Journal profile · Medicine-Oncology
JTO Clinical and Research Reports
ISSN 2666-3643 · Elsevier · United States
JTO Clinical and Research Reports: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.6 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,000; median 132 days to acceptance (93 articles, last 24 months); 139 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
JTO Clinical and Research Reports is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Lung Cancer Treatments and Mutations, Lung Cancer Research Studies and Lung Cancer Diagnosis and Treatment, together about 52% of its articles. Its main subfields are Oncology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
JTO Clinical and Research Reports is the official open access journal of the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer. It aims to complement the Journal of Thoracic Oncology by offering authors a gold open access publication option and publishing the following article types in particular:Phase I trialsWell performed single-arm phase II trialsSubset analyses of published trialsImpactful retrospective StudiesDatabase analysisLarge institutional seriesHigh-quality case reportsRegion-specific clinical trialsSubspecialty thoracic oncology studiesSelected high-quality meeting reportsAs an open access journal with no subscription charges, JTO CRR requires authors to pay a fee to cover the costs associated with publication. This ensures your article will be immediately and permanently free to access by everyone.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Oncology
Editor-in-chief Emily StonePublisher website
Editorial board by country: 3 in mainland China (about 11%); most named Australia 7, United States 5, Mainland China 3, United Kingdom 2, Netherlands 2 (27 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Lung Cancer Treatments and MutationsMedicine24.7%
- Lung Cancer Research StudiesMedicine14.9%
- Lung Cancer Diagnosis and TreatmentMedicine12.4%
- Cancer Immunotherapy and BiomarkersMedicine10.8%
- Cancer Genomics and DiagnosticsBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.7%
- Colorectal Cancer Treatments and StudiesMedicine3.6%
- HER2/EGFR in Cancer ResearchMedicine2.7%
- Radiomics and Machine Learning in Medical ImagingMedicine2.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Respiratory System | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Oncology | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Respiratory System | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
PMCPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.3LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 6.3Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.71LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.13LetPub ·
- h-index
- 33OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 207OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.76OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 120LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 901 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 119 | 119 | 14 |
| 2025 | 139 | 139 | 148 |
| 2024 | 129 | 129 | 520 |
| 2023 | 148 | 148 | 1,032 |
| 2022 | 154 | 154 | 1,849 |
| 2021 | 109 | 109 | 1,408 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
132 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 88 days – 186 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 7 days (93 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 138 days
- Sample
- 93 articles with submission and acceptance dates (292 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 19 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 9 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 47 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 111 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 19 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,000 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,000 / EUR 1,870 / GBP 1,600 / JPY 248,060 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,000 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,000 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare2 items from the author guidelines
- Keywords
- 3–5
- Suggested reviewers
- Required
Article types accepted11, with length limits
- brief reportl other article types for this journal. Brief Reports: Articles having a maximum of 1500 words, up to 3 tables and/or figures and an abstract with a highlmain text ≤ 1,500 words · references ≤ 15
- brief reportsBrief Reports: Articles having a maximum of 1500 words, up to 3 tables and/or figures and an abstract with a highly focused message and minimum of methodologica…Length not stated
- case reportReports highlighting unusual presentations of malignancy, treatment outcome, toxicity, etc. Submissions must be a total of 1000 words or less and may include up…main text ≤ 1,000 words · figures and tables ≤ 3 · references ≤ 5
- case reportsCase Reports: Reports highlighting unusual presentations of malignancy, treatment outcome, toxicity, etc. Submissions must be a total of 1000 words or less and …Length not stated
- editorial. Include "Brief Report:" in the title. Editorials/Views/Commentaries: Should not exceed 1500 words with no more than 15 references. Review Articles: Will be mmain text ≤ 1,500 words · references ≤ 15
- editorials/views/commentariesEditorials/Views/Commentaries: Should not exceed 1500 words with no more than 15 references.Length not stated
- letters to the editorThe Editorial Board reserves the right to decline publishing insulting or inflammatory comments in letters to the editor. Letters should be a short and concise …main text ≤ 500 words · references ≤ 5
- original articleOur intent is to publish high quality research as it relates to clinical trials, outcome analyses, translational research, cost utility analyses, etc.These arti…main text ≤ 4,000 words · references ≤ 50
- original articlesOriginal Articles: Our intent is to publish high quality research as it relates to clinical trials, outcome analyses, translational research, cost utility analy…Length not stated
- review articleWill be mostly by invitation. Prospective authors are urged to contact the editors prior to submitting uninvited reviews. These articles should be no longer tha…main text ≤ 4,000 words · references ≤ 75
- review articlesReview Articles: Will be mostly by invitation. Prospective authors are urged to contact the editors prior to submitting uninvited reviews. These articles should…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Use of generative AI and AI-assisted technologies
For AuthorsApplying the technology should be done with human oversight and control, and authors should carefully review and edit the result, as AI can generate authoritative-sounding output that can be incorrect, incomplete or biased.The below guidance only refers to the writing process, and not to the use of AI tools to analyze and draw insights from data as part of the research process. AI use A…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Author contributions
For transparency, we encourage corresponding authors to provide co-author contributions to the manuscript using the relevant CRediT roles. The CRediT taxonomy includes 14 different roles describing each contributor's specific contribution to the scholarly output. The roles are: Conceptualization; Data curation; Formal analysis; Funding acquisition; Investigation; Methodology; Project administratio…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of interest
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential competing interests include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other funding. Authors must disclose any interests in two places:…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
License agreement upon acceptance Model summary
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'License Agreement' (see more information on this). Permitted third party reuse of open access articles is determined by the author's choice of user license.Author rightsAs an author you (or your employer or institution) have certain rights to reuse your work. More information.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access and Fees
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Peer review type: single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal operates a single anonymized review process. All contributions are typically sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor's decision is final. Editors are not involved in decisions about papers which they have written themse…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed Model summary
Please note that preprints can be shared anywhere at any time, in line with Elsevier's sharing policy. Sharing your preprints e.g. on a preprint server will not count as prior publication (see 'Multiple, redundant or concurrent publication' for more information).
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2666-3643
- Society / sponsor
- International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about JTO Clinical and Research Reports
What CAS zone is JTO Clinical and Research Reports in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, JTO Clinical and Research Reports is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Oncology / Respiratory System. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of JTO Clinical and Research Reports?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3.6; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 6.3, h-index 33.
How long does peer review take at JTO Clinical and Research Reports?
Based on the dates recorded on 93 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 132 days (interquartile range 88–186 days); authors report an average review time of about 19 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of JTO Clinical and Research Reports?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Keywords: 3–5; Suggested reviewers: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of JTO Clinical and Research Reports based?
Of the 27 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 3 (about 11%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Australia (7), United States (5) and Mainland China (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index JTO Clinical and Research Reports?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, JTO Clinical and Research Reports is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists PMC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is JTO Clinical and Research Reports open access, and what is the APC?
JTO Clinical and Research Reports is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,000.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .