Journal profile · Computer Science-Computer Science (miscellaneous)
Journal of Edge Computing
ISSN 2837-181X · Academy of Cognitive and Natural Sciences · Ukraine
Journal of Edge Computing: diamond open access (no APC); no APC; review about 10 weeks (community reports); 13 articles in 2025; indexed in Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Edge Computing is published by Academy of Cognitive and Natural Sciences. By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are IoT and Edge/Fog Computing, Energy Efficiency in Computing and Internet of Things and AI, together about 50.9% of its articles. Its main subfields are Computer Networks and Communications. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Edge Computing (JEC, J. Edge Comp., J. Edge Comput.) is a Diamond Open Access peer-reviewed journal covering the science, theories, and practice of IoT, distributed systems, and edge computing. JEC considers scientific research on using and applying edge computing in various fields: education, science, medicine, architecture, etc. The journal also considers the publication of work on systematic reviews and meta-analyses, the structure of which meets the journal's requirements.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Computer Science-Computer Science (miscellaneous)
Editorial board by country: 1 in mainland China (about 4%); most named Ukraine 5, Argentina 3, United States 2, United Kingdom 2, Italy 2 (26 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- IoT and Edge/Fog ComputingComputer Science25.4%
- Energy Efficiency in ComputingComputer Science13.2%
- Internet of Things and AIComputer Science12.3%
- Arduino and IoT ApplicationsEngineering8.8%
- Advanced Neural Network ApplicationsComputer Science6.1%
- Cloud Computing and Resource ManagementComputer Science5.3%
- Network Security and Intrusion DetectionComputer Science3.5%
- Distributed and Parallel Computing SystemsComputer Science2.6%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Not covered
Not covered by this edition.
CiteScore quartiles (Scopus, June 2026 release)
| Subject | Quartile | Rank | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science (miscellaneous) | Q1 | 32/179 | 82nd |
| Computer Networks and Communications | Q1 | 107/568 | 81st |
| Hardware and Architecture | Q1 | 51/245 | 79th |
| Artificial Intelligence | Q1 | 132/570 | 76th |
Scopus ranks journals by CiteScore within each subject: the 75th percentile and above is Q1, then a quartile every 25 points. A different system from the CAS zones.LetPub
Database indexing
ScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
DBLPPublisher website
Other: Google Scholar, J-Gate, Scilit, OCLC, Crossref
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 7.8LetPub ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.46LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 0.66LetPub ·
- h-index
- 12OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 15OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 8.38OpenAlex ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 0%LetPub ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 56 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 6 | 6 | 140 |
| 2025 | 13 | 13 | 115 |
| 2024 | 15 | 15 | 145 |
| 2023 | 15 | 15 | 26 |
| 2022 | 6 | 6 | 1 |
| 2021 | 1 | 1 | 3 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 10 weeksLetPub ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 10 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Double anonymous peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access and authors pay no article processing charge.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | No APC | No | CC BY | |
| LetPub | No APC | No | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare4 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 150 words
- Keywords
- ≥ 3
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Cover letter
- Optional
Article types accepted3
- discussion articlesDiscussion articles should represent the major themeLength not stated
- regular articlesWe propose to use IMRaD for regular articlesLength not stated
- systematic reviewsKey elements for systematic reviews areLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, License & copyright, Open access
- AI use Performance analysis of localised large language models in resource-constrained edge for Python and Rust APIs
Partha Pratim Ray, Mohan Pratap Pradhan 47-89 1459 PDF views 1005
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Copyright Notice
CC BY 4.0 license Model summary
Articles published by this publication are open access under a Creative Commons license that clarifies the authorship, enables the publisher (Academy of Cognitive and Natural Sciences) to publish the articles. By submitting a paper an author and all co-authors are assumed to agree with the terms of the Creative Commons License Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0).
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Open access
Open access under Creative Commons license Model summary
Articles published by this publication are open access under a Creative Commons license
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Academy of Cognitive and Natural Sciences
- Country or region
- Ukraine
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2837-181X
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 5, Issue 1 (2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗LetPub
- Aims & Scope ↗LetPub
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗LetPub
- Editorial board ↗LetPub
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Edge Computing
How long does peer review take at Journal of Edge Computing?
Authors report an average review time of about 10 weeks. Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of Journal of Edge Computing?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 150 words; Keywords: ≥ 3; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Cover letter: Optional. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Edge Computing based?
Of the 26 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 1 (about 4%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Ukraine (5), Argentina (3) and United States (2). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Edge Computing?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Edge Computing is indexed in Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists DBLP; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Edge Computing open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Edge Computing is a diamond open-access journal (no APC). It charges no article processing charge.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, OpenAlex, DOAJ, Publisher website; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-24). Last updated: .