Journal profile · MEDICINE, GENERAL & INTERNAL
JRSM Open
ISSN 2054-2704 · SAGE Publishing · United Kingdom
JRSM Open: impact factor 0.7 (journal website); fully open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 144 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 21.4% (journal website); 15 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
JRSM Open is published by SAGE Publishing. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diversity and Career in Medicine, Innovations in Medical Education and Medical Education and Admissions, together about 21.4% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
JRSM Open is a peer reviewed online-only journal that follows the open-access publishing model. It is a companion journal to the Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine. The journal publishes research papers, research letters, clinical and … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): MEDICINE, GENERAL & INTERNAL
Editorial board by country: 5 in mainland China (about 17%); most named United States 15, United Kingdom 6, Mainland China 5, India 1, Sweden 1 (30 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Diversity and Career in MedicineSocial Sciences9.2%
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine6.3%
- Medical Education and AdmissionsMedicine5.8%
- Vasculitis and related conditionsMedicine5.3%
- Healthcare professionals’ stress and burnoutHealth Professions5.3%
- Health Systems, Economic Evaluations, Quality of LifeEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.3%
- Posttraumatic Stress Disorder ResearchPsychology4.9%
- Venous Thromboembolism Diagnosis and ManagementMedicine4.9%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.7Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 30OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 108OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.17OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 14LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 400 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 12 | 12 | 0 |
| 2025 | 15 | 15 | 17 |
| 2024 | 27 | 27 | 46 |
| 2023 | 20 | 20 | 76 |
| 2022 | 20 | 20 | 82 |
| 2021 | 24 | 24 | 134 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
144 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 12 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 21.4%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 13 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 144 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 46 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Open peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | GBP 545 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | USD 697 | — | — | |
| LetPub | GBP 545 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | GBP 355 / GBP 500 / GBP 505 / GBP 688 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted11
- case reportResearch. Original research into medical issues. 3000 words plus up to five tables or figures and up to 30 references. Case reports. 1000 words plus two tables …Length not stated
- case reportsCase reports. 1000 words plus two tables or figures and up to 10 references. This is a recommended length, although the absolute word limit is 3000.Length not stated
- clinical reviewsClinical reviews. Up to 3000 words and 30 references.Length not stated
- editorialResearch. Original research into medical issues. 3000 words plus up to five tables or figures and up to 30 references. Case reports. 1000 words plus two tables …Length not stated
- letterResearch. Original research into medical issues. 3000 words plus up to five tables or figures and up to 30 references. Case reports. 1000 words plus two tables …Length not stated
- original researchResearch. Original research into medical issues. 3000 words plus up to five tables or figures and up to 30 references. Case reports. 1000 words plus two tables …Length not stated
- researchResearch. Original research into medical issues. 3000 words plus up to five tables or figures and up to 30 references.Length not stated
- research articleResearch. Original research into medical issues. 3000 words plus up to five tables or figures and up to 30 references. Case reports. 1000 words plus two tables …Length not stated
- research lettersResearch Letters can be no longer than 500 words, 5 references, and 1 table or figure.Length not stated
- research paperResearch. Original research into medical issues. 3000 words plus up to five tables or figures and up to 30 references. Case reports. 1000 words plus two tables …Length not stated
- reviewResearch. Original research into medical issues. 3000 words plus up to five tables or figures and up to 30 references. Case reports. 1000 words plus two tables …Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Authorship
Please view our authorship policies, which includes information on criteria for authorship, who should be the corresponding author and more. Please note that AI chatbots, for example ChatGPT, should not be listed as authors. For more information see the policy on Use of ChatGPT and generative AI tools.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
Data sharing required Model summary
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. As a condition of publication authors are required to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data availability statement. This sho…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright
Creative Commons licensing for manuscript content Model summary
Manuscript content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons Licenses
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
JRSM Open is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of publishing, paid by the funder, institu…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: All identities visible Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: Reviewer identities Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscrip…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprints allowed Model summary
The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
Clinical trial registration required Model summary
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publishing
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2054-2704
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about JRSM Open
What is the impact factor of JRSM Open?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.7; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; h-index 30.
How long does peer review take at JRSM Open?
The publisher reports about 144 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 21.4%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of JRSM Open?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of JRSM Open based?
Of the 30 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 5 (about 17%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (15), United Kingdom (6) and Mainland China (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index JRSM Open?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, JRSM Open is indexed in ESCI and DOAJ.
Is JRSM Open open access, and what is the APC?
JRSM Open is a fully open-access journal. APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .