Journal profile · Orthopedics

Journal of Orthopaedic Research®

ISSN 0736-0266 · eISSN 1554-527X · Wiley-Blackwell · ENGLAND · Bimonthly · Founded 1983

Journal of Orthopaedic Research®: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.36; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,970; median 123 days to acceptance (87 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 234 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.

Impact factor2.36Latest value listed by LetPub
CAS zoneZone 3 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review time123 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 87 articles, last 24 months · Crossref
APCUSD 3,970Hybrid journal: charged only for open-access articles
AcceptanceFairly easyCommunity average
Articles per year2342025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Orthopaedic Research® is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Orthopaedic implants and arthroplasty, Osteoarthritis Treatment and Mechanisms and Knee injuries and reconstruction techniques, together about 29.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Orthopaedic Research, a publication of the Orthopaedic Research Society (ORS), is the forum for the rapid publication of high quality reports of new information on the full spectrum of orthopaedic research, including life sciences, engineering, translational, and clinical studies. How to cite: To make sure that references to this journal are correctly recorded and resolved (for example in CrossRef or ISI Web of Science), please use the following abbreviated title in any citations: "J Orthop Res." Punctuation may vary according to the style of the citing journal.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Orthopedics

Editorial board by country: 5 in mainland China (about 3%); most named United States 147, Japan 8, Canada 8, Germany 6, Mainland China 5 (192 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Orthopaedic implants and arthroplastyMedicine10.1%
  2. Osteoarthritis Treatment and MechanismsMedicine9.7%
  3. Knee injuries and reconstruction techniquesMedicine9.4%
  4. Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine8.9%
  5. Tendon Structure and TreatmentMedicine8%
  6. Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine6.1%
  7. Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine5.3%
  8. Orthopedic Infections and TreatmentsMedicine5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorOrthopedicsZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorOrthopedicsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorOrthopedicsZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: no

Database indexing

SCIEScopusLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCASCAB AbstractsCurrent ContentsPublisher website

Other: EBSCO, ProQuest

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor
2.36LetPub ·
Impact factor (publisher)
2.4Publisher website ·
Impact factor (publisher) 2025
2.4Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
5.6LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
5.6Publisher website ·
CiteScore (publisher) 2025
5.6Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.83LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.13LetPub ·
h-index
140LetPub ·
h-index
235OpenAlex ·
i10-index
6,557OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.48OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
8.3%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
37.94%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
197LetPub ·
Articles per year (publisher) 2025
197Publisher website ·
Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
1,181,851Publisher website ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 9,279 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202616610763
2025234157476
20242671931,115
20232731931,865
20222841532,828
20212791843,867

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to

123 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 92 days – 171 days

Acceptance to online
median 18 days (87 articles)
Submission to online
median 140 days
Sample
87 articles with submission and acceptance dates (437 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
3–6 weeksLetPub ·
Average acceptance (community reports)
Fairly easyLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
26%Publisher website ·
Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
26%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
25 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to first decision 2025
25 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance 2025
120 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication 2025
18 daysPublisher website ·
Peer review
Single-anonymous peer reviewPublisher website · model-extracted

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Hybrid open accessLetPub

A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
OpenAlexUSD 3,970 / EUR 3,310 / GBP 2,650——
Publisher websiteYes, amount not published——

A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.

Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)

Submission fee
USD 50

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 250 words
Manuscript length
≤ 4,200 words
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Graphical abstract
Optional
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted12, with length limits
  1. consensus articlesConsensus ArticlesLength not stated
  2. invited review articlesInvited Review ArticlesLength not stated
  3. letterResearch Articles (original research only): Submit Spine Research Articles to JOR Spine. Clinical Research articles must include novel outcomes, biomarkers, or …Length not stated
  4. letter to the editorResearch Articles (original research only): Submit Spine Research Articles to JOR Spine. Clinical Research articles must include novel outcomes, biomarkers, or …Length not stated
  5. letters to the editorResearch Articles (original research only): Submit Spine Research Articles to JOR Spine. Clinical Research articles must include novel outcomes, biomarkers, or …Length not stated
  6. original researchResearch Articles (original research only): Submit Spine Research Articles to JOR Spine. Clinical Research articles must include novel outcomes, biomarkers, or …Length not stated
  7. research articleResearch Articles (original research only): Submit Spine Research Articles to JOR Spine. Clinical Research articles must include novel outcomes, biomarkers, or …Length not stated
  8. research articlesResearch Articles (original research only): Submit Spine Research Articles to JOR Spine.Length not stated
  9. research notesResearch Notes Research Notes Specifics: Characteristics: Limit: 900 words, max 2 tables/figuresLength not stated
  10. reviewResearch Articles (original research only): Submit Spine Research Articles to JOR Spine. Clinical Research articles must include novel outcomes, biomarkers, or …Length not stated
  11. review articleResearch Articles (original research only): Submit Spine Research Articles to JOR Spine. Clinical Research articles must include novel outcomes, biomarkers, or …main text ≤ 4,200 words
  12. review articlesReview Articles: Proposal required for unsolicited reviews (query with abstract and outline).Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteConflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Preprints
Conflicts of interest

Full conflict of interest disclosure required for all authors. Model summary

Conflict of Interest: Full disclosure required for all authors.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability JOR Data Sharing Policy:

Data sharing encouraged; deposit in public repositories at authors' expense and include access information in the manuscript. Model summary

Encouraged to deposit data in public repositories at authors' expense; include access information in the manuscript.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics

Scientific misconduct strongly condemned; allegations investigated seriously. Model summary

Scientific Misconduct: Strongly condemned; journal will investigate any allegations seriously.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright 6. Copyright and Licensing

Licensing via Wiley Author Licensing Service; Open Access options include CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND. Model summary

Upon acceptance, all authors must complete the licensing agreement through Wiley Author Licensing Service (WALS): For Open Access: Choose among Creative Commons licenses, including: Creative Commons Attribution License Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial-No Derivs License If research is grant-funded, authors can publish under a CC-BY lice…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints

Preprint policy: clinical research must not be posted on preprint servers prior to submission; exemption for lab research not involving human subjects. Model summary

JOR Pre-print Policy: Clinical research must not be posted on preprint servers prior to submission. Exemption for laboratory research not involving human subjects; authors may freely post submitted versions on non-commercial servers.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Wiley-Blackwell
Country or region
ENGLAND
Language
English
Frequency
Bimonthly
Founded
1983
ISSN
0736-0266
Electronic ISSN
1554-527X
Society / sponsor
Orthopaedic Research Society
Latest issue on the website
Volume 44, Issue 10 (October 2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Orthopaedic Research®

What CAS zone is Journal of Orthopaedic Research® in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Orthopaedic Research® is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Orthopedics. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Orthopaedic Research®?

The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.36; CiteScore 5.6, h-index 235.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Orthopaedic Research®?

Based on the dates recorded on 87 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 123 days (interquartile range 92–171 days); authors report an average review time of 3–6 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 26% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Orthopaedic Research®?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Manuscript length: ≤ 4,200 words; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Orthopaedic Research® based?

Of the 192 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 5 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (147), Japan (8) and Canada (8). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Orthopaedic Research®?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Orthopaedic Research® is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, CAS, CAB Abstracts and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Journal of Orthopaedic Research® open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Orthopaedic Research® is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,970.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .