Journal profile · ORTHOPEDICS
Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research
ISSN 2589-1219 · eISSN 2589-1227 · Scientific Scholar
Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2026 Xinrui edition); impact factor 0.6 (journal website); subscription journal; no APC; 87 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research is published by Scientific Scholar and is classed under Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Orthopedic Surgery and Rehabilitation, Bone fractures and treatments and Total Knee Arthroplasty Outcomes, together about 21.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The journal is an Open Access online journal, and with the help of the experienced international editorial board, the journal aims to provide a complete and reliable source of information about the latest research and developments in the field of musculoskeletal research and contribute towards the improvement of quality of health care. The journal aims to provide a platform for the exchange of new clinical and scientific information in the most precise and expeditious way on disorders related to the musculoskeletal system, which includes research from Orthopedic and Spine surgeons, Rheumatologists, Basic Scientists, Rehabilitation and Physiotherapy specialist, Orthopedic Nursing and Educationists. The journal will be essential reading for professionals and researchers who wish to keep abreast of the latest developments in the field. The journal publishes all types of papers; editorials, systematic reviews, narrative reviews, original research, basic science and experimental research, surgical tips and techniques, case reports, book reviews, letters to editors, clinical practice guidelines, and orthopedic training and educational research.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): ORTHOPEDICS
Editor-in-chief Khalid I. KhoshhalPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named Saudi Arabia 9, United Kingdom 4, Brazil 2, Egypt 2, India 1 (19 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine8.5%
- Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine6.9%
- Total Knee Arthroplasty OutcomesMedicine5.7%
- Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine5.6%
- Orthopaedic implants and arthroplastyMedicine5.2%
- Spine and Intervertebral Disc PathologyMedicine4.9%
- Elbow and Forearm Trauma TreatmentMedicine4.2%
- Hip and Femur FracturesMedicine4.2%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Orthopedics | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Google Scholar, Portico, Crossref, Index MedicusPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 0.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 0.7LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 0.7Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.21LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.33LetPub ·
- h-index
- 14OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 25OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.89OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 16.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 98.87%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 70LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 611 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 79 | 74 | 15 |
| 2025 | 87 | 87 | 62 |
| 2024 | 97 | 97 | 158 |
| 2023 | 60 | 60 | 70 |
| 2022 | 46 | 46 | 98 |
| 2021 | 59 | 52 | 204 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal: articles are read by subscription or purchase, and authors usually pay no publication charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 5
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted6
- case reportOriginal Article Abstract: Objectives, Methods, Results, and Conclusion Introduction Material and Methods Results Discussion Conclusion, , collectively not exce…Length not stated
- editorialJournal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research publishes manuscripts in the following categories: Editorial CommentaryOriginal ArticleReview ArticleCase Report…Length not stated
- editorial commentaryJournal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research publishes manuscripts in the following categories: Editorial CommentaryLength not stated
- letters to the editorOriginal Article Abstract: Objectives, Methods, Results, and Conclusion Introduction Material and Methods Results Discussion Conclusion, , collectively not exce…Length not stated
- original articleOriginal Article Abstract: Objectives, Methods, Results, and Conclusion Introduction Material and Methods Results Discussion Conclusion, , collectively not exce…Length not stated
- review articleOriginal Article Abstract: Objectives, Methods, Results, and Conclusion Introduction Material and Methods Results Discussion Conclusion, , collectively not exce…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- Authorship
Author limits: 6 for most, 4 for Case Reports, 2 for Editorials and Letters to the Editor Model summary
The journal prescribes a maximum of six authors for all categories of manuscripts, except for Case Reports having a maximum of four authors, Editorials and Letters to the Editor having a maximum of two authors.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflicts of Interest/Competing Interests
All authors must disclose any and all conflicts of interest they may have with the publication of the manuscript or any institution or product that is mentioned in the manuscript and/or is important to the outcome of the study presented. Authors should also disclose any conflict of interest with products that compete with those mentioned in their manuscript.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data Availability, Sharing, and Linkage
NIH data sharing guidelines for NIH funded researchers Model summary
JMSR is committed to promoting transparency, reproducibility, and responsible data stewardship in orthopedics research. Authors are required to include a Data Availability Statement (DAS) in all submissions, clearly describing where the data supporting the findings of the study can be accessed, under what conditions, and any restrictions that may apply. Authors should deposit all datasets underlyi…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
IRB approval and informed consent required for human and animal studies Model summary
All prospective and retrospective human studies must have appropriate institutional review board approval, and signed informed consent from all human participants is required. All animal studies must have an appropriate institutional review board or animal care committee approval.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright and Open Access Statement
All of the content published in the Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research is protected under the International copyright law, defined by Creative Commons and International Council of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE). The author of an article retains the academic copyright of the content and can self-archive the article. The journal retains the commercial rights of the published content an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Copyright and Open Access Statement
All of the content published in the Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research is protected under the International copyright law, defined by Creative Commons and International Council of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE). The author of an article retains the academic copyright of the content and can self-archive the article. The journal retains the commercial rights of the published content an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review Review Process
Double-blind peer review Model summary
JMSR has a highly rigorous peer-review process that makes sure that manuscripts are scientifically accurate, relevant, novel and important. Authors disclose all conflicts, affiliations and financial associations such that the published content is not biased.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Reporting Guidelines
Reports of randomized clinical trials should present information on all major study elements, including the protocol, assignment of interventions (methods of randomization, concealment of allocation to treatment groups), and the method of masking (blinding), based on the CONSORT Statement. Reporting Guidelines for Specific manuscript types are given below. A statement of compliance with the approp…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Scientific Scholar
- ISSN
- 2589-1219
- Electronic ISSN
- 2589-1227
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research
What CAS zone is Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research in?
In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.6; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 0.7, h-index 14.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≥ 5; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research based?
Of the 19 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Saudi Arabia (9), United Kingdom (4) and Brazil (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Musculoskeletal Surgery and Research is a subscription journal. It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .