Journal profile · NEUROSCIENCES

Journal of Experimental Neuroscience

ISSN 1179-0695 · SAGE Publishing · United Kingdom

Journal of Experimental Neuroscience: impact factor 3.5 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,650; review about 8 weeks (community reports); acceptance rate 38.1% (journal website); 3 articles a year.

Impact factor3.5From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zone—Not in the CAS Journal Ranking
Review timeabout 8 weeksCommunity average
APCUSD 2,650Fully open access
Acceptance38.1%From the journal's website
Articles per year3LetPub annual count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Experimental Neuroscience is published by SAGE Publishing. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology Research, Neurogenesis and neuroplasticity mechanisms and Neural dynamics and brain function, together about 27.1% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Neuroscience Insights publishes rigorous, mechanistic studies spanning molecular, cellular, systems, and cognitive neuroscience. The journal prioritizes both fundamental and translational studies providing mechanistic insights in a wide range of topics, including neural … | View full journal description This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE).Meet our Editorial Board.

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): NEUROSCIENCES

Editor-in-chief Michel CayouettePublisher website

Editorial board by country: 5 in mainland China (about 11%); most named United States 20, Mainland China 5, Canada 4, India 3, Germany 2 (45 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Neuroscience and Neuropharmacology ResearchNeuroscience13.1%
  2. Neurogenesis and neuroplasticity mechanismsNeuroscience7.4%
  3. Neural dynamics and brain functionNeuroscience6.6%
  4. Neuroinflammation and Neurodegeneration MechanismsNeuroscience6.6%
  5. Neurobiology and Insect Physiology ResearchNeuroscience5.3%
  6. Circadian rhythm and melatoninNeuroscience4.9%
  7. Traumatic Brain Injury ResearchMedicine4.5%
  8. Traumatic Brain Injury and Neurovascular DisturbancesMedicine4.5%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

DOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

ESCIScopusPMCPublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
3.5Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
3.4Publisher website ·
h-index
35OpenAlex ·
i10-index
115OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
0OpenAlex ·
Share of gold OA articles
97.56%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year (publisher)
3Publisher website ·

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 8 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
38.1%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
10 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
31 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 8 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Single anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,650YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 1,500——
LetPubUSD 2,650Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 3,200——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare3 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
250–300 words
Keywords
≥ 5
Reference style
AMA
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted10, with length limits
  1. brief reportView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  2. commentaryView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…main text ≤ 1,000 words · abstract ≤ 200 words · references ≤ 10
  3. hypothesisView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  4. letters to the editorView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  5. original articleView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  6. original researchView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  7. protocolView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  8. research paperView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  9. research reportView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…Length not stated
  10. reviewView our Special Collections currently accepting submissions. Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or video abstrac…main text ≤ 150 words · abstract ≤ 150 words · references ≤ 150
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Author contributions

You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
License & copyright

Manuscript content licensed under Creative Commons Licenses Model summary

Manuscript content on this site is licensed under Creative Commons Licenses

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

Neuroscience Insights is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of publishing, paid by the fun…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Single-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE Publishing
Country or region
United Kingdom
Language
English
ISSN
1179-0695
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Experimental Neuroscience

What is the impact factor of Journal of Experimental Neuroscience?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3.5; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; h-index 35.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Experimental Neuroscience?

Authors report an average review time of about 8 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 38.1%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Experimental Neuroscience?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: 250–300 words; Keywords: ≥ 5; Reference style: AMA. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Experimental Neuroscience based?

Of the 45 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 5 (about 11%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (20), Mainland China (5) and Canada (4). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Experimental Neuroscience?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Experimental Neuroscience is indexed in DOAJ. The journal's website also lists ESCI, Scopus and PMC; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Journal of Experimental Neuroscience open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Experimental Neuroscience is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,650.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .