Journal profile · PHYSICS, APPLIED
Journal of Theoretical and Applied Physics
ISSN 2251-7227 · eISSN 2251-7235 · Springer Nature
Journal of Theoretical and Applied Physics: fully open access; APC about USD 600; 0 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus; flagged on an early-warning list or for an indexing change: check before submitting.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Theoretical and Applied Physics is published by Springer Nature. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Dust and Plasma Wave Phenomena, Plasma Applications and Diagnostics and Plasma Diagnostics and Applications, together about 22% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
JTAP covers the full range of applied and fundamental physics research topics: -Theoretical physics (statistical physics, quantum mechanics, gravitation, astrophysics, cosmology, elementary particles and fields). -Nuclear physics. -Atomic and molecular physics, linear and nonlinear optics, plasma physics, laser sciences, fiber optics. -Nonlinear dynamics, fluid dynamics, and classical optics. -Plasma and beam physics and applications. -Condensed matter (materials physics, thin films, nanoscience). – Medical and biological physics.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): PHYSICS, APPLIED
Editor-in-chief Seyedeh Mehri HamidiPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 9%); most named Iran 6, Mainland China 1, United Kingdom 1, India 1, Denmark 1 (11 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Dust and Plasma Wave PhenomenaPhysics and Astronomy8.3%
- Plasma Applications and DiagnosticsMedicine6.9%
- Plasma Diagnostics and ApplicationsEngineering6.9%
- Nonlinear Waves and SolitonsPhysics and Astronomy6.7%
- ZnO doping and propertiesMaterials Science6.2%
- Cosmology and Gravitation TheoriesPhysics and Astronomy4.8%
- Ionosphere and magnetosphere dynamicsPhysics and Astronomy4.8%
- Plasmonic and Surface Plasmon ResearchEngineering4.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Physics and Astronomy (miscellaneous) | Q4 | 73/88 | 17th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
Early warning / risk: Removed from ESCI for production reasons on 21 August 2023. CAS Early Warning Journal List: not listed in any of 6 editions.LetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.9LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.16LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.22LetPub ·
- h-index
- 39OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 184OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 57.95%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 1LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 50Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 406 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 0 | 0 | 747 |
| 2025 | 0 | 0 | 1,055 |
| 2024 | 0 | 0 | 1,171 |
| 2023 | 0 | 0 | 1,161 |
| 2022 | 0 | 0 | 1,093 |
| 2021 | 0 | 0 | 1,119 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 12 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Unspecified peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 600 | No | CC BY | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,780 / EUR 2,190 / GBP 1,890 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
Article types accepted6
- letterThe Journal publishes Regular Papers (Research Articles), Rapid Communications (Letters) and Review Papers. Regular Papers (Research Articles): the manuscript b…Length not stated
- original researchThe Journal publishes Regular Papers (Research Articles), Rapid Communications (Letters) and Review Papers. Regular Papers (Research Articles): the manuscript b…Length not stated
- rapid communicationThe Journal publishes Regular Papers (Research Articles), Rapid Communications (Letters) and Review Papers. Regular Papers (Research Articles): the manuscript b…Length not stated
- regular paperThe Journal publishes Regular Papers (Research Articles), Rapid Communications (Letters) and Review Papers. Regular Papers (Research Articles): the manuscript b…Length not stated
- research articleThe Journal publishes Regular Papers (Research Articles), Rapid Communications (Letters) and Review Papers. Regular Papers (Research Articles): the manuscript b…Length not stated
- reviewThe Journal publishes Regular Papers (Research Articles), Rapid Communications (Letters) and Review Papers. Regular Papers (Research Articles): the manuscript b…Length not stated
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- ISSN
- 2251-7227
- Electronic ISSN
- 2251-7235
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 20, Issue 4 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Theoretical and Applied Physics
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Theoretical and Applied Physics?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Reference style: Vancouver; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Theoretical and Applied Physics based?
Of the 11 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 9%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Iran (6), Mainland China (1) and United Kingdom (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Theoretical and Applied Physics?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Theoretical and Applied Physics is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Journal of Theoretical and Applied Physics open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Theoretical and Applied Physics is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 600.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .