Journal profile · PUBLIC, ENVIRONMENTAL & OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH

Journal of Primary Prevention

ISSN 0278-095X · eISSN 2731-5541 · Springer Nature · 6 issues per year

Journal of Primary Prevention: impact factor 0; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,790; median 177 days to acceptance (53 articles, last 24 months); 2,025 articles a year; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor0Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
Review time177 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 53 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 3,790Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year2,025LetPub annual count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Primary Prevention is published by Springer Nature. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional Development, Community Health and Development and Health Policy Implementation Science, together about 31.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Prevention is a multidisciplinary journal that publishes manuscripts aimed at reducing negative social and health outcomes and promoting human health and well-being. It publishes high-quality research that discusses evidence-based interventions, policies, and practices. The editions cover a wide range of prevention science themes and value diverse populations, age groups, and methodologies. Our target audiences are prevention scientists, practitioners, and policymakers from diverse geographic locations. Specific types of papers published in the journal include Original Research, Research Methods, Practitioner Narrative, Debate, Brief Reports, Letter to the Editor, Policy, and Reviews. The selection of articles for publication is based on their innovation, contribution to the field of prevention, and quality. The Journal of Prevention differs from other similar journals in the field by offering a more culturally and geographically diverse team of editors, a broader range of subjects and methodologies, and the intention to attract the readership of prevention practitioners and other stakeholders (alongside scientists).

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): PUBLIC, ENVIRONMENTAL & OCCUPATIONAL HEALTH

Editor-in-chief Zila SanchezPublisher website

Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 7, Spain 7, United Kingdom 4, Germany 3, Italy 2 (30 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Child and Adolescent Psychosocial and Emotional DevelopmentPsychology13.5%
  2. Community Health and DevelopmentHealth Professions11.6%
  3. Health Policy Implementation ScienceHealth Professions6.3%
  4. Youth Development and Social SupportSocial Sciences6.3%
  5. Substance Abuse Treatment and OutcomesMedicine6.2%
  6. Early Childhood Education and DevelopmentSocial Sciences5.9%
  7. Homelessness and Social IssuesHealth Professions5.3%
  8. School Health and Nursing EducationHealth Professions4.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

SCIEMEDLINEPsycINFOCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
0LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.5Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.7Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
2.8LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.66LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.96LetPub ·
h-index
87OpenAlex ·
i10-index
685OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
14.29%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year (publisher)
2,025Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
330,100Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,423 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
20213111381

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

177 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 110 days – 272 days

Acceptance to online
median 24 days (92 articles)
Submission to online
median 200 days
Sample
53 articles with submission and acceptance dates (143 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Submission to first decision
8 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,790 / EUR 2,890 / GBP 2,490——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
150–250 words
Keywords
≥ 4
Manuscript length
≤ 6,000 words
Reference style
APA
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted13
  1. brief reportOriginal Research: Generates significant new knowledge for prevention using strong quantitative and/or qualitative methods. Discussion focuses on how conclusion…Length not stated
  2. debateDebate: A more in-depth opinion piece that seeks to provided critical discussion of one aspect of prevention science. They should not contain unpublished or ori…Length not stated
  3. editorialDouble-blind peer review This journal follows a double-blind reviewing procedure. This means that the author will remain anonymous to the reviewers throughout p…Length not stated
  4. letterOriginal Research: Generates significant new knowledge for prevention using strong quantitative and/or qualitative methods. Discussion focuses on how conclusion…Length not stated
  5. letter to the editorOriginal Research: Generates significant new knowledge for prevention using strong quantitative and/or qualitative methods. Discussion focuses on how conclusion…Length not stated
  6. meta-analysisOriginal Research: Generates significant new knowledge for prevention using strong quantitative and/or qualitative methods. Discussion focuses on how conclusion…Length not stated
  7. opinionOriginal Research: Generates significant new knowledge for prevention using strong quantitative and/or qualitative methods. Discussion focuses on how conclusion…Length not stated
  8. original researchOriginal Research: Generates significant new knowledge for prevention using strong quantitative and/or qualitative methods. Discussion focuses on how conclusion…Length not stated
  9. policyPolicy: Manuscript focused specifically on analyses of preventive policies and their impacts in social and health outcomes. Maximum of 6000 words*, 5 tables and…Length not stated
  10. practitioner narrativePractitioner Narrative: A brief article written by program developers or implementers describing evidence-informed. Maximum 4000 words*, 2 tables and/or figures…Length not stated
  11. reviewOriginal Research: Generates significant new knowledge for prevention using strong quantitative and/or qualitative methods. Discussion focuses on how conclusion…Length not stated
  12. review of the literatureReview of the Literature: Systematic reviews or meta-analyses of topics that have seen significant development or progress in recent years. Maximum 6000 words*,…Length not stated
  13. systematic reviewOriginal Research: Generates significant new knowledge for prevention using strong quantitative and/or qualitative methods. Discussion focuses on how conclusion…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
AI use Generative AI Images

Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein. Back to top

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Authorship principles

Structured abstract required Model summary

These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Disclosures and declarations

All authors are requested to include information regarding sources of funding, financial or non-financial interests, study-specific approval by the appropriate ethics committee for research involving humans and/or animals, informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved animals (as appropriate). The decision whether such …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability

Data transparency Model summary

All authors are requested to make sure that all data and materials as well as software application or custom code support their published claims and comply with field standards.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Compliance with Ethical Standards

COPE member Model summary

To ensure objectivity and transparency in research and to ensure that accepted principles of ethical and professional conduct have been followed, authors should include information regarding sources of funding, potential conflicts of interest (financial or non-financial), informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved an…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright Copyright

Open Choice articles do not require transfer of copyright as the copyright remains with the author. In opting for open access, the author(s) agree to publish the article under a Creative Commons license. Details of the OA licences offered to authors can be found on the individual journal website, in the journal's How to publish with us guide. Back to top

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access publishing

To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Journal of Prevention, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Double-blind peer review

Double-blind peer review Model summary

This journal follows a double-blind reviewing procedure. This means that the author will remain anonymous to the reviewers throughout peer review. It is the responsibility of the author to anonymize the manuscript and any associated materials. Author names, affiliations and any other potentially identifying information should be removed from the manuscript text and any accompanying files (such as …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical Trial Registration

The World Health Organization (WHO) definition of a clinical trial is "any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes". The WHO defines health interventions as “A health intervention is an act performed for, with or on behalf of a person or population whose purpose is to ass…

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Springer Nature
Frequency
6 issues per year
ISSN
0278-095X
Print ISSN
2731-5533
Electronic ISSN
2731-5541
Society / sponsor
European Society for Prevention Research
Latest issue on the website
Volume 47, Issue 4 (August 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Primary Prevention

What is the impact factor of Journal of Primary Prevention?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 0; CiteScore 2.8, h-index 87.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Primary Prevention?

Based on the dates recorded on 53 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 177 days (interquartile range 110–272 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Primary Prevention?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: APA; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Primary Prevention based?

Of the 30 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (7), Spain (7) and United Kingdom (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Primary Prevention?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Primary Prevention is indexed in Scopus. The journal's website also lists SCIE, MEDLINE, PsycINFO and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Journal of Primary Prevention open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Primary Prevention is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,790.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .