Journal profile · Medicine-Surgery
Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty
ISSN 2471-5492 · SAGE Publishing · United States
Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty: fully open access; APC about USD 2,000; review about 10 weeks (community reports); 1 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty is published by SAGE Publishing. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Shoulder Injury and Treatment, Orthopaedic implants and arthroplasty and Orthopedic Surgery and Rehabilitation, together about 81.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal Highlights Published since 2016 Publication is subject to payment of an article processing charge (APC) Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty is an open access, peer reviewed journal that provides an international forum for discussion and reporting in the field of shoulder and elbow replacement and joint reconstruction. Please see the Aims and Scope tab for further information. This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Submission Information Submit your manuscript at https://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/jsea. Please see the Submission Guidelines tab for more information on how to submit your article to the journal. Open access article processing charge (APC) information Publication in the journal is subject to payment of an article processing charge (APC). The APC serves to support the journal and ensures that articles are freely accessible online in perpetuity under a Creative Commons license. The APC for this journal is currently 2100 USD.The article processing charge (APC) is payable when a manuscript is accepted after peer review, before it is published. The APC is subject to taxes where applicable. Please see further details here. Contact Please direct any queries to Isaac.Hirsch@sagepub.com
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Surgery
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 4%); most named United States 14, South Korea 2, Switzerland 2, Mainland China 1, Taiwan, China 1 (24 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine32.4%
- Orthopaedic implants and arthroplastyMedicine26%
- Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine22.8%
- Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine3.2%
- Elbow and Forearm Trauma TreatmentMedicine3.2%
- Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine1.7%
- Orthopedic Infections and TreatmentsMedicine1.5%
- Shoulder and Clavicle InjuriesMedicine1.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Surgery | Q1 | 145/597 | 75th |
| Orthopedics and Sports Medicine | Q2 | 124/340 | 63rd |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 3.7LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.69LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.67LetPub ·
- h-index
- 17OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 44OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.35OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 280 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 122 | 122 | 128 |
| 2025 | 1 | 1 | 247 |
| 2024 | 18 | 18 | 262 |
| 2023 | 26 | 26 | 222 |
| 2022 | 23 | 23 | 134 |
| 2021 | 9 | 9 | 88 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to
Too few articlesOnly 1 articles from the last 24 months carry both submission and acceptance dates, too few for a median
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 10 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 81 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 38 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 10 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 2,000 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC | |
| OpenAlex | USD 2,000 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 2,000 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,100 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare7 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 200 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 3,500 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted18, with length limits
- brief communicationSubmissions should not exceed the word counts listed below. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. Original scientific research: 3500 words not including a…Length not stated
- case reportSubmissions should not exceed the word counts listed below. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. Original scientific research: 3500 words not including a…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- case reportsCase reports: 2000 words not including abstract/keywords/referencesmain text ≤ 2,000 words
- commentariesCommentaries: 1500 wordsmain text ≤ 1,500 words
- commentarySubmissions should not exceed the word counts listed below. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. Original scientific research: 3500 words not including a…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- correspondenceSubmissions should not exceed the word counts listed below. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. Original scientific research: 3500 words not including a…Length not stated
- editorialSubmissions should not exceed the word counts listed below. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. Original scientific research: 3500 words not including a…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- editorialsEditorials: 1500 wordsmain text ≤ 1,500 words
- letterSubmissions should not exceed the word counts listed below. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. Original scientific research: 3500 words not including a…Length not stated
- letter to the editorSubmissions should not exceed the word counts listed below. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. Original scientific research: 3500 words not including a…Length not stated
- letters to the editorSubmissions should not exceed the word counts listed below. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. Original scientific research: 3500 words not including a…main text ≤ 1,000 words
- new technology updatesNew technology updates: 2000 words not including abstract/keywords/referencesmain text ≤ 2,000 words
- original scientific researchOriginal scientific research: 3500 words not including abstract/keywords/referencesmain text ≤ 3,500 words
- research updateResearch Update: 2000 words not including abstract/keywords/referencesmain text ≤ 2,000 words
- reviewSubmissions should not exceed the word counts listed below. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. Original scientific research: 3500 words not including a…main text ≤ 3,500 words
- reviewsReviews: 3500 words not including abstract/keywords/referencesmain text ≤ 3,500 words
- technique papersTechnique papers: 3500 words not including abstract/keywords/referencesmain text ≤ 3,500 words
- viewpointSubmissions should not exceed the word counts listed below. Abstracts should be no more than 200 words. Original scientific research: 3500 words not including a…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship Author contributions
You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data availability
The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical considerations
Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Publishing fees and open access
Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of publis…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review policy
Identity transparency: Double anonymized Model summary
The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism Plagiarism
The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
The journal does not accept submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration
The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE Publishing
- Country or region
- United States
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2471-5492
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty
How long does peer review take at Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty?
Authors report an average review time of about 10 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 200 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 3,500 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty based?
Of the 24 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (14), South Korea (2) and Switzerland (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Shoulder and Elbow Arthroplasty is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,000.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .