Journal profile · DENTISTRY, ORAL SURGERY & MEDICINE
Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery
ISSN 0972-8279 · eISSN 0974-942X · Springer Nature · 4 issues per year
Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 0.7 (journal website); hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,990; median 192 days to acceptance (120 articles, last 24 months); 435 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery is published by Springer Nature and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Facial Trauma and Fracture Management, Dental Radiography and Imaging and Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, together about 27% of its articles. Its main subfields are Oral Surgery and Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
This journal offers comprehensive coverage of new techniques, important developments and innovative ideas in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery. Practice-applicable articles help develop the methods used to handle dentoalveolar surgery, facial injuries and deformities, TMJ disorders, oral cancer, jaw reconstruction, anesthesia and analgesia. The journal also includes specifics on new instruments, diagnostic equipment’s and modern therapeutic drugs and devices. Journal of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is recommended for first or priority subscription by the Dental Section of the Medical Library Association. The Journal of maxillofacial and Oral Surgery promotes United Nations’ Sustainable Development Goals Specific topics covered recently have included: ● distraction osteogenesis ● synthetic bone substitutes ● fibroblast growth factors ● fetal wound healing ● skull base surgery ● computer-assisted surgery ● vascularized bone grafts Benefits to authors We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): DENTISTRY, ORAL SURGERY & MEDICINE
Editor-in-chief Sonal Anchlia MDSPublisher website
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named India 75, United Kingdom 6, United States 3, Germany 2, Netherlands 2 (91 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Facial Trauma and Fracture ManagementMedicine10.3%
- Dental Radiography and ImagingDentistry9.1%
- Oral and Maxillofacial PathologyDentistry7.6%
- Orthodontics and Dentofacial OrthopedicsDentistry6.5%
- Temporomandibular Joint DisordersHealth Professions5.8%
- Cleft Lip and Palate ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.7%
- Reconstructive Facial Surgery TechniquesMedicine4.7%
- Reconstructive Surgery and Microvascular TechniquesMedicine4.7%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
Database indexing
ESCIScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Google Scholar, EBSCO, ProQuest, Dimensions, CNKI, Baidu, Naver, OCLC, Portico, CLOCKSS, Semantic ScholarPublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 0.7Publisher website ·
- 5-year impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 1Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.6LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.33LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.67LetPub ·
- h-index
- 51OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 863OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 0.56OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 0%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 5.26%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 413LetPub ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 258,700Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,304 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 412 | 77 | 17 |
| 2025 | 435 | 182 | 219 |
| 2024 | 325 | 215 | 419 |
| 2023 | 238 | 212 | 668 |
| 2022 | 164 | 153 | 628 |
| 2021 | 187 | 165 | 1,427 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
192 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 109 days – 342 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 25 days (120 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 222 days
- Sample
- 120 articles with submission and acceptance dates (923 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Submission to first decision
- 16 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,990 / EUR 2,990 / GBP 2,590 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare5 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- 150–250 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 4
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 2,750 words
- Reference style
- Numbered, in order of citation
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
Article types accepted19
- book reviewOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- book reviewsBook reviews:by invitation only.Length not stated
- case reportOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- editorialOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- letterOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- letters to editorLetters to editor:Word limit 400, 3 references and 1 figure or table.Length not stated
- meta-analysisOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- mini reviewOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- mini reviews/ leading articles/ clinical focusMini reviews/ Leading articles/ Clinical focus:Word limit 2500, up to 40 references and up to 6 figures or tables. By invitation only.Length not stated
- original researchOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- original research/comparative study/clinical paperOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables.Length not stated
- perspectiveOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- reviewOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- review papers (invited or systematic/meta-analysis)Review papers (invited or systematic/meta-analysis):Word limit 4000 including references, abstract 250 words, 50 to 100 references and up to 7 figures or tables…Length not stated
- short communicationOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- short communications/case reportsShort communications/Case reports:Word limit 750, no abstract, 10 references and up to 3 figures or tables. Only exceptional case reports will be considered for…Length not stated
- submissions to perspective sectionSubmissions to perspective section:Word limit 1200, no abstract, 5 references and 1 figure or table.Length not stated
- technical noteOriginal research/Comparative study/Clinical paper:Word limit 2750, abstract 200 words, 25 references and up to 6 figures or tables. Short communications/Case r…Length not stated
- technical notesTechnical notes:Word limit 500, 4 references and up to 4 figures or tables (no composite or multi-part figures). No abstract, introduction or discussion.Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Generative AI Images
LLMs such as ChatGPT do not satisfy authorship criteria; use of an LLM must be documented in the Methods section or a suitable alternative part. Model summary
Please check Springer’s policy on generative AI images and make sure your work adheres to the principles described therein. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Copyright & Authorship
Copyright on all accepted manuscripts will be held by the Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons of India (AOMSI). It is mandatory that the Copyright/Authorship Form is signed by all the authors, expressly transferring copyright to AOMSI in the event the manuscript is accepted for publication. This form must be submitted along with the manuscript on the Editorial Manager. The form can be d…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Disclosures and declarations
Authors must disclose financial or non-financial interests directly or indirectly related to the submitted work. Model summary
All authors are requested to include information regarding sources of funding, financial or non-financial interests, study-specific approval by the appropriate ethics committee for research involving humans and/or animals, informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved animals (as appropriate). The decision whether such …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability
Authors must ensure data, materials, software applications and custom code support their published claims and comply with field standards. Model summary
All authors are requested to make sure that all data and materials as well as software application or custom code support their published claims and comply with field standards.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics Compliance with Ethical Standards
Retrospective ethics approval usually cannot be obtained if approval was not granted before the study commenced; whether to proceed to peer review is at the Editor's discretion. Model summary
To ensure objectivity and transparency in research and to ensure that accepted principles of ethical and professional conduct have been followed, authors should include information regarding sources of funding, potential conflicts of interest (financial or non-financial), informed consent if the research involved human participants, and a statement on welfare of animals if the research involved an…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright & Authorship
Copyright on accepted manuscripts is held by AOMSI; a signed Copyright/Authorship Form transferring copyright to AOMSI is mandatory and must be submitted with the manuscript. Model summary
Copyright on all accepted manuscripts will be held by the Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons of India (AOMSI). It is mandatory that the Copyright/Authorship Form is signed by all the authors, expressly transferring copyright to AOMSI in the event the manuscript is accepted for publication. This form must be submitted along with the manuscript on the Editorial Manager. The form can be d…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open access publishing
To find out more about publishing your work Open Access in Journal of Maxillofacial and Oral Surgery, including information on fees, funding and licences, visit our Open access publishing page. Back to top
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Peer review
Authors may suggest suitable reviewers and/or request exclusion of certain individuals; suggested reviewers must be independent and not connected to the work. Model summary
Authors are welcome to suggest suitable reviewers and/or request the exclusion of certain individuals when they submit their manuscripts. When suggesting reviewers, authors should make sure they are totally independent and not connected to the work in any way.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Plagiarism
The journal may use software to screen for plagiarism. Model summary
Important note: the journal may use software to screen for plagiarism.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical Trial Registration
The World Health Organization (WHO) definition of a clinical trial is "any research study that prospectively assigns human participants or groups of humans to one or more health-related interventions to evaluate the effects on health outcomes". The WHO defines health interventions as “A health intervention is an act performed for, with or on behalf of a person or population whose purpose is to ass…
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Springer Nature
- Frequency
- 4 issues per year
- ISSN
- 0972-8279
- Electronic ISSN
- 0974-942X
- Society / sponsor
- Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons of India
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 25, Issue 4 (August 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery
What CAS zone is Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Dentistry, Oral Surgery & Medicine. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 4 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery?
The journal's website gives an impact factor of 0.7 (2025); this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.6, h-index 51.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery?
Based on the dates recorded on 120 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 192 days (interquartile range 109–342 days). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 150–250 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 2,750 words; Reference style: Numbered, in order of citation; Suggested reviewers: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery based?
Of the 91 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are India (75), United Kingdom (6) and United States (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery is indexed in ESCI and Scopus.
Is Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Maxillofacial & Oral Surgery is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,990.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .