Journal profile · BUSINESS

Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services

ISSN 0969-6989 · eISSN 1873-1384 · Elsevier

Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services: CAS Zone 1 · Management (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal); impact factor 13.74; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,510; review about 102 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 444 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.

Impact factor13.74Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 1 · Management2025 upgraded edition, major category · Top journal · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 1 · Management
Review time102 daysPublisher-reported, submission to acceptance
APCUSD 4,510Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year4442025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services is published by Elsevier and is in Zone 1 of Management in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition, Top journal). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Consumer Retail Behavior Studies, Consumer Behavior in Brand Consumption and Identification and Digital Marketing and Social Media, together about 47.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Marketing. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Forging the Link between Research and PracticeThe journal is an international and interdisciplinary forum for research and debate in the rapidly developing - and converging - fields of retailing and services studies. It focuses particularly on consumer behaviour and on policy and managerial decisions, encouraging contributions from academics across a wide range of relevant disciplines. The Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services covers:The retailing and selling of goodsThe selling of consumer services such as transportation, tourism and leisure.The journal is interested receiving submissions that contribute to the research frontier in retailing and consumer services, based on generalizable empirical results from representative samples. In principle, we do not consider papers based on student or convenience samples.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): BUSINESS

Editor-in-chief Eleonora PantanoPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 2%); most named United States 8, Australia 8, United Kingdom 6, Germany 4, South Korea 3 (49 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Consumer Retail Behavior StudiesBusiness, Management and Accounting17.5%
  2. Consumer Behavior in Brand Consumption and IdentificationBusiness, Management and Accounting17%
  3. Digital Marketing and Social MediaSocial Sciences13.3%
  4. Customer Service Quality and LoyaltyBusiness, Management and Accounting12.4%
  5. Technology Adoption and User BehaviourDecision Sciences7.8%
  6. Consumer Market Behavior and PricingBusiness, Management and Accounting6.9%
  7. Environmental Sustainability in BusinessBusiness, Management and Accounting3.1%
  8. AI in Service InteractionsComputer Science2.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Management Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorManagementZone 1
MinorBusinessZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Management Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorManagementZone 1
MinorBusinessZone 1

Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Management Zone 1
LevelCategoryZone
MajorManagementZone 1
MinorBusinessZone 2

Top journal: yesReview journal: no

Database indexing

SSCIScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
13.74LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
13.7Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
24.8LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
24.8Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
3.91LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
2.92LetPub ·
h-index
235OpenAlex ·
i10-index
3,573OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
14.06OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
13.9%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
23.62%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
403LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 4,938 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
2026375121378
20254441173,690
202447312614,094
202339712419,436
20222979219,311
202141213428,563

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website

102 dayssubmission to acceptance

The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.

Figures by source

Submission to first decision
1 daysPublisher website ·
First decision after review
20 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
102 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
8 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 4,510 / EUR 4,220 / GBP 3,610 / JPY 559,380——
Publisher websiteUSD 4,890——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Keywords
1–7
Manuscript length
≤ 6,000 words
Reference style
Author–date
Highlights
Optional
Not considered
papers based on student or convenience samples
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted2
  1. full-length articlesFull-length articles should be 4000-6000 words long, although articles longer than 6000 words will be accepted on an occasional basis, if the topic demands this…Length not stated
  2. research paperThe journal publishes research papers with generalisable results that contribute to the academic literature and are relevant for practice. Full-length articles …Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Double anonymized peer review Model summary

This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharing allowed Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
ISSN
0969-6989
Electronic ISSN
1873-1384
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services

What CAS zone is Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services is in Zone 1 of Management, and in Zone 1 of the minor category Business; it is a Top journal. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 1 of Management. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 13.74; CiteScore 24.8, h-index 235.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services?

The publisher reports about 102 days (submission to acceptance). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: Author–date; Highlights: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services based?

Of the 49 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 2%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (8), Australia (8) and United Kingdom (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.

Is Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Retailing and Consumer Services is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,510.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .