Journal profile · OBSTETRICS & GYNECOLOGY
Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India
ISSN 0971-9202 · eISSN 0975-6434 · Springer Nature · 6 issues per year
Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.5 (journal website); subscription journal; APC about USD 4,090; median 153 days to acceptance (97 articles, last 24 months); 225 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Pregnancy and preeclampsia studies, Maternal and fetal healthcare and Uterine Myomas and Treatments, together about 25.3% of its articles. Its main subfields are Obstetrics and Gynecology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India (JOGI) is the official journal of the Federation of Obstetrics and Gynecology Societies of India (FOGSI). This is a peer- reviewed journal and features articles pertaining to the field of obstetrics and gynecology. The Journal is published six times a year on a bimonthly basis. Articles contributed by clinicians involved in patient care and research, and basic science researchers are considered. It publishes clinical and basic research of all aspects of obstetrics and gynecology, community obstetrics and family welfare and subspecialty subjects including gynecological endoscopy, infertility, oncology and ultrasonography, provided they have scientific merit and represent an important advance in knowledge. The journal believes in diversity and welcomes and encourages relevant contributions from world over. The types of articles published are:
· Original Article
· Case Report
· Instrumentation and Techniques
· Short Commentary
· Correspondence (Letter to the Editor)
· Pictorial Essay
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): OBSTETRICS & GYNECOLOGY
Editor-in-chief Sujata DalviPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named India 31, United Kingdom 5, United Arab Emirates 4, United States 3, Germany 2 (57 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Pregnancy and preeclampsia studiesMedicine9.2%
- Maternal and fetal healthcareMedicine9.1%
- Uterine Myomas and TreatmentsMedicine7%
- Maternal and Perinatal Health InterventionsMedicine6.8%
- Gynecological conditions and treatmentsMedicine5.9%
- Global Maternal and Child HealthMedicine5.2%
- Endometrial and Cervical Cancer TreatmentsMedicine4.7%
- Reproductive Health and ContraceptionMedicine4.3%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Obstetrics & Gynecology | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
EmbaseCASPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.5Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.9Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.3LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.3LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.51LetPub ·
- h-index
- 49OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 601OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.51OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 2.59%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 196LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 184,100Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 2,450 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 131 | 22 | 6 |
| 2025 | 225 | 125 | 70 |
| 2024 | 178 | 178 | 199 |
| 2023 | 172 | 172 | 324 |
| 2022 | 141 | 141 | 492 |
| 2021 | 190 | 190 | 1,072 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
153 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 77 days – 273 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 45 days (98 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 214 days
- Sample
- 97 articles with submission and acceptance dates (382 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 20 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,090 / EUR 3,090 / GBP 2,690 | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Other fees
- Charged; see the journal's website for the amount
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare6 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 2,500 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Not considered
- Copyright / Authorship / Disclosure Form
Article types accepted22, with length limits
- book reviewOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- case reportOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- commentaryOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- correspondenceOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- emerging technologiesEmerging Technologies - word limit 1200 maximum 5 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures /tables.Length not stated
- invited book reviewInvited Book Review - word limit 700, maximum 5 references not more than 5 years old, image of the book cover, ISBN and Publisher details requiredLength not stated
- invited mini review articleInvited Mini Review Article - word limit 2000, maximum 25 references not more than 7 years old, not more than 6 Figures /tables.Length not stated
- invited review articleInvited Review Article - word limit 2500, maximum 25 references not more than 7 years old, not more than 8 Figures /tablesLength not stated
- letterOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- letter to the editorOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- meta-analysisOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- methodologies or methodsMethodologies or Methods: - Word limit 2000–2500 , maximum 20 to 30 references not more than 7 years old, Tables & Figures: At least 2–3 tables and 2–4 figures,…Length not stated
- mini reviewOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- original articleOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- perspectiveOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…main text ≤ 2,000 words
- perspective - (past/present/future)Perspective - (Past/Present/Future) word limit 1,500–2000 words, not more than 5 figures /tables - maximum 20 references - from the last 5–10 years to ensure re…Length not stated
- pictorial essayPictorial Essay - Authors may send in their contribution of exclusive unique and exceptional clinical pictures which should be of academic and/ or practical int…Length not stated
- reviewOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- review articleOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- short commentary - correspondence (letter to the editor)Short Commentary - Correspondence (Letter to the Editor) word limit 800 maximum 7 references not more than 10 years old.Length not stated
- systematic reviewOriginal Article- word limit 2500 maximum 40 references not more than 10 years old, not more than 6 Figures/tables.Case Report - word limit 1200 maximum 4 refer…Length not stated
- systematic reviews/meta-analysisSystematic Reviews/Meta-analysis - Word limit 3000 maximum 30 references not more than 7 years old, not more than 8 Figures /tables.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Generative AI Images
Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship principles
These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Disclosures and declarations
All authors are requested to include information regarding sources of funding, financial or non-financial interests, study-specific approval by the appropriate ethics committee for research involving humans and/or animals, informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved animals (as appropriate). The decision whether such …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Data transparency expected Model summary
All authors are requested to make sure that all data and materials as well as software application or custom code support their published claims and comply with field standards.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Compliance with Ethical Standards
To ensure objectivity and transparency in research and to ensure that accepted principles of ethical and professional conduct have been followed, authors should include information regarding sources of funding, potential conflicts of interest (financial or non-financial), informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Copyright transferred to FOGSI upon acceptance Model summary
Copyright on all accepted manuscripts will be held by The Federation of Obstetrics and Gynaecological Societies of India (FOGSI). It is mandatory that the Copyright / Authorship / Disclosure Form is signed by all the authors, expressly transferring copyright to FOGSI in the event the manuscript is accepted for publication. This form must be submitted along with the manuscript on the Editorial Mana…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing
To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in The Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Double-blind review process Model summary
The journal follows a double-blind review process, and hence, it is mandatory that the title page should include the ethical statements.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical Trial Registration
The World Health Organization (WHO) definition of a clinical trial is "any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes". The WHO defines health interventions as “A health intervention is an act performed for, with or on behalf of a person or population whose purpose is to ass…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Frequency
- 6 issues per year
- ISSN
- 0971-9202
- Electronic ISSN
- 0975-6434
- Society / sponsor
- Federation of Obstetrics and Gynaecological Societies of India
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 76, Issue 4 (August 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India
What CAS zone is Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Obstetrics & Gynecology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.5 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.3, h-index 49.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India?
Based on the dates recorded on 97 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 153 days (interquartile range 77–273 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 2,500 words; Reference style: Vancouver; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India based?
Of the 57 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are India (31), United Kingdom (5) and United Arab Emirates (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India is indexed in ESCI and Scopus. The journal's website also lists Embase and CAS; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology of India is a subscription journal. APC about USD 4,090.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .