Journal profile · Multiple
Journal of the History of Economic Thought
ISSN 1053-8372 · eISSN 1469-9656 · Cambridge University Press
Journal of the History of Economic Thought: CAS Zone 2 · Economics (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.51; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,550; 48 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI, AHCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of the History of Economic Thought is published by Cambridge University Press and is in Zone 2 of Economics in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Economic Theory and Institutions, Economic Theory and Policy and Political Economy and Marxism, together about 54.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Economics and Econometrics. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of the History of Economic Thought (JHET) is the journal of the History of Economics Society. JHET is a quarterly, refereed journal that welcomes papers reflecting the full spectrum of scholarly analysis within the history of economic thought and history of economic methodology.The mission of the journal is to further the objectives of the History of Economics Society. These are to promote interest in and inquiry into the history of economics and related parts of intellectual history, facilitate communication and discourse among scholars working in the field of the history of economics, and disseminate knowledge about the history of economics. JHET is a scholarly publication of international distinction. In addition to publishing widely read and cited peer-reviewed articles, it features a regular book review section including reviews by leading specialists.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 21, United Kingdom 5, Canada 5, Brazil 5, France 4 (63 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Economic Theory and InstitutionsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance28.4%
- Economic Theory and PolicyEconomics, Econometrics and Finance14.5%
- Political Economy and MarxismSocial Sciences11.9%
- Diverse Scientific and Economic StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance7.5%
- Historical Economic and Social StudiesEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5.7%
- Educational Robotics and EngineeringComputer Science5.1%
- Economic theories and modelsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5%
- American Constitutional Law and PoliticsSocial Sciences2.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Economics Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | History | Zone 1 |
| Minor | History of Social Sciences | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)History Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | History | Zone 2 |
| Minor | History | Zone 2 |
| Minor | History of Social Sciences | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Economics Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | History | Zone 2 |
| Minor | History of Social Sciences | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIAHCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 0.51LetPub ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.38LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.25LetPub ·
- h-index
- 41OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 344OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.22OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 52.04%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 14LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,992 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 43 | 18 | 0 |
| 2025 | 48 | 22 | 10 |
| 2024 | 62 | 35 | 23 |
| 2023 | 100 | 49 | 142 |
| 2022 | 69 | 27 | 190 |
| 2021 | 58 | 13 | 195 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,550 / GBP 2,460 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted11
- articleArticle*Length not stated
- bookBookLength not stated
- book reviewBook ReviewLength not stated
- forumForumLength not stated
- interviewInterviewLength not stated
- mini symposiumMini symposium*Length not stated
- orationOrationLength not stated
- presidential addressPresidential Address*Length not stated
- reviewArticle*Book ForumBook ReviewMini symposium*Presidential Address*Review Essay*Symposium*InterviewOrationLength not stated
- review essayReview Essay*Length not stated
- symposiumSymposium*Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websitePeer review
- Peer review
Peer review model: single-anonymous Model summary
This journal uses a single-anonymous model of peer review.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Cambridge University Press
- ISSN
- 1053-8372
- Electronic ISSN
- 1469-9656
- Society / sponsor
- History of Economics Society
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of the History of Economic Thought
What CAS zone is Journal of the History of Economic Thought in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of the History of Economic Thought is in Zone 2 of Economics, and in Zone 1 of the minor category History / History of Social Sciences. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of History. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of the History of Economic Thought?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 0.51; CiteScore 1.6, h-index 41.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of the History of Economic Thought based?
Of the 63 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (21), United Kingdom (5) and Canada (5). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of the History of Economic Thought?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of the History of Economic Thought is indexed in SSCI, AHCI and Scopus.
Is Journal of the History of Economic Thought open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of the History of Economic Thought is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,550.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .