Journal profile · INTEGRATIVE & COMPLEMENTARY MEDICINE

Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine

ISSN 2515-690X · SAGE Publishing · United States

Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.4 (journal website); fully open access; APC about USD 2,000; review about 15 weeks (community reports); acceptance rate 7.6% (journal website); 22 articles in 2025; indexed in ESCI and Scopus.

Impact factor3.4From the journal's website, latest value
CAS zoneZone 4 · Medicine2025 upgraded edition, major category · 2026 Xinrui edition Zone 3 · Medicine
Review timeabout 15 weeksCommunity average
APCUSD 2,000Fully open access
Acceptance7.6%From the journal's website
Articles per year222025 · OpenAlex count

Scope

Aims, scope and focus

Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine is published by SAGE Publishing and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Complementary and Alternative Medicine Studies, Ethnobotanical and Medicinal Plants Studies and Natural Antidiabetic Agents Studies, together about 28.7% of its articles. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)

Journal HighlightsIndexed In: Emerging Sources Citation Index (ESCI), Medline, PubMed, and ScopusPublication is subject to payment of an article processing charge (APC)Submit hereJournal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine (JEBIM) is a peer-reviewed open access journal which focuses on hypothesis-driven and evidence-based research in all fields integrative medicine. Please see the Aims and Scope tab for further information.This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Submission InformationSubmit your manuscript today at http://mc.manuscriptcentral.com/JEBIM. Please see the Submission Guidelines tab for more information on how to submit your article to the journal.Open access article processing charge (APC) informationPublication in the journal is subject to payment of an article processing charge (APC). The APC serves to support the journal and ensures that articles are freely accessible online in perpetuity under a Creative Commons license.The article processing charge (APC) is $2400.The article processing charge (APC) is payable when a manuscript is accepted after peer review, before it is published. The APC is subject to taxes where applicable. Please see further details here.ContactPlease direct any queries to Kristina.Moulton@sagepub.comThis journal was previously known as Journal of Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine (JEBCAM). It combined with Integrative Medicine Insights at the end of 2017.Why Publish Open Access in JEBIMVisibility and Impact: Anyone anywhere in the world can read, use and cite your researchRigorous Standards: Double-blind peer review policyFlexibility: No page limits or page charges, and authors can publish full data sets, figures, tables, etcCopyright: Authors retain copyright under a Creative Commons LicenseUseful LinksSubmission PageSAGE Open Access Main PageSAGE Open Access FAQsContact the Editorial Office: Kristina.Moulton@sagepub.com

From the journal's Aims & Scope

Research area (LetPub): INTEGRATIVE & COMPLEMENTARY MEDICINE

Editor-in-chief Christopher ChangPublisher website

Editorial board by country: 2 in mainland China (about 5%); most named United States 31, Mainland China 2, United Kingdom 2, Canada 2, Iran 2 (42 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·

Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate

  1. Complementary and Alternative Medicine StudiesMedicine12.2%
  2. Ethnobotanical and Medicinal Plants StudiesAgricultural and Biological Sciences8.3%
  3. Natural Antidiabetic Agents StudiesMedicine8.3%
  4. Essential Oils and Antimicrobial ActivityAgricultural and Biological Sciences6.7%
  5. Mindfulness and Compassion InterventionsPsychology6.7%
  6. Acupuncture Treatment Research StudiesMedicine5.5%
  7. Pharmacological Effects of Natural CompoundsPharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics4.3%
  8. Phytochemicals and Antioxidant ActivitiesMedicine3.9%

Rankings & indexing

CAS ranking and database indexing

CAS Journal Ranking

CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 4
MinorIntegrative & Complementary MedicineZone 4

Top journal: noReview journal: no

CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
LevelCategoryZone
MajorMedicineZone 3
MinorIntegrative & Complementary MedicineZone 3

Top journal: noReview journal: not marked

CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered

Not covered by this edition.

Database indexing

ESCIScopusDOAJLetPub

International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub

Indexing the journal's website claims

MEDLINEPubMedPublisher website

As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.

Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.

Metrics

Impact metrics and publication volume

Impact

Impact factor (publisher)
3.4Publisher website ·
5-year impact factor (publisher)
3.9Publisher website ·
CiteScore 2026-06
6.7LetPub ·
SJR 2026-06
0.61LetPub ·
SNIP 2026-06
1.3LetPub ·
h-index
33OpenAlex ·
i10-index
122OpenAlex ·
2-year mean citedness
2.32OpenAlex ·
Self-citation rate
0%LetPub ·
Share of gold OA articles
100%LetPub ·

Volume

Articles per year
19LetPub ·

Articles by year OpenAlex count · 221 in total · the current year is incomplete

YearArticlesOpen accessCitations
202613133
2025222237
2024151576
20231616217
20222222401
20213030512

Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.

Review & acceptance

Review time and acceptance

Average review time (community reports)
about 15 weeksLetPub ·
Acceptance rate (publisher)
7.6%Publisher website ·
Submission to first decision
14 daysPublisher website ·
Acceptance to publication
20 daysPublisher website ·
Submission to publication (journal-reported)
about 15 weeksDOAJ ·
Peer review
Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ

Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.

