Journal profile

Journal of Marlowe Studies

ISSN 2516-421X · Sheffield Hallam University · United Kingdom

Journal of Marlowe Studies: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 30 weeks (community reports); 15 articles in 2025.

Impact factor—No published value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
CiteScore quartile—No CiteScore rank
Review timeabout 30 weeksCommunity average
APCNo APCDiamond open access (no APC)
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year152025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Marlowe Studies is published by Sheffield Hallam University. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Renaissance Literature and Culture, Shakespeare, Adaptation, and Literary Criticism and Reformation and Early Modern Christianity, together about 66.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Literature and Literary Theory and History. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Scope of the journal Journal of Marlowe Studies publishes peer-reviewed essays on the poems and plays of Christopher Marlowe with the support of both the Marlowe Society (which is based in the UK) and the Marlowe Society of America. We do not accept essays on the so-called authorship question but we welcome scholarly exploration of Marlowe’s works, reviews of relevant books, and reviews of productions of Marlowe’s plays from anywhere in the world. We are also happy to entertain suggestions for guest-edited issues, and will consider film reviews if the question arises. All submissions based on original research, whether in a standard issue or guest-edited special issue, are subject to double-blind peer review by at least two experts in the relevant field. Open Access and copyright policy No charge is made for access to the journal. No charge is made to publish in the journal. From issue 3 articles are published under the CC-BY licence unless otherwise indicated. This licence permits the sharing and re-use of articles as long as appropriate attribution is included. Articles in issues 1-2 were published under the CC-BY-NC-ND licence. Authors retain the copyright for their work. Privacy policy Please see https://www.shu.ac.uk/about-this-website/privacy-policy for full details of the University's privacy policy.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Renaissance Literature and CultureArts and Humanities33.9%
  2. Shakespeare, Adaptation, and Literary CriticismArts and Humanities21.8%
  3. Reformation and Early Modern ChristianityArts and Humanities10.3%
  4. Theatre and Performance StudiesArts and Humanities7.5%
  5. Libraries, Manuscripts, and BooksArts and Humanities4.6%
  6. Literature: history, themes, analysisArts and Humanities2.3%
  7. Medieval Literature and HistoryArts and Humanities1.7%
  8. Translation Studies and PracticesArts and Humanities1.7%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

h-index
2OpenAlex ·
i10-index
0OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0.05OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 62 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202611112
202515157
202411112
202310102
2022002
2021771

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 30 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 30 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Diamond open access (no APC)DOAJ

Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJNo APCNoCC BY
LetPubNo APCNo—

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
Manuscript length
≤ 7,000 words
Reference style
Chicago
Not considered
material generated by artificial intelligence; discussion of the so-called authorship question; ad hominem attacks
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted3
  1. book reviewsWe accept original research articles, theatre reviews and book reviews.Length not stated
  2. original research articlesWe accept original research articles, theatre reviews and book reviews.Length not stated
  3. theatre reviewsWe accept original research articles, theatre reviews and book reviews.Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, License & copyright, Peer review
AI use

AI-generated material will not be published; use of LLMs must be declared upon submission. Model summary

We will not publish material that has been generated by, or that we suspect has been generated by, artificial intelligence, whether fully or in part. Where authors have used LLMs to aid their research or assist in the editing of their work, we require that this be declared upon submission of the work, with an explanation of the nature and purpose of the use.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright

Authors retain copyright; CC-BY licence. Model summary

Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under the Creative Commons-Attribution (CC-BY) licence.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review

Double-blind peer review. Model summary

Articles will be subject to double-blind peer review.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Sheffield Hallam University
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
2516-421X
Latest issue on the website
Volume 5 (2025)
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Marlowe Studies

How long does peer review take at Journal of Marlowe Studies?

Authors report an average review time of about 30 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Marlowe Studies?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Manuscript length: ≤ 7,000 words; Reference style: Chicago. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Which databases index Journal of Marlowe Studies?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Marlowe Studies is indexed in DOAJ.

Is Journal of Marlowe Studies open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Marlowe Studies is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .