Journal profile · Medicine-Surgery

Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online

ISSN 2589-5141 · Elsevier · United States

Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online: impact factor 2.4 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,500; median 44 days to acceptance (92 articles, last 24 months); 214 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.

Impact factor2.4From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
Review time44 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · 92 articles, last 24 months · PubMed
APCUSD 2,500Fully open access
Acceptance—No reports yet
Articles per year2142025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online is published by Elsevier. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Orthopedic Surgery and Rehabilitation, Peripheral Nerve Disorders and Elbow and Forearm Trauma Treatment, together about 49.2% of its articles. Its main subfields are Surgery. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Official Journal of the American Society for Surgery of the HandThe Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online (JHS GO) is an open access companion title to Journal of Hand Surgery . It is a clinically-oriented, peer-reviewed, international forum for the latest techniques and advances in hand and upper extremity surgery. Published six times per year, it features original articles related to the pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases and conditions of the upper extremity; these include clinical and basic science studies and systematic reviews along with brief communications, case reports, review articles, surgical technique articles, policy papers and guidelines, and letters to the editor. JHS GO is online-only, though reprints of articles may be purchased from Elsevier.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Surgery

Editor-in-chief John FowlerPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 3%); most named United States 15, Canada 5, Argentina 3, Vietnam 2, Mainland China 1 (34 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Orthopedic Surgery and RehabilitationMedicine27.6%
  2. Peripheral Nerve DisordersMedicine11.5%
  3. Elbow and Forearm Trauma TreatmentMedicine10.1%
  4. Foot and Ankle SurgeryMedicine5.3%
  5. Bone fractures and treatmentsMedicine5.3%
  6. Shoulder Injury and TreatmentMedicine5.1%
  7. Nerve Injury and RehabilitationMedicine4.9%
  8. Congenital limb and hand anomaliesBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology3.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
2.4Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
1.9LetPub ·
CiteScore (publisher)
1.9Publisher website ·
SJR 2026-06
0.61LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
0.98LetPub ·
h-index
23OpenAlex ·
i10-index
124OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
1.34OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
0%LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 1,144 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202622122119
2025214214158
2024191191661
2023158158707
2022133133884
20218484474

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with PubMed · to

44 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 20 days – 61 days

Acceptance to online
median 50 days (93 articles)
Submission to online
median 97 days
Sample
92 articles with submission and acceptance dates (488 in the window); the latest was accepted on

Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".

Other sources

Average review time (community reports)
about 12 weeksLetPub ·
Submission to first decision
11 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to acceptance
43 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 19 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,500YesCC BY, CC BY-NC-ND
OpenAlexUSD 2,500 / EUR 2,340 / GBP 2,000 / JPY 310,080——
LetPubUSD 2,000Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 3,000——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

Article types accepted11, with length limits
  1. brief communicationBrief Communications are preliminary reports that are not yet mature enough to be considered as full length articles, yet are still of interest to JHS GO's read…main text ≤ 300 words · abstract ≤ 300 words · references ≤ 10
  2. case reportIn sections identified as Introduction, Case Report, and Discussion and in fewer than 1,500 words, introduce the topic, present the case, and discuss its novmain text ≤ 1,500 words · abstract ≤ 150 words
  3. full length article (basic science)Full Length Article (Basic Science)Length not stated
  4. full length article (clinical)Full Length Article (Clinical)Length not stated
  5. letter to the editorLetter to the EditorLength not stated
  6. letters to the editorLetters to the Editor may be independent observations, or they may relate to a previously published article. Letters must not duplicate information submitted el…main text ≤ 300 words · references ≤ 5
  7. policy paper/guidelinesPolicy Paper/GuidelinesLength not stated
  8. review articlecs in hand and upper extremity surgery. Review articles should be no more than 3,000 words and include a one-paragraph abstract. Articles must have nomain text ≤ 3,000 words · references ≤ 20
  9. review: current conceptsReview: Current ConceptsLength not stated
  10. review: the hand surgery landscapeReview: The Hand Surgery LandscapeLength not stated
  11. surgical techniqueSurgical TechniqueLength not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Preprints
AI use Declaration of generative AI use

Authors must declare the use of generative AI tools in the manuscript preparation process upon submission of the paper.Generative AI and AI-assisted technologies (“AI tools”) have been rapidly adopted in research and scholarly publishing, offering significant benefits while requiring clear standards for responsible and transparent use.Authors preparing a manuscript for this journal may use AI tool…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Authorship Group authorship

Group authorship refers to the attribution of an article to a defined and named group of authors whose members have contributed to the work. Examples include research consortia, clinical trial groups, collaborative networks, task forces or working groups, expert panels or consensus groups, and participatory research groups. Group authorship must be declared on the title page at submission. When av…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Conflicts of interest Declaration of competing interests

All authors must disclose any financial and personal relationships with other people or organizations that could inappropriately influence or bias their work. Examples of potential competing interests include:EmploymentConsultanciesStock ownershipHonorariaPaid expert testimonyPatent applications or registrationsGrants or any other fundingAffiliation with the journal as an Editor or Advisory Board …

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics

Ethics in publishing Model summary

Authors must follow ethical guidelines stated in Elsevier's Publishing Ethics Policy.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright License options

Authors will be offered open access user license options which will determine how you, and third parties, can reuse your open access article. We advise that you review these options and any funding body license requirements before selecting a license option.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Open access

We refer you to our open access information page to learn about open access options for this journal.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review

Double anonymized peer review process Model summary

This journal follows a double anonymized review process. Your submission will initially be assessed by our editors. If your submission is deemed suitable, it will typically be sent to be reviewed by a minimum of two reviewers for an independent expert assessment of the scientific quality. The decision as to whether your article is accepted or rejected for publication will be made by our editors.Re…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

Preprint sharing allowed Model summary

Preprint sharingAuthors may share preprints in line with Elsevier's article sharing policy. Sharing preprints, such as on a preprint server, will not count as prior publication.We advise you to read our policy on multiple, redundant or concurrent publication.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
Elsevier
Country or region
United States
Language
English
ISSN
2589-5141
Society / sponsor
American Society for Surgery of the Hand
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online

What is the impact factor of Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 2.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 1.9, h-index 23.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online?

Based on the dates recorded on 92 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 44 days (interquartile range 20–61 days); authors report an average review time of about 12 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online based?

Of the 34 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 3%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (15), Canada (5) and Argentina (3). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ.

Is Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Hand Surgery Global Online is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,500.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-26). Last updated: .