Fees & open access

APC and open-access policy

Fully open accessDOAJ

Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).

SourceAPCFee waiverLicenseObserved
DOAJUSD 2,000YesCC BY, CC BY-NC
OpenAlexUSD 2,000——
LetPubUSD 2,000Yes—
Publisher websiteUSD 2,400——

The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.

Submission

Article types and submission policies (journal website)

What to prepare8 items from the author guidelines
Abstract
≥ 150 words
Keywords
≥ 4
Manuscript length
≤ 1,500 words
Reference style
AMA
Templates
LaTeX and Word
First submission
Free format: the journal's layout is not required
Suggested reviewers
Optional
Cover letter
Required
Publisher website · model-extracted, each line checked against the text
Article types accepted15, with length limits
  1. book reviewhttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  2. brief communicationhttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…main text ≤ 1,500 words
  3. case reporthttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  4. commentaryhttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  5. correspondencehttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  6. editorialhttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  7. letter to the editorhttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  8. letters to the editorhttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  9. original articlehttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  10. original paperhttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  11. original researchhttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  12. original research articlehttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  13. research paperhttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
  14. research reviewsResearch Reviews: Reviews should be a detailed examination of literature, which includes the benefits, and drawbacks of a medicine, therapeutic technique, or an…Length not stated
  15. reviewhttps://journals.sagepub.com/page/chp/collections/call-for-papers/index Please visit the Sage Journal Author Gateway for guidance on producing visual and/or vid…Length not stated
Publisher website
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Data availability, Publication ethics, Open access, Peer review, Plagiarism, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
Authorship Author contributions

You will be asked to list the contribution of each author as part of the submission process. Please include the Author Contributions heading within your submission after the Acknowledgements section. The information you give on submission will then show under the Author Contributions heading later at the proofing stage.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Data availability Data availability

The Journal is committed to facilitating openness, transparency and reproducibility of research, and has the following research data sharing policy. For more information, including FAQs please visit the Sage Research Data policy pages. Subject to appropriate ethical and legal considerations, authors are encouraged to: Share your research data in a relevant public data repository Include a data ava…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Publication ethics Ethical considerations

Please include your ethics approval statements under this heading, even if you have already included ethics approval information in your methods section. If ethical approval was not required, you need to explicitly state this. All papers reporting studies involving human participants, human data or human tissue must state that the relevant Ethics Committee or Institutional Review Board approved th…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Open access Publishing fees and open access

Open access under Creative Commons license. Model summary

Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine is an open access, peer-reviewed journal. All accepted articles are made freely available online immediately upon publication, are published under a Creative Commons license, and hosted online in perpetuity. If, after peer review, your manuscript is accepted for publication, a one-time article processing charge (APC) is payable to cover the cost of pu…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Peer review Peer review policy

All submissions (including invited material) are subjected to peer review. Model summary

The following summary describes the peer review process for this journal: Identity transparency: Double-anonymized Reviewer interacts with: Editor Review information published: None Your manuscript will undergo an initial evaluation. If it does not conform to the requirements laid out in these guidelines, it will be returned to you for amendments prior to peer review. Manuscripts may be desk rejec…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Plagiarism Plagiarism

The journal and Sage take issues of copyright infringement, plagiarism or other breaches of best practice in publication very seriously. Please read Sage's complete policy on plagiarism and the actions we may take.

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Preprints Preprints

The journal will consider submissions of manuscripts that have been posted on preprint servers. Please enter the preprint DOI in the designated field when submitting your manuscript. We advise that you inform the Journal Editorial office about your posted preprint at submission. Note that you should not post an updated version of your manuscript on a preprint server while it is being peer reviewed…

Source ↗Publisher website ·
Trial registration / reporting guidelines Clinical trial registration

The journal conforms to the ICMJE requirement that clinical trials are registered in a WHO-approved public trials registry at or before the time of first participant enrollment as a condition of consideration for publication. The trial registry name and URL, and registration number must be included at the end of the abstract.

Source ↗Publisher website ·

Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.

Profile

Publication details and official links

Publisher
SAGE Publishing
Country or region
United States
Language
English
ISSN
2515-690X
Official links

FAQ

Frequently asked questions about Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine

What CAS zone is Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine in?

In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Integrative & Complementary Medicine. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.

What is the impact factor of Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine?

The journal's website gives an impact factor of 3.4; this is the journal's own figure, as LetPub lists none for it; CiteScore 6.7, h-index 33.

How long does peer review take at Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine?

Authors report an average review time of about 15 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 7.6%. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.

What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine?

According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≥ 150 words; Keywords: ≥ 4; Manuscript length: ≤ 1,500 words; Reference style: AMA; Templates: LaTeX and Word; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.

Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine based?

Of the 42 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 2 (about 5%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are United States (31), Mainland China (2) and United Kingdom (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.

Which databases index Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine?

According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine is indexed in ESCI, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE and PubMed; that list has not been checked against each database.

Is Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine open access, and what is the APC?

Journal of Evidence-Based Integrative Medicine is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 2,000.

Sources and updates

The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .