Journal profile · Clinical Neurology
Journal of Neurology
ISSN 0340-5354 · eISSN 1432-1459 · Springer Berlin Heidelberg · GERMANY · Monthly · Founded 1891
Journal of Neurology: CAS Zone 2 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 5.39; hybrid open access; APC about USD 4,790; median 52 days to acceptance (132 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: about 25%; 756 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Neurology is published by Springer Berlin Heidelberg and is in Zone 2 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Multiple Sclerosis Research Studies, Parkinson's Disease Mechanisms and Treatments and Genetic Neurodegenerative Diseases, together about 26.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Neurology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Neurology is an international peer-reviewed journal which aims to publish new important research on all aspects of clinical neurology including novel approaches to diagnosis, treatment and understanding disease states. Such research can include case series, clinical trials and the development of new guidelines as well as illustrative case reports of important new findings that provide a unique insight into aspects of clinical neurology.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Clinical Neurology
Editor-in-chief Roger A. BarkerPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 6, United States 5, Italy 4, Canada 3, Germany 2 (33 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Multiple Sclerosis Research StudiesMedicine9.9%
- Parkinson's Disease Mechanisms and TreatmentsMedicine8.7%
- Genetic Neurodegenerative DiseasesNeuroscience7.6%
- Neurological disorders and treatmentsMedicine7.3%
- Peripheral Neuropathies and DisordersMedicine7%
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis ResearchMedicine4.6%
- Acute Ischemic Stroke ManagementMedicine4%
- Neurology and Historical StudiesNeuroscience3.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 2
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 2 |
| Minor | Clinical Neurology | Zone 2 |
Top journal: yesReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEEmbaseCASCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, AGRICOLA, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic Scholar
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 5.39LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 5.4Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 5.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 9.1LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.64LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.76LetPub ·
- h-index
- 122LetPub ·
- h-index
- 207OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 10,760OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 4.76OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 5.6%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 52.41%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 594LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 4,500,000Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 21,558 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 581 | 309 | 247 |
| 2025 | 756 | 404 | 3,101 |
| 2024 | 659 | 395 | 6,162 |
| 2023 | 600 | 362 | 9,002 |
| 2022 | 624 | 383 | 10,801 |
| 2021 | 581 | 325 | 14,778 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
52 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 33 days – 79 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 14 days (132 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 72 days
- Sample
- 132 articles with submission and acceptance dates (1,436 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 1 monthLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- 25%LetPub ·
- Submission to first decision
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer review, Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 4,790 / EUR 3,790 / GBP 2,990 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 9,000 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted14, with length limits
- case reportAll articles must be written in English.The following article will be considered for publication and can be submitted via Editorial Manager: Original Communicat…main text ≤ 2,500 words
- commentaryAll articles must be written in English.The following article will be considered for publication and can be submitted via Editorial Manager: Original Communicat…main text ≤ 6,000 words
- editorialAll articles must be written in English.The following article will be considered for publication and can be submitted via Editorial Manager: Original Communicat…Length not stated
- journal clubJournal Club papers are invited to discuss relevant publications in the field of clinical neurology.Length not stated
- letterAll articles must be written in English.The following article will be considered for publication and can be submitted via Editorial Manager: Original Communicat…Length not stated
- letters to the editorsLetters to the Editors will be considered describing small studies or case reports of special significance and should not contain more than 2,500 words and 15 r…Length not stated
- neurological updateNeurological Update papers are invited reviews by experts that provide an update in their field of expertise.Length not stated
- original communicationOriginal Communication must not exceed 9,000 words (excluding abstract and keywords, figures, tables, captions and references).Length not stated
- perspectiveAll articles must be written in English.The following article will be considered for publication and can be submitted via Editorial Manager: Original Communicat…Length not stated
- pioneers in neurologyPioneers in Neurology articles have a limit of 1,000 words, 10 references, and 1 portrait figure.Length not stated
- reviewAll articles must be written in English.The following article will be considered for publication and can be submitted via Editorial Manager: Original Communicat…Length not stated
- review articleAll articles must be written in English.The following article will be considered for publication and can be submitted via Editorial Manager: Original Communicat…main text ≤ 12,000 words
- reviewsReview Articles must not exceed 12,000 words (excluding abstract and keywords, figures, tables, captions and references).Length not stated
- short commentaryShort Commentaries highlight new developments in clinical neuroscience and should not contain more than 6,000 words.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Generative AI Images
Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship principles
LLMs do not satisfy authorship criteria Model summary
These guidelines describe authorship principles and good authorship practices to which prospective authors should adhere to. Authorship clarified The Journal and Publisher assume all authors agreed with the content and that all gave explicit consent to submit and that they obtained consent from the responsible authorities at the institute/organization where the work has been carried out, before th…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of interest
Competing interests disclosure Model summary
Authors must indicate whether or not they have a financial relationship with the organization that sponsored the research. This note should be added in a separate section before the reference list. If no conflict exists, authors should state: The authors declare that they have no conflict of interest. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Research data archiving encouraged Model summary
We encourage research data to be archived in data repositories wherever possible.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Ethical standards
Ethics committee approval and Declaration of Helsinki compliance Model summary
Manuscripts submitted for publication must contain a statement to the effect that all human and animal studies have been approved by the appropriate ethics committee and have therefore been performed in accordance with the ethical standards laid down in the 1964 Declaration of Helsinki and its later amendments. It should also be stated clearly in the text that all persons gave their informed conse…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Open Choice articles do not require transfer of copyright as the copyright remains with the author. In opting for open access, the author(s) agree to publish the article under a Creative Commons license. Details of the OA licences offered to authors can be found on the individual journal website, in the journal's How to publish with us guide. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing
To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Journal of Neurology, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Single-blind peer review
Single-blind peer review Model summary
This journal follows a single-blind reviewing procedure. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical Trial Registration
The World Health Organization (WHO) definition of a clinical trial is "any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes". The WHO defines health interventions as “A health intervention is an act performed for, with or on behalf of a person or population whose purpose is to ass…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Berlin Heidelberg
- Country or region
- GERMANY
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1891
- ISSN
- 0340-5354
- Electronic ISSN
- 1432-1459
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Neurology
What CAS zone is Journal of Neurology in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Neurology is in Zone 2 of Medicine, and in Zone 2 of the minor category Clinical Neurology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 2 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Neurology?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 5.39; CiteScore 9.1, h-index 207.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Neurology?
Based on the dates recorded on 132 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 52 days (interquartile range 33–79 days); authors report an average review time of about 1 month; the community-reported acceptance is “about 25%”. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Neurology?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 9,000 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Neurology based?
Of the 33 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (6), United States (5) and Italy (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Neurology?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Neurology is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, Embase, CAS and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Neurology open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Neurology is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 4,790.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .