Journal profile · Social Sciences-Cultural Studies

Journal of Muslim Philanthropy Civil Society

ISSN 2572-6544 · Indiana University Press · United States

Journal of Muslim Philanthropy Civil Society: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 39 weeks (community reports); 16 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartileQ2Cultural Studies · rank 404/1434 · 71st percentile
Review timeabout 39 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year162025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Muslim Philanthropy Civil Society is published by Indiana University Press. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Religion, Society, and Development, Nonprofit Sector and Volunteering and Islamic Finance and Banking Studies, together about 54.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Sociology and Political Science. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

The Journal of Muslim Philanthropy & Civil Society (JMPCS) provides a forum for researchers from around the world to publish timely articles from a variety of disciplinary perspectives.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Social Sciences-Cultural Studies

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Religion, Society, and DevelopmentSocial Sciences26.3%
  2. Nonprofit Sector and VolunteeringSocial Sciences17.9%
  3. Islamic Finance and Banking StudiesBusiness, Management and Accounting10%
  4. Islamic Studies and HistorySocial Sciences5.8%
  5. Religion and Society InteractionsSocial Sciences4.5%
  6. Multiculturalism, Politics, Migration, GenderSocial Sciences3.9%
  7. Islamic Thought and Society StudiesArts and Humanities3.9%
  8. Diaspora, migration, transnational identitySocial Sciences3.4%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)

SubjectQuartileRankPercentile
Cultural StudiesQ2404/143471st
Political Science and International RelationsQ3452/74539th
EducationQ31212/169828th

Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub

Database indexing

ScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

CiteScore 2026-06
1LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.13LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.51LetPub ·
h-index
6OpenAlex ·
i10-index
2OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 160 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202614145
2025161610
2024222212
2023222211
202218187
202116167

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 39 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 39 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY
LetPubNo APCNo—
Publisher websiteNo APC——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≤ 150 words
Keywords
≥ 4
Manuscript length
≤ 8,000 words
Reference style
APA
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Highlights
Optional
Graphical abstract
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted3
  1. book reviewspublishes full length manuscripts, research notes, and book reviewsLength not stated
  2. full length manuscriptspublishes full length manuscripts, research notes, and book reviewsLength not stated
  3. research notespublishes full length manuscripts, research notes, and book reviewsLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteLicense & copyright, Open access, Peer review
License & copyright Copyright Notice

Authors retain copyright. Model summary

Copyright to works published in Journal of Muslim Philanthropy and Civil Society is retained by the author(s). Articles published in this journal are licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License. Journal of Muslim Philanthropy and Civil Society charges no publication fee for authors. Authors are able to enter into separate, additional contractual arrangements for the non…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open Access Policy

Designated Archival Repository Model summary

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer Review Process

No duplicate submission or previously published work. Model summary

Journal of Muslim Philanthropy and Civil Society is a peer-reviewed publication. The journal follows a double-blind peer review process and articles are chosen for their originality, appropriateness, and rigor of analysis.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Indiana University Press
Country or region
United States
Language
English
ISSN
2572-6544
Latest issue on the website
Volume 10, Issue 1 (2026)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Muslim Philanthropy Civil Society

How long does peer review take at Journal of Muslim Philanthropy Civil Society?

Authors report an average review time of about 39 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Muslim Philanthropy Civil Society?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 150 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 8,000 words; Reference style: APA; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Journal of Muslim Philanthropy Civil Society?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Muslim Philanthropy Civil Society is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Journal of Muslim Philanthropy Civil Society open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Muslim Philanthropy Civil Society is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .