Journal profile · INFORMATION SCIENCE & LIBRARY SCIENCE
Learned Publishing
ISSN 0953-1513 · eISSN 1741-4857 · Wiley-Blackwell
Learned Publishing: CAS Zone 3 · Management (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 4.2; hybrid open access; APC about USD 2,080; median 196 days to acceptance (79 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 28% (journal website); 62 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Learned Publishing is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 3 of Management in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Publishing and Scholarly Communication, scientometrics and bibliometrics research and Library Collection Development and Digital Resources, together about 46% of its articles. Its main subfields are Information Systems. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Learned Publishing publishes peer reviewed research, reviews, industry updates and opinions on all aspects of scholarly communication and publishing. Written by and published for everyone involved with scholarly and professional communications, our readership includes publishers, vendors, librarians, academics and researchers from around the world. Our vision is that the journal will help everyone involved in the publication of scholarly information to make better decisions by providing evidence-based and authoritative information. We therefore look for articles which inform the publishing process, and will help all stakeholders improve efficiency, impact and equity in scholarly research communication. Keywords: publishing; scholarly publishing; learned publishing; society publishing; professional publishing; journal; article; book; dataset; news; publishing industry; updates; analysis; editing; open access Abstracting and Indexing Information Academic Search Research & Development (EBSCO Publishing) Applied Science & Technology Source (EBSCO Publishing) Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (EBSCO Publishing) Current Contents: Social & Behavioral Sciences (Clarivate Analytics) Engineering Source (EBSCO Publishing) FRANCIS Database (INIST/CNRS) INSPEC (IET) Library & Information Science Source (EBSCO Publishing) SCOPUS (Elsevier) Social Sciences Citation Index (Clarivate Analytics) The DBLP Computer Science Bibliography (University of Trier) Web of Science (Clarivate Analytics) Disclaimer The Publisher, Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers and the Editors cannot be held responsible for errors or any consequences arising from the use of information contained in this journal. The views and opinions expressed do not necessarily reflect those of the Publisher, Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers or the Editors, neither does the publication of any advertisements or content constitute any endorsement by the Publisher, Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers or the Editors.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): INFORMATION SCIENCE & LIBRARY SCIENCE
Editor-in-chief Laura DormerPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 11%); most named United Kingdom 10, United States 9, Mainland China 3, South Korea 1, India 1 (28 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Publishing and Scholarly CommunicationArts and Humanities17.1%
- scientometrics and bibliometrics researchDecision Sciences16.1%
- Library Collection Development and Digital ResourcesComputer Science12.9%
- Academic Publishing and Open AccessDecision Sciences8.2%
- Research Data Management PracticesComputer Science4.8%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance3.6%
- Academic Writing and PublishingArts and Humanities3.3%
- Human auditory perception and evaluationEngineering3.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Management Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Information Science & Library Science | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Management Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Information Science & Library Science | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Management Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Management | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Information Science & Library Science | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceINSPECDBLPCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: EBSCO
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 4.2LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.2Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 4.2Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 5.8LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 5.8Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 5.8Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.87LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.52LetPub ·
- h-index
- 67OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 492OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.93OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 7.1%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 70.63%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 30LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 49Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 266,371Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,760 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 64 | 61 | 17 |
| 2025 | 62 | 58 | 153 |
| 2024 | 70 | 56 | 405 |
| 2023 | 83 | 60 | 1,089 |
| 2022 | 84 | 38 | 731 |
| 2021 | 77 | 31 | 900 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
196 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 121 days – 253 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 17 days (79 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 216 days
- Sample
- 79 articles with submission and acceptance dates (143 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 28%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 28%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 46 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 46 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 208 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 15 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 2,080 / EUR 1,990 / GBP 1,730 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 6,000 words
- Reference style
- APA
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Required
- Highlights
- Required
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted13
- case studiesCase Studies Short pieces presenting an example of how a new initiative, service, etc., has been implemented or tested, and the lessons learnt.Length not stated
- case studyWe publish the following types of articles: Original articles Articles that report original research or present original reviews and which: (1) set out a hypoth…Length not stated
- editorialWe publish the following types of articles: Original articles Articles that report original research or present original reviews and which: (1) set out a hypoth…Length not stated
- editorialsEditorials These are written by the editors and comprise discussion of broader issues that have been raised by articles published in the issue.Length not stated
- hypothesisWe publish the following types of articles: Original articles Articles that report original research or present original reviews and which: (1) set out a hypoth…Length not stated
- industry updatesIndustry updates Short pieces that present new information about initiatives, products, services and developments in publishing.Length not stated
- opinionWe publish the following types of articles: Original articles Articles that report original research or present original reviews and which: (1) set out a hypoth…Length not stated
- opinion piecesOpinion pieces Short pieces that discuss an aspect of publishing.Length not stated
- original articleWe publish the following types of articles: Original articles Articles that report original research or present original reviews and which: (1) set out a hypoth…Length not stated
- original articlesOriginal articles Articles that report original research or present original reviews and which: (1) set out a hypothesis or question(s), (2) clearly describe th…Length not stated
- original researchWe publish the following types of articles: Original articles Articles that report original research or present original reviews and which: (1) set out a hypoth…Length not stated
- reviewWe publish the following types of articles: Original articles Articles that report original research or present original reviews and which: (1) set out a hypoth…Length not stated
- reviewsReviews These are written by our Reviews editors and comprise reviews of industry White papers and other reports.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE GENERATED CONTENT
Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools—such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs)—cannot be considered capable of initiating an original piece of research without direction by human authors. They also cannot be accountable for a published work or for research design, which is a generally held requirement of authorship (as discussed in the previous section), no…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
No submission fees. Model summary
All listed authors should have contributed to the manuscript substantially and have agreed to the final submitted version. Review editorial standards and scroll down for a description of authorship criteria.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of interest statement
When authors submit a manuscript of any type or format they are responsible for disclosing all financial and personal relationships that might bias or be seen to bias their work. Declaring such relationship will help reviewers and readers understand the transparency and the scientific integrity of the manuscript. Examples of the phrasing of such statements are as follows:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data sharing policy
Authors expected to share underlying data. Model summary
We expect authors to share the underlying data behind their articles. You can either upload your data onto Figshare, Dryad, or another repository, and then cite it in your article. Or you can add it as a supplementary file to your published article in Learned Publishing (but note these are only available as PDFs so of limited functionality for readers). If you think the data may be useful to revie…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Reproduction of Copyright Material
If excerpts from copyrighted works owned by third parties are included, all sources must be credited within the manuscript. At minimum, the title and author should be provided.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access
This journal is a Gold Open Access journal. Submissions will be subject to an APC if accepted and published in the journal. You can read more about APCs and whether you may be eligible for waivers or discounts, through your institution, funder, or a country waiver. For more information on this journal’s APCs and licensing policy, please visit the journal’s Open Access page.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer Review
Single anonymized peer review policy as standard. Model summary
This journal operates a single-anonymized peer review policy as standard. All original articles are externally peer reviewed – see under the different article types below – except those where the Editor considers them unsuitable for consideration. The selection of peer reviewers is made by the article handling editor (either the Editor in Chief or an Associate Editor). Authors may suggest reviewer…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Wiley preprint policy applies. Model summary
Please find the Wiley preprint policy here.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell
- ISSN
- 0953-1513
- Electronic ISSN
- 1741-4857
- Society / sponsor
- Association of Learned and Professional Society Publishers
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 39, Issue 4 (October 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Learned Publishing
What CAS zone is Learned Publishing in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Learned Publishing is in Zone 3 of Management, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Information Science & Library Science. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Management. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Learned Publishing?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 4.2; CiteScore 5.8, h-index 67.
How long does peer review take at Learned Publishing?
Based on the dates recorded on 79 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 196 days (interquartile range 121–253 days); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 28% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Learned Publishing?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: APA; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Required; Highlights: Required; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Learned Publishing based?
Of the 28 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 11%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (10), United States (9) and Mainland China (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Learned Publishing?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Learned Publishing is indexed in SSCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, INSPEC, DBLP and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Learned Publishing open access, and what is the APC?
Learned Publishing is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 2,080.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .