and scope of the journal. Reviewed by the Editor-in-Chief. Word count should be 3,000-5…Length not stated
- refereed research articlesRefereed research articles - Reports on empirical research within library and information science. We encourage authors to report their research methods in full…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Peer review
- License & copyright Copyright Notice
Acceptance of the following terms is a precondition of publication in Library and Information Research.Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work. The work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution License that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal. Authors are abl…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Journal is not currently accepting submissions. Model summary
Please note the journal is not currently accepting submissions
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- CILIP Library & Information Research Group
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1756-1086
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Library and Information Research
How long does peer review take at Library and Information Research?
Authors report an average review time of about 34 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Library and Information Research?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 100–150 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 7,000 words; Reference style: APA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Is Library and Information Research open access, and what is the APC?
Library and Information Research is a fully open-access journal. It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .