Journal profile · Chemistry-Electrochemistry
Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology
ISSN 2666-4690 · Elsevier · Netherlands
Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology: impact factor 4.4 (journal website); diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 81 days (submission to acceptance, publisher); 17 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Photodynamic Therapy Research Studies, Advanced Photocatalysis Techniques and Skin Protection and Aging, together about 29.7% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology is an open access peer-reviewed journal that publishes short communications, research articles and reviews covering the whole field of photochemistry and photobiology. The journal publishes the results of fundamental studies on all aspects of light induced chemical and physical phenomena that relates to interactions between light and molecules/matter of all kinds; as well as papers relating to investigations of the interaction of light with biological systems. The scope of the journal includes fundamental photochemistry, photophysics and photobiology in gas, liquid, and solid phases and at interfaces, organic photochemistry, inorganic photochemistry, supramolecular photochemistry, macromolecular photochemistry, photochemistry of nanomaterials, photochemical aspects of photosynthesis and photobiology, photoelectrochemistry, optical spectroscopic methods and processes, ultrafast light induced phenomenon, photocatalysis, solar energy conversion, photochemical devices, photofabrication, photofunctionalization, Photoresponsive materials and processes, new chemistry for photonics, and other related areas. Additionally, all areas of photobiology, including, photomedicine, photodynamic therapy (PDT), anti-microbial PDT, photodesinfection, photobiomodulation, photoprotection, theranostics, chemiluminescence, bioiluminescence and photochemical aspects of photosynthesis. Papers that are only minor extensions of previous work or contain mainly descriptions of the thermal synthesis/processes of molecules and materials, or of biological systems, without a detailed photochemistry/photophysics and/or photobiology study will not be accepted for publication. Prospective authors of review articles are kindly advised to consult with the editorial office of the journal and to provide a brief description of their proposed reviews prior to any submission and to follow manuscript preparation instructions as described.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Chemistry-Electrochemistry
Editor-in-chief Mauricio BaptistaPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 6 in mainland China (about 18%); most named United States 8, Brazil 8, Mainland China 6, Japan 2, India 2 (33 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Photodynamic Therapy Research StudiesMedicine11.9%
- Advanced Photocatalysis TechniquesEnergy10.2%
- Skin Protection and AgingMedicine7.7%
- Nanoplatforms for cancer theranosticsEngineering6.9%
- Laser Applications in Dentistry and MedicineMedicine5.5%
- Luminescence and Fluorescent MaterialsMaterials Science5.2%
- TiO2 Photocatalysis and Solar CellsEnergy5%
- Photochemistry and Electron Transfer StudiesChemistry4.5%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 4.4Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.9LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 6.9Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.58LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.77LetPub ·
- h-index
- 28OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 97OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.36OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 301 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 39 | 39 | 13 |
| 2025 | 17 | 17 | 30 |
| 2024 | 28 | 28 | 155 |
| 2023 | 63 | 63 | 638 |
| 2022 | 58 | 58 | 647 |
| 2021 | 82 | 82 | 1,388 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Publisher-reported review time from the journal's website
81 dayssubmission to acceptance · community reports about 15 weeks
The publisher's own definition applies; dates from this journal's articles in the last 24 months are not available yet, so the publisher's figure is used.
Figures by source
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 15 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 4 daysPublisher website ·
- First decision after review
- 40 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance
- 81 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication
- 3 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 13 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 1,920 / EUR 1,800 / GBP 1,540 / JPY 238,140 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 1,700 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | USD 2,310 | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Open calls for papers6, by deadline
- Excited-State Modulation in Fluorescent Systems: From Fundamental Mechanisms to Material ApplicationsDeadline
- Special issue in honor of Eduardo A. Lissi: a half-century irradiating inspiration from Latin-AmericaDeadline
- Photochemical Thin Films/Coatings: Applications in ChemistryDeadline
- V. Ramamurthy 80th Birthday special issueDeadline
- Special issue dedicated to the 30th IUPAC Symposium on PhotochemistryDeadline
- New Horizons in Spectroelectrochemistry and PhotoelectrochemistryDeadline
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- 1–7
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted8
- opinionThe Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology welcomes the following types of papers:Original research papersReview articles Short communications / rapid repor…Length not stated
- original researchThe Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology welcomes the following types of papers:Original research papersReview articles Short communications / rapid repor…Length not stated
- original research papersOriginal research papersLength not stated
- perspectives or opinion pieces (by invitation)Perspectives or opinion pieces (by invitation)Length not stated
- review articlesReview articlesLength not stated
- short communicationThe Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology welcomes the following types of papers:Original research papersReview articles Short communications / rapid repor…Length not stated
- short communications / rapid reportsShort communications / rapid reportsLength not stated
- technical notes / methodological papersTechnical notes / methodological papersLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
- AI use Declaration of generative AI use
Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Group authorship
Authorship criteria Model summary
Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests
All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Ethics: Elsevier Publishing Ethics Policy Model summary
Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright License options
Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access
We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Peer review
Peer review type: single anonymized Model summary
This journal follows a single anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprints
Preprint sharing allowed, not prior publication Model summary
Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication. In support of Open Science, this journal offers its authors a free preprint posting service on SSRN, Elsevier’s preprint and early research …
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Elsevier
- Country or region
- Netherlands
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2666-4690
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗DOAJ
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology
What is the impact factor of Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 4.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 6.9, h-index 28.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology?
The publisher reports about 81 days (submission to acceptance); authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: 1–7; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology based?
Of the 33 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 6 (about 18%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (8), Brazil (8) and Mainland China (6). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.
Is Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Photochemistry and Photobiology is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .