Journal profile
Journal of StudentRun Clinics
ISSN 2474-9354 · Society of Student-Run Free Clinics · United States
Journal of StudentRun Clinics: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 54 weeks (community reports); 38 articles in 2025.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of StudentRun Clinics is published by Society of Student-Run Free Clinics. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Innovations in Medical Education, Health and Medical Education and Service-Learning and Community Engagement, together about 39.7% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
A student-run clinic is loosely defined as a service-learning project organized and motivated by students who seek to regularly provide any discipline's health services (i.e., medical, dental, physical therapy, pharmacy, veterinary, etc.) to the local community. The Journal of Student-Run Clinics considers submissions on diverse topics related to SRCs.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Editor-in-chief Kendall MajorPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Innovations in Medical EducationMedicine17.8%
- Health and Medical EducationHealth Professions11.8%
- Service-Learning and Community EngagementSocial Sciences10%
- Primary Care and Health OutcomesHealth Professions6.4%
- Health Promotion and Cardiovascular PreventionMedicine5.6%
- Homelessness and Social IssuesHealth Professions4.4%
- Interprofessional Education and CollaborationHealth Professions3.8%
- Cultural Competency in Health CareSocial Sciences3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
DOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPMCPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- h-index
- 9OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 6OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.31OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 275 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 15 | 15 | 53 |
| 2025 | 38 | 38 | 56 |
| 2024 | 43 | 43 | 129 |
| 2023 | 27 | 27 | 59 |
| 2022 | 36 | 36 | 37 |
| 2021 | 26 | 26 | 50 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 54 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 54 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Page charges
- No page charges
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 2,500 words
- Reference style
- AMA
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- case reportt. Content Articles of all types except case reports have a 2500 word limit (excluding the abstract, references, and appendices).main text ≤ 2,500 words
- case reportsCase reports should demonstrate a unique patient circumstance where novel and creative treatment solutions were utilized given limited resources in an SRFC sett…Length not stated
- descriptive reportsAbstracts for descriptive reports and perspective articles should outline the Background to establish the context and purpose of the content and provide a brief…Length not stated
- literature reviewsOriginal studies, literature reviews, and meta-analyses require structured abstracts outlining the Background, Methods, Results, and Conclusions.Length not stated
- meta-analysesOriginal studies, literature reviews, and meta-analyses require structured abstracts outlining the Background, Methods, Results, and Conclusions.Length not stated
- original studiesOriginal studies, literature reviews, and meta-analyses require structured abstracts outlining the Background, Methods, Results, and Conclusions.Length not stated
- perspective articlesAbstracts for descriptive reports and perspective articles should outline the Background to establish the context and purpose of the content and provide a brief…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, License & copyright, Peer review, Plagiarism, Self-archiving
- AI use
Generative AI systems cannot be listed as an author. Model summary
Note that the JSRC does not permit generative AI systems to be listed as an author.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
No submission or publication fee. Model summary
We follow ICMJE recommendations regarding authorship, which request all authors to (1) contribute substantially to the project conception, data acquisition, analysis, or interpretation, (2) be involved in drafting or revising the manuscript for intellectual content, (3) approve the final manuscript to be published, and (4) agree to be accountable for the accuracy and integrity of the work. If it i…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Competing Interests
Manuscript must not be under consideration elsewhere. Model summary
Any financial or other potential conflicts of interest from all authors should be declared in the "Disclosures" section of the article. Authors may download and use the ICMJE Form for Disclosure of Potential Conflicts of Interest to assist in generating a standardized statement to include in the "Disclosures" section. Reviewers and editors must disclose, avoid, or appropriately manage conflicts of…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Reporting standards and availability of data, materials, code, and protocols
We encourage all authors to make their data available. In cases where this may not be feasible, we encourage authors to include a data availability statement at the end of the "Materials and Methods" section. This statement should provide information on where and under what conditions the data directly supporting the publication can be accessed. An example statement may read: The data supporting t…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Self-archiving and license to publish
Creative Commons Attribution License; authors retain copyright. Model summary
Following review and acceptance of the article for publication, the manuscript will be copyedited and released online in the Journal of Student-Run Clinics. Accepted manuscripts are published under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which allows for unrestricted sharing and use of all content with proper citation. All content is open access.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer-review policy
Rolling publication cycle. Model summary
The Journal of Student-Run Clinics categorizes submissions into five general types: original studies, descriptive reports, literature reviews, meta-analyses, and perspective articles. The level of peer review that each submission undergoes is dependent on the article type:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism and duplicate publication
The ORI (Office of Research Integrity) defines plagiarism to include "theft or misappropriation of intellectual property and the substantial unattributed textual copying of another's work." JSRC will not tolerate plagiarism from authors, reviewers, or editors. A duplicate, multiple, or redundant publication occurs when an author uses the same intellectual material more than once without explicit r…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving Self-archiving and license to publish
Following review and acceptance of the article for publication, the manuscript will be copyedited and released online in the Journal of Student-Run Clinics. Accepted manuscripts are published under the Creative Commons Attribution License, which allows for unrestricted sharing and use of all content with proper citation. All content is open access.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Society of Student-Run Free Clinics
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2474-9354
- Society / sponsor
- Society of Student-Run Free Clinics
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of StudentRun Clinics
How long does peer review take at Journal of StudentRun Clinics?
Authors report an average review time of about 54 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of StudentRun Clinics?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 2,500 words; Reference style: AMA; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index Journal of StudentRun Clinics?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of StudentRun Clinics is indexed in DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE and PMC; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of StudentRun Clinics open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of StudentRun Clinics is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .