Journal profile · Multiple

Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America

ISSN 2768-2765

Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America: impact factor 1.1 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 1,500; median 64 days to acceptance (101 articles, last 24 months); 169 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI.

Impact factor1.1From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
Review time64 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 101 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 1,500Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year1692025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America's largest topics are Bone fractures and treatments, Hip disorders and treatments and Scoliosis diagnosis and treatment, together about 27.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America (JPOSNA®) is the forum for the most relevant and important pediatric orthopaedic research and educational information for researchers and clinicians involved in pediatric orthopaedic care. The goal of this open access journal is to utilize innovative communication methods to educate the global medical community and lead to improved outcomes in the lives of children and adolescents worldwide.This is the official peer-reviewed publication of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America, providing must-read content in trauma, spine, sports, neuromuscular, upper extremity, lower extremity, hip and pelvis, pediatric and basic science research.The journal publishes special thematic issues and unique articles, such as Original research articles, Quality, Safety and Value Initiative (QSVI) articles, Quality Improvement case series, Current Concept Reviews, Historical Profiles, and Surgical and Technical Tips and Master video articles.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Multiple

Editor-in-chief Kenneth J. NoonanPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 3%); most named United States 24, Canada 3, Australia 3, Türkiye 2, Mainland China 1 (37 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine12.6%
  2. Hip disorders and treatmentsMedicine8.1%
  3. Scoliosis diagnosis and treatmentMedicine6.4%
  4. Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine5.8%
  5. Elbow and Forearm Trauma TreatmentMedicine5.6%
  6. Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine5.4%
  7. Musculoskeletal Disorders and RehabilitationMedicine4.6%
  8. Diversity and Career in MedicineSocial Sciences4.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

ScopusPubMedPublisher website

Other: Crossref

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
1.1Publisher website ·
CiteScore (publisher)
1.2Publisher website ·
h-index
14OpenAlex ·
i10-index
32OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.12OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
9.1%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
129LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 886 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202614014016
2025169169143
2024133133335
2023123123403
2022121121276
2021106106276

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

64 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 48 days – 87 days

Acceptance to online
median 9 days (101 articles)
Submission to online
median 79 days
Sample
101 articles with submission and acceptance dates (289 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Submission to first decision
6 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
65 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 18 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 1,500YesCC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 1,500 / EUR 1,400 / GBP 1,200 / JPY 186,050——
Publisher websiteUSD 1,500——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 325 words
Manuscript length
≤ 3,500 words
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted18, with length limits
  1. case reportaccess fee for this journal is $800 for case reports, video articles, short communications and article types requiring 2,000 words or less, and $1500 for resear…main text ≤ 2,000 words
  2. case reportsOriginal Research Current Concept Review Systematic Review and Meta-Analyses Masters Surgical Techniques (Paper and Video) Practice Innovation (PI) Quality Impr…Length not stated
  3. committee reportsLetters to the Editor Historical Profiles/Perspectives Society Addresses Committee Reports Point of View Panel Discussions OtherLength not stated
  4. current concept reviewOriginal Research Current Concept Review Systematic Review and Meta-Analyses Masters Surgical Techniques (Paper and Video) Practice Innovation (PI) Quality Impr…Length not stated
  5. historical profiles/perspectivesLetters to the Editor Historical Profiles/Perspectives Society Addresses Committee Reports Point of View Panel Discussions OtherLength not stated
  6. letters to the editorLetters to the Editor can be uploaded directly to Editorial Manager, selecting the article type, “Letter to the Editor.”Length not stated
  7. masters surgical techniques (paper and video)Original Research Current Concept Review Systematic Review and Meta-Analyses Masters Surgical Techniques (Paper and Video) Practice Innovation (PI) Quality Impr…Length not stated
  8. original researchOriginal Research Current Concept Review Systematic Review and Meta-Analyses Masters Surgical Techniques (Paper and Video) Practice Innovation (PI) Quality Impr…Length not stated
  9. otherLetters to the Editor Historical Profiles/Perspectives Society Addresses Committee Reports Point of View Panel Discussions OtherLength not stated
  10. panel discussionsLetters to the Editor Historical Profiles/Perspectives Society Addresses Committee Reports Point of View Panel Discussions OtherLength not stated
  11. point of viewLetters to the Editor Historical Profiles/Perspectives Society Addresses Committee Reports Point of View Panel Discussions OtherLength not stated
  12. practice innovation (pi)Original Research Current Concept Review Systematic Review and Meta-Analyses Masters Surgical Techniques (Paper and Video) Practice Innovation (PI) Quality Impr…Length not stated
  13. quality improvement case seriesOriginal Research Current Concept Review Systematic Review and Meta-Analyses Masters Surgical Techniques (Paper and Video) Practice Innovation (PI) Quality Impr…Length not stated
  14. quality, safety, value initiativeOriginal Research Current Concept Review Systematic Review and Meta-Analyses Masters Surgical Techniques (Paper and Video) Practice Innovation (PI) Quality Impr…Length not stated
  15. review articleresearch, practice guidelines, QVSI and review articles, and article types requiring up to 3,500 words, excluding taxes. Learn more about Elsevier's pricing pol…main text ≤ 3,500 words
  16. society addressesLetters to the Editor Historical Profiles/Perspectives Society Addresses Committee Reports Point of View Panel Discussions OtherLength not stated
  17. systematic reviewSystematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses must meet the requirements of the PRISMA guidelines for systematic reviews and meta-analyses. Authors are required to compl…Length not stated
  18. systematic review and meta-analysesOriginal Research Current Concept Review Systematic Review and Meta-Analyses Masters Surgical Techniques (Paper and Video) Practice Innovation (PI) Quality Impr…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
AI use Declaration of generative AI in scientific writing

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Authorship

All authors should have made substantial contributions to all of the following:The conception and design of the study, or acquisition of data, or analysis and interpretation of data.Drafting the article or revising it critically for important intellectual content.Final approval of the version to be submitted.All authors should agree to be accountable for all aspects of the work to ensure that the …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interest

Corresponding authors, on behalf of all the authors of a submission, must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence (bias) their work. Examples of potential conflicts of interest include employment, consultancies, stock ownership, honoraria, paid expert testimony, patent applications/registrations, and grants or other …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright

Upon acceptance of an article, authors will be asked to complete a 'License Agreement' (see more information on this). Permitted third party reuse of open access articles is determined by the author's choice of user license.Author rightsAs an author you (or your employer or institution) have certain rights to reuse your work. More information.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Transition to Open Access

Gold open access since 2024 Model summary

This journal moved from an open archive publishing model to a gold open access publishing model in 2024. Articles submitted to JPOSNA® will be published open access and this journal will make the author's work immediately, permanently, and freely accessible. Authors, and their funders or institutions, will be expected to cover the cost of the Article Publishing Charge (APC) to publish in the journ…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Double anonymized peer review Model summary

This journal operates a double anonymized review process. All contributions will be initially assessed by the editor for suitability for the journal. Papers deemed suitable are then typically sent to a minimum of two independent expert reviewers to assess the scientific quality of the paper. The Editor is responsible for the final decision regarding acceptance or rejection of articles. The Editor'…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Please note that preprints can be shared anywhere at any time, in line with Elsevier's sharing policy. Sharing your preprints e.g. on a preprint server will not count as prior publication (see 'Multiple, redundant or concurrent publication' for more information).

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines

Clinical trial registration required Model summary

Registration in a public trials registry is a condition for publication of clinical trial research in this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

ISSN
2768-2765
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America

What is the impact factor of Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 1.1; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; h-index 14.

How long does peer review take at Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America?

Based on the dates recorded on 101 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 64 days (interquartile range 48–87 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 325 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,500 words; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America based?

Of the 37 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (24), Canada (3) and Australia (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America is indexed in ESCI and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Scopus and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of the Pediatric Orthopaedic Society of North America is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 1,500.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-30). Last updated: .