Journal profile · Medicine-Surgery
JPRAS Open
ISSN 2352-5878 · Elsevier · United Kingdom
JPRAS Open: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 1.8 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 1,920; median 83 days to acceptance (109 articles, last 24 months); 306 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
JPRAS Open is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Reconstructive Surgery and Microvascular Techniques, Reconstructive Facial Surgery Techniques and Breast Implant and Reconstruction, together about 42.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
JPRAS Open is an international, open access journal dedicated to publishing case reports, short communications, and full-length articles. JPRAS Open will provide the most current source of information and references in plastic, reconstructive & aesthetic surgery. The Journal is based on the continued need to improve surgical care by providing highlights in general reconstructive surgery; cleft lip, palate and craniofacial surgery; head and neck surgery; skin cancer; breast surgery; hand surgery; lower limb trauma; burns; and aesthetic surgery. The Journal will provide authors with fast publication times.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Surgery
Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 4%); most named United Kingdom 9, India 7, United States 6, Taiwan, China 3, Netherlands 3 (52 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Reconstructive Surgery and Microvascular TechniquesMedicine20.3%
- Reconstructive Facial Surgery TechniquesMedicine11%
- Breast Implant and ReconstructionMedicine10.9%
- Facial Rejuvenation and Surgery TechniquesMedicine6.4%
- Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine4.8%
- Body Contouring and SurgeryMedicine4.3%
- Wound Healing and TreatmentsMedicine3.6%
- Nasal Surgery and Airway StudiesMedicine3.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Surgery | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 1.8Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 2.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 2.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.6LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.15LetPub ·
- h-index
- 28OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 152OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.44OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 99.82%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 259LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,471 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 348 | 348 | 69 |
| 2025 | 306 | 306 | 353 |
| 2024 | 194 | 194 | 802 |
| 2023 | 111 | 111 | 589 |
| 2022 | 93 | 93 | 834 |
| 2021 | 102 | 102 | 715 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
83 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 60 days – 119 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 5 days (109 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 90 days
- Sample
- 109 articles with submission and acceptance dates (709 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 22 weeksLetPub ·
- First decision after review
- 33 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 92 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 18 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 1,920 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,920 / EUR 1,750 / GBP 1,540 / JPY 238,140 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,750 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 1,920 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Keywords
- 4–6
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted9, with length limits
- case reportlikely to be accepted for publication. Case reports should be no more than 1200 words, with a maximum of 10 references and four tables/figures. Smain text ≤ 1,200 words
- case reportsCase reports should be no more than 1200 words, with a maximum of 10 references and four tables/figures.Length not stated
- editorialOriginal contributions are welcomed from any country, but the prose used in manuscripts must conform to acceptable English usage. The text must be clear, logica…Length not stated
- letters to editor/ communicationsLetters to Editor/ Communications When discussing a prior JPRAS Open manuscript, please cite the specific article in the main body of your letter and add it to …Length not stated
- original articlee legends, tables. Main article types • Original Articles should generally be no more than 3000 words in length, with 40 references and 16 figures/illustrated i…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- original articlesOriginal Articles should generally be no more than 3000 words in length, with 40 references and 16 figures/illustrated images/ tables.Length not stated
- reviewte figures count as individual items. • Review papers should be no more than 4000 words, with 80 references and 16 figures/illustrated imaged/tablemain text ≤ 4,000 words
- review papersReview papers should be no more than 4000 words, with 80 references and 16 figures/illustrated imaged/tables.Length not stated
- short communicationsShort Communications should be no more than 800 words, with a maximum of 5 references and two tables/figures.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Changes to authorship
The editors of this journal generally will not consider changes to authorship once a manuscript has been submitted. It is important that authors carefully consider the authorship list and order of authors and provide a definitive author list at original submission. The policy of this journal around authorship changes: All authors must be listed in the manuscript and their details entered into the …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'License Agreement' (see more information on this). Permitted third party reuse of open access articles is determined by the author's choice of user license.Author rightsAs an author you (or your employer or institution) have certain rights to reuse your work. More information.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
Please visit our Open Access page for more information about open access publishing in this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Single anonymized review process Model summary
This journal operates a single anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then typically sent to a minimum of one independent expert reviewer to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor's…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint references
Where a preprint has subsequently become available as a peer-reviewed publication, the formal publication should be used as the reference. If there are preprints that are central to your work or that cover crucial developments in the topic, but are not yet formally published, these may be referenced. Preprints should be clearly marked as such, for example by including the word preprint, or the nam…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Standardized reporting guidelines
JPRA Open is committed to standardized reporting of clinical trials, meta-analyses, and other studies as follows:Case reports, cohort studies, and patient series: Authors should adhere to the STROBE guidelines (http://www.strobe-statement.org/) and indicate this in the manuscript.Diagnostic measure research: Authors should adhere to STARD guidelines (http://www.stard-statement.org) and indicate in…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2352-5878
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about JPRAS Open
What CAS zone is JPRAS Open in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, JPRAS Open is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Surgery. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of JPRAS Open?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.8; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 2.2, h-index 28.
How long does peer review take at JPRAS Open?
Based on the dates recorded on 109 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 83 days (interquartile range 60–119 days); authors report an average review time of about 22 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of JPRAS Open?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Keywords: 4–6; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of JPRAS Open based?
Of the 52 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (9), India (7) and United States (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index JPRAS Open?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, JPRAS Open is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ.
Is JPRAS Open open access, and what is the APC?
JPRAS Open is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,920.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .