Journal profile · Nutrition & Dietetics
Journal of the American College of Nutrition
ISSN 0731-5724 · eISSN 1541-1087 · Taylor and Francis Ltd. · UNITED STATES · Bimonthly · Founded 1982
Journal of the American College of Nutrition: impact factor 0; JCR Q2 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC charged, amount not published; review about 34 days (first decision after review, publisher); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of the American College of Nutrition is published by Taylor and Francis Ltd.. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Nutritional Studies and Diet, Diet and metabolism studies and Nutrition and Health in Aging, together about 28.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are Nutrition and Dietetics. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of the American College of Nutrition accepts the following types of submissions: Original and innovative research in nutrition science with useful application for researchers, physicians, nutritionists, and other healthcare professionals with emphasis on discoveries which help to individualize or "personalize" nutrition science; Critical reviews on pertinent nutrition topics that highlight key teaching points and relevance to nutrition; Letters to the editors and commentaries on important issues in the field of nutrition; Abstract clusters on nutritional topics with editorial comments; Book reviews; Abstracts from the annual meeting of the American College of Nutrition in the October issue. Publication office: Taylor & Francis, Inc., 530 Walnut Street, Suite 850, Philadelphia, PA 19106 Authors can choose to publish gold open access in this journal. Read the Instructions for Authors for information on how to submit your article.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Nutrition & Dietetics
Editor-in-chief Rachel KopecPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 8, Italy 2, United Kingdom 1, South Korea 1, Canada 1 (13 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Nutritional Studies and DietMedicine12.1%
- Diet and metabolism studiesMedicine10.1%
- Nutrition and Health in AgingMedicine6.6%
- Obesity, Physical Activity, DietMedicine6.3%
- Fatty Acid Research and HealthNursing5.4%
- Muscle metabolism and nutritionBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.2%
- Antioxidant Activity and Oxidative StressMedicine5%
- Magnesium in Health and DiseaseNursing4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
JCR / CiteScore quartiles on the journal's website
- JCR Q2 · best quartile · 2025
- CiteScore Q1 · 2025
Publisher-reported: JCR figures are Clarivate's and CiteScore figures Scopus's to confirm; both are a different system from the CAS zones.Publisher website
Database indexing
ScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
SCIEMEDLINECASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Index Medicus, Excerpta Medica, SciSearch, Research Alert, BIOSIS
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 0LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.3Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2020
- 3.18Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.3Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2020
- 3.32Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 8.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 7.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2020
- 4.5Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.57LetPub ·
- SJR (publisher) 2025
- 0.86Publisher website ·
- SJR (publisher) 2020
- 0.75Publisher website ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1LetPub ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2025
- 1Publisher website ·
- SNIP (publisher) 2020
- 0.96Publisher website ·
- h-index
- 110LetPub ·
- h-index
- 169OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 2,333OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 11.11%LetPub ·
Volume
- Downloads per year (publisher)
- 209,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,367 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 12 | 3 | 168 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
34 daysfirst decision after review · community reports over 12 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- over 12 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 20%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 34 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 31 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication
- 6 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted7
- abstract clusterAbstract clusters on nutritional topics with editorial commentsLength not stated
- book reviewBook reviewsLength not stated
- commentaryLetters to the editors and commentaries on important issues in the field of nutritionLength not stated
- critical reviewCritical reviews on pertinent nutrition topics that highlight key teaching points and relevance to nutritionLength not stated
- letter to the editorLetters to the editors and commentaries on important issues in the field of nutritionLength not stated
- meeting abstractAbstracts from the annual meeting of the American College of Nutrition in the October issueLength not stated
- original researchOriginal and innovative research in nutrition science with useful application for researchers, physicians, nutritionists, and other healthcare professionals wit…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteOpen access, Peer review
- Open access Open access
Gold open access option available Model summary
Overview Open journals Open Select Dove Medical Press F1000Research
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Single-anonymized peer review policy. Model summary
The journal operates a single-anonymized peer review policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Taylor and Francis Ltd.
- Country or region
- UNITED STATES
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Bimonthly
- Founded
- 1982
- ISSN
- 0731-5724
- Electronic ISSN
- 1541-1087
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 45, Issue 7 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of the American College of Nutrition
What is the impact factor of Journal of the American College of Nutrition?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 0; CiteScore 8.2, h-index 169.
How long does peer review take at Journal of the American College of Nutrition?
The publisher reports about 34 days (first decision after review); authors report an average review time of over 12 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 20%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What JCR quartile is Journal of the American College of Nutrition in?
The journal's website gives JCR Q2 (best quartile). JCR quartiles are Clarivate's to confirm and a different system from the CAS zones.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of the American College of Nutrition based?
Of the 13 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (8), Italy (2) and United Kingdom (1). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of the American College of Nutrition?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of the American College of Nutrition is indexed in Scopus. The journal's website also lists SCIE, MEDLINE, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of the American College of Nutrition open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of the American College of Nutrition is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC charged, amount not published.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .