Journal profile · Health Professions-Health Professions (miscellaneous)
Journal of LongTerm Care
ISSN 2516-9122 · LSE Press · United Kingdom
Journal of LongTerm Care: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 33 weeks (community reports); 27 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus; the journal's website says it has moved to a new publisher.
The journal's website says it has moved to a new publisher: The Journal of Long-Term Care is now published by LSE Press Source ↗Publisher website ·
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of LongTerm Care is published by LSE Press. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Geriatric Care and Nursing Homes, Aging, Elder Care, and Social Issues and Healthcare innovation and challenges, together about 53.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are General Health Professions. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
JLTC is an international open-access resource to promote the use of the latest high-quality research evidence to support improving long-term care policy and practice. While societies face many challenges to long-term care, such as changing demographics, there has been no journal focused specifically on providing an evidence base to support them in addressing these. Work has been scattered across many journals and disciples. JLTC aims to fill this gap by providing an international focus for long-term care. The editorial board welcomes submissions of high quality, original articles relating to all aspects of long-term care for adults. We welcome papers from across and crossing disciplines, including (and not limited to) economics, social work, psychology, history, sociology and social policy. International comparative work is also welcome. This scope includes empirical papers and theoretical discussions relevant to policy and practice, and methodological papers about improving methods in social care research. We also welcome perspectives papers offering discussion of important issues for long-term care and commentaries on important areas of policy.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Health Professions-Health Professions (miscellaneous)
Editorial board by country: none in mainland China; most named United Kingdom 14, Hong Kong, China 2, Sweden 2, United States 1, Japan 1 (27 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Geriatric Care and Nursing HomesHealth Professions35.5%
- Aging, Elder Care, and Social IssuesHealth Professions9.1%
- Healthcare innovation and challengesSocial Sciences8.5%
- Dementia and Cognitive Impairment ResearchMedicine4.2%
- Palliative Care and End-of-Life IssuesMedicine4.2%
- Intergenerational Family Dynamics and CaregivingSocial Sciences4%
- Health Policy Implementation ScienceHealth Professions3.6%
- Aging, Health, and DisabilityMedicine3.4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Health Professions (miscellaneous) | Q2 | 33/101 | 67th |
| Health (social science) | Q3 | 226/387 | 41st |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of SciencePublisher website
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 1.9LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.42LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.68LetPub ·
- h-index
- 18OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 32OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.43OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 221 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 26 | 26 | 263 |
| 2025 | 27 | 27 | 298 |
| 2024 | 39 | 39 | 245 |
| 2023 | 31 | 31 | 188 |
| 2022 | 25 | 25 | 187 |
| 2021 | 39 | 39 | 110 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 33 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 33 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — | |
| Publisher website | No APC | — | — |
Other charges and waivers (author guidelines)
- Other fees
- No other fees
- Page charges
- No page charges
- Submission fee
- No submission fee
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 250 words
- Keywords
- ≤ 6
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 5,000 words
- Reference style
- Harvard
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted8, with length limits
- conference paperAuthor, A Year Title of chaper. In: Title of conference proceedings, location, date, pp. Page. Lynch, M (2003) Dialogue in an age of terror. In: The Annual Meet…Length not stated
- empirical papersIts range includes empirical papers and theoretical discussions relevant to policy and practice, methodological papers about improving methods in social care re…Length not stated
- linked, short debate (point/counterpoint) articlesOther formats such as longer or shorter articles, and linked, short debate (point/counterpoint) articles are encouraged.Length not stated
- methodological papersIts range includes empirical papers and theoretical discussions relevant to policy and practice, methodological papers about improving methods in social care re…Length not stated
- original articlesOriginal articles are considered on any aspect of long-term care practice, research, policy, theory, systems of care, methods and education.Length not stated
- perspectiveommenting on policy for long-term care. Perspectives papers we would normally expect to be up to 3,000 words, but will accept longer papers if justified. Other …main text ≤ 3,000 words · abstract ≤ 200 words
- perspectives papersWe also accept perspectives papers discussing important issues and/or commenting on policy for long-term care.Length not stated
- theoretical discussionsIts range includes empirical papers and theoretical discussions relevant to policy and practice, methodological papers about improving methods in social care re…Length not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Self-archiving
- AI use
AI use must be disclosed in Acknowledgments. Model summary
Any use of AI, a language model, machine learning, or similar tools to create or assist with creation or editing of any of the content in this submission (eg, text, tables, figures, video) has been disclosed in the Acknowledgments section of the manuscript
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship and LSE's Publishing Ethics Policy
No APC or submission fees. Model summary
Authorship of papers should be guided by the LSE Press Publishing Ethics Policy and by existing good practice such as the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. In the ICMJE guidelines, authorship is defined as satisfying all 4 of the following points: Substantial contributions to the conception or design of the work; or the acquisition, analysis, or interpretation of data for the wor…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics
Ethics approval (or statement of not required) required in file. Model summary
Research has been approved by an appropriate ethics committee, with the name of the committee and reference number of approval included within the submitted file. Otherwise, a statement that ethics approval was not required has been added to the file.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright
Copyright retained by authors; CC BY-NC-ND license (CC BY where funder requires). Model summary
Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives License that allows others to share the work with an acknowledgement of the work's authorship and initial publication in this journal. Where the funder requires it, articles can be licensed under a Creative Commons Attrib…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access Open Access Policy
ORCID required for corresponding author; recommended for co-authors. Model summary
This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that making research freely available to the public supports a greater global exchange of knowledge. There is no embargo on the journal’s publications. Each article sets out the date of submission and acceptance. Authors retain copyright and grant the journal right of first publication with the work simultaneously licensed…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Self-archiving
Green OA / self-archiving permitted prior to and during submission. Model summary
Authors are permitted and encouraged to post their work online (e.g., in institutional repositories or on their website) prior to and during the submission process
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- LSE Press
- Country or region
- United Kingdom
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2516-9122
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗Publisher website
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of LongTerm Care
How long does peer review take at Journal of LongTerm Care?
Authors report an average review time of about 33 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of LongTerm Care?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 250 words; Keywords: ≤ 6; Manuscript length: ≤ 5,000 words; Reference style: Harvard; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of LongTerm Care based?
Of the 27 board members whose country the journal's board page names, none are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United Kingdom (14), Hong Kong, China (2) and Sweden (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of LongTerm Care?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of LongTerm Care is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of LongTerm Care open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of LongTerm Care is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .