Journal profile · Multiple
Journal of Planning Education and Research
ISSN 0739-456X · eISSN 1552-6577 · SAGE
Journal of Planning Education and Research: CAS Zone 3 · Economics (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.52; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,900; review about 305 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); acceptance rate 18.5% (journal website); 57 articles in 2025; indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Planning Education and Research is published by SAGE and is in Zone 3 of Economics in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Urban Planning and Governance, Urban, Neighborhood, and Segregation Studies and Urbanization and City Planning, together about 31.4% of its articles. Its main subfields are Urban Studies. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal of Planning Education and Research (JPER), double-blind peer-reviewed and published quarterly, is a forum for planning educators and scholars (from both academia and practice) to present results from teaching and research that advance the profession and improve planning practice. The journal covers planning theory, planning practice, and planning pedagogy, as … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Multiple
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United States 39, Canada 5, United Kingdom 3, South Korea 2, Australia 2 (55 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Urban Planning and GovernanceSocial Sciences14.2%
- Urban, Neighborhood, and Segregation StudiesSocial Sciences8.9%
- Urbanization and City PlanningSocial Sciences8.3%
- Urban Transport and AccessibilitySocial Sciences8.2%
- Housing Market and EconomicsEconomics, Econometrics and Finance6.2%
- Housing, Finance, and NeoliberalismEconomics, Econometrics and Finance5%
- Urban and Rural Development ChallengesSocial Sciences4.6%
- Rural development and sustainabilityAgricultural and Biological Sciences4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Economics Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Regional & Urban Planning | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Urban Studies | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Economics Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Regional & Urban Planning | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Urban Studies | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Economics Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Economics | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Regional & Urban Planning | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Urban Studies | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SSCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.52LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 2.7Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher)
- 3.1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.05LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.65LetPub ·
- h-index
- 114OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 994OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.88OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 7.4%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 21.63%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 44LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher)
- 3Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,866 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 62 | 23 | 15 |
| 2025 | 57 | 26 | 117 |
| 2024 | 63 | 34 | 211 |
| 2023 | 64 | 30 | 514 |
| 2022 | 77 | 31 | 568 |
| 2021 | 82 | 14 | 757 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
305 dayssubmission to acceptance
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 18.5%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 2 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 305 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 50 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double-anonymous peer reviewPublisher website · model-extracted
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,900 / GBP 2,859 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 100 words
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 8,000 words
- Reference style
- Author–date
Article types accepted6, with length limits
- book reviewsBook Reviews: Those interested in reviewing books or in suggesting a book for review, please send by e-mail a brief proposal to Nina David, Book Review Editor (…Length not stated
- commentaryconvincing, important, or provocative. Commentary manuscripts should not exceed 4000 words. Letters: Letters responding to articles, commentary, reviemain text ≤ 4,000 words
- instruction articlesInstruction Articles: Manuscripts on pedagogical topics include descriptive accounts of innovative approaches to teaching; local analyses of student recruitment…Length not stated
- lettersLetters: Letters responding to articles, commentary, reviews, or editorials are welcome.Length not stated
- reportsReports: As a publication of ACSP, reports of general importance to ACSP and its membership are welcome and serve as a record of the organizations’ actions and …Length not stated
- research articlesResearch Articles: Research articles should make clear the research question, its importance and pertinence to planning, how the methods address the question, w…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteData availability, Peer review, Plagiarism
- Data availability
Data sharing encouraged Model summary
Where relevant, JPER encourages authors to share their research data in a suitable public repository subject to ethical considerations and where data is included, to add a data accessibility statement in their manuscript file.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-anonymized peer review Model summary
After an initial evaluation, editors send manuscripts deemed appropriate for the journal to reviewers in a double-anonymize review process.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
Plagiarism check Model summary
The editors will run manuscripts through a plagiarism check.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- SAGE
- ISSN
- 0739-456X
- Electronic ISSN
- 1552-6577
- Society / sponsor
- Association of Collegiate Schools of Planning
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Planning Education and Research
What CAS zone is Journal of Planning Education and Research in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Planning Education and Research is in Zone 3 of Economics, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Regional & Urban Planning / Urban Studies. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Economics. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Planning Education and Research?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.52; CiteScore 7.3, h-index 114.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Planning Education and Research?
The publisher reports about 305 days (submission to acceptance); the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 18.5%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Planning Education and Research?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 100 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: Author–date. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Planning Education and Research based?
Of the 55 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (39), Canada (5) and United Kingdom (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Planning Education and Research?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Planning Education and Research is indexed in SSCI and Scopus.
Is Journal of Planning Education and Research open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Planning Education and Research is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,900.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .