Journal profile · Multiple
Language and Cognition
ISSN 1866-9808 · eISSN 1866-9859 · Cambridge University Press · United Kingdom
Language and Cognition: CAS Zone 3 · Psychology (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.61; fully open access; APC about USD 3,550; review about 18 weeks (community reports); 98 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI, AHCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Language and Cognition is published by Cambridge University Press and is in Zone 3 of Psychology in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Language, Metaphor, and Cognition, Categorization, perception, and language and Neurobiology of Language and Bilingualism, together about 38.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Experimental and Cognitive Psychology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Language and Cognition is an open access venue for the publication of high-quality empirical research focusing on the interface between language and cognition. It is open to research from the full range of subject disciplines, theoretical backgrounds, and analytical frameworks that populate linguistics and the cognitive sciences. We aim to cover a wide range of interdisciplinary research focused on theoretical issues surrounding the language system. We specialise in empirical work that is quantitative in nature, especially work that uses experimental or corpus methods. In addition to the traditional areas of cognitive linguistics (e.g., construction grammar, metaphor theory, linguistic relativity, sensorimotor simulation), we especially welcome research which considers theoretical linguistic questions within a broader cognitive context. We also strongly encourage submissions investigating iconicity, multimodality, signed languages, gesture, or language evolution. We consider human language from a multimodal perspective, including research on either verbal or visual aspects of language, or a combination thereof. We generally do not consider applied work, such as classroom based research, or studies focused on education, language aptitude or language teaching.Language and Cognition is the official journal of the UK Cognitive Linguistics Association.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editor-in-chief Stefan HartmannPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 3%); most named United Kingdom 11, United States 7, Netherlands 3, Germany 2, Australia 2 (32 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Language, Metaphor, and CognitionPsychology20.6%
- Categorization, perception, and languagePsychology10.3%
- Neurobiology of Language and BilingualismNeuroscience8%
- Language, Discourse, Communication StrategiesArts and Humanities6.3%
- Syntax, Semantics, Linguistic VariationArts and Humanities5.3%
- Environmental Impact and SustainabilityEnvironmental Science5%
- Climate Change Policy and EconomicsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance4.6%
- Multisensory perception and integrationPsychology4.1%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Psychology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Language & Linguistics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Psychology, Experimental | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Psychology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Language & Linguistics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Psychology, Experimental | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Psychology Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Psychology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Language & Linguistics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Linguistics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Psychology, Experimental | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIAHCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 1.61LetPub ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.1LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.61LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.14LetPub ·
- h-index
- 51OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 210OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.86OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 90LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 753 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 56 | 56 | 6 |
| 2025 | 98 | 98 | 185 |
| 2024 | 62 | 62 | 211 |
| 2023 | 60 | 60 | 379 |
| 2022 | 46 | 34 | 318 |
| 2021 | 24 | 13 | 201 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 18 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 18 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 3,550 / GBP 2,460 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-SA, CC BY-ND, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-SA, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 3,550 / GBP 2,460 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted2
- original articleArticle types accepted Original Article* Registered Report*Length not stated
- registered reportArticle types accepted Original Article* Registered Report*Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Cambridge University Press
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 1866-9808
- Electronic ISSN
- 1866-9859
- Society / sponsor
- UK Cognitive Linguistics Association
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Language and Cognition
What CAS zone is Language and Cognition in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Language and Cognition is in Zone 3 of Psychology, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Language & Linguistics / Linguistics / Psychology, Experimental. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Psychology. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Language and Cognition?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 1.61; CiteScore 2.1, h-index 51.
How long does peer review take at Language and Cognition?
Authors report an average review time of about 18 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Language and Cognition based?
Of the 32 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (11), United States (7) and Netherlands (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Language and Cognition?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Language and Cognition is indexed in SSCI, AHCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Language and Cognition open access, and what is the APC?
Language and Cognition is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,550.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .