Journal profile · Medicine-Internal Medicine
Journal of Diabetes Investigation
ISSN 2040-1124 · Blackwell Publishing Asia Pty Ltd · Australia
Journal of Diabetes Investigation: CAS Zone 3 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 3.56; fully open access; APC about USD 3,850; median 83 days to acceptance (107 articles, last 24 months); acceptance rate 24% (journal website); 270 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
Journal of Diabetes Investigation is published by Blackwell Publishing Asia Pty Ltd and is in Zone 3 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Diabetes Treatment and Management, Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and Lipoproteins and Diabetes Management and Research, together about 36.8% of its articles. Its main subfields are Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
Journal of Diabetes Investigation is your core diabetes journal from Asia; the official journal of the Asian Association for the Study of Diabetes (AASD). The journal publishes original research, country reports, commentaries, reviews, mini-reviews, case reports, letters, as well as editorials and news. Embracing clinical and experimental research in diabetes and related areas, the Journal of Diabetes Investigation includes aspects of prevention, treatment, as well as molecular aspects and pathophysiology. Translational research focused on the exchange of ideas between clinicians and researchers is also welcome. Journal of Diabetes Investigation is indexed by Science Citation Index Expanded (SCIE).
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Medicine-Internal Medicine
Editor-in-chief Nigishi HottaPublisher website
Editorial board by country: 8 in mainland China (about 9%); most named Japan 39, United States 11, Taiwan, China 9, South Korea 9, Mainland China 8 (92 members with a country) Editorial board ↗Publisher website ·
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Diabetes Treatment and ManagementMedicine14.8%
- Diabetes, Cardiovascular Risks, and LipoproteinsMedicine11.1%
- Diabetes Management and ResearchMedicine11%
- Pancreatic function and diabetesMedicine9.8%
- Diabetes and associated disordersBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology7.1%
- Metabolism, Diabetes, and CancerBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5.4%
- Hyperglycemia and glycemic control in critically ill and hospitalized patientsMedicine4.3%
- Chronic Kidney Disease and DiabetesMedicine4%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Endocrinology & Metabolism | Zone 4 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusDOAJLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
Web of ScienceMEDLINEPubMedEmbasePublisher website
Other: ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 3.56LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher)
- 3.6Publisher website ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 3.6Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 6.3LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher)
- 6.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 6.3Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 1.05LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.08LetPub ·
- h-index
- 30LetPub ·
- h-index
- 95OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 1,445OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 2.87OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8.3%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 100%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 189LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 242Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 863,639Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 3,223 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 236 | 236 | 54 |
| 2025 | 270 | 270 | 562 |
| 2024 | 257 | 257 | 1,575 |
| 2023 | 196 | 196 | 1,534 |
| 2022 | 222 | 222 | 2,491 |
| 2021 | 259 | 259 | 4,029 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
83 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 32 days – 133 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 16 days (107 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 110 days
- Sample
- 107 articles with submission and acceptance dates (560 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- about 25 weeksLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher)
- 24%Publisher website ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 24%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision
- 13 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 13 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 87 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 14 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to publication (journal-reported)
- about 25 weeksDOAJ ·
- Peer review
- Unspecified peer reviewDOAJ
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
Every article is open access; authors usually pay an article processing charge (APC).
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DOAJ | USD 3,850 / GBP 2,420 / EUR 2,810 | Yes | CC BY, CC BY-NC, CC BY-NC-ND | |
| OpenAlex | USD 3,850 / EUR 2,805 / GBP 2,420 | — | — | |
| LetPub | USD 3,850 / GBP 2,420 / EUR 2,805 | Yes | — | |
| Publisher website | Yes, amount not published | — | — |
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
Article types accepted10, with length limits
- case report(3) CASE REPORTLength not stated
- commentarys can track the line of discussion. (5) COMMENTARY [BY INVITATION OR AFTER PROPOSAL OUTLINE] Word limit: 1,500 words excluding references, tables and figures. T…main text ≤ 1,500 words
- editorialgo peer review prior to acceptance. (8) EDITORIAL [BY INVITATION OR AFTER PROPOSAL OUTLINE] Word Limit: 1,600 words. Abstract: No abstract. References: Maximum …main text ≤ 1,600 words
- editorial [by invitation or after proposal outline](8) EDITORIAL [BY INVITATION OR AFTER PROPOSAL OUTLINE]Length not stated
- letter to the editor(4) LETTER TO THE EDITORLength not stated
- mini reviewin the wider context of the field. (6) MINI REVIEW [BY INVITATION OR AFTER PROPOSAL OUTLINE] Word limit: 3,000 words including abstract but excluding references…main text ≤ 3,000 words
- mini review [by invitation or after proposal outline](6) MINI REVIEW [BY INVITATION OR AFTER PROPOSAL OUTLINE]Length not stated
- original articleAssistant. 3. MANUSCRIPT CATEGORIES (1) ORIGINAL ARTICLE Word limit: 4,000 words including title page, abstract but excluding references, tamain text ≤ 4,000 words
- reviewgo peer review prior to acceptance. (7) REVIEW Word limit: 5,000 words including abstract but excluding references, tables and figmain text ≤ 5,000 words
- short report(2) SHORT REPORTLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAuthorship, Conflicts of interest, Publication ethics, Preprints
- Authorship Authorship
Journal of Diabetes Investigation follows the recommendations formulated by the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors regarding criteria for authorship. Accordingly, each person listed as an author or coauthor for a submitted manuscript must meet all four criteria. An author or coauthor shall have:
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest 4. DISCLOSURE
Author should declare any financial support or relationships that may pose conflict of interest in the Covering Letter and Disclosure in all the manuscript including Editorial, Commentary, and Letter to the Editor.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics 5. ETHICAL CONSIDERATIONS
Ethics committee approval and Declaration of Helsinki conformance required Model summary
Authors must state that the protocol for the research project has been approved by a suitably constituted Ethics Committee of the institution within which the work was undertaken and that it conforms to the provisions of the Declaration of Helsinki (as revised in Fortaleza, Brazil, October 2013), available here. The journal retains the right to reject any manuscript on the basis of unethical condu…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints
Preprints considered for review Model summary
JDI will consider for review articles previously available as preprints.
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Blackwell Publishing Asia Pty Ltd
- Country or region
- Australia
- Language
- English
- ISSN
- 2040-1124
- Print ISSN
- 2040-1116
- Society / sponsor
- Asian Association for the Study of Diabetes
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 17, Issue 9 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗LetPub
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Author guidelines ↗DOAJ
- Aims & Scope ↗DOAJ
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
- APC information ↗DOAJ
- Fee waivers ↗DOAJ
- Open access statement ↗DOAJ
- License & copyright ↗DOAJ
- Peer review process ↗DOAJ
- Editorial board ↗DOAJ
- Plagiarism policy ↗DOAJ
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about Journal of Diabetes Investigation
What CAS zone is Journal of Diabetes Investigation in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, Journal of Diabetes Investigation is in Zone 3 of Medicine, and in Zone 4 of the minor category Endocrinology & Metabolism. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of Journal of Diabetes Investigation?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 3.56; CiteScore 6.3, h-index 95.
How long does peer review take at Journal of Diabetes Investigation?
Based on the dates recorded on 107 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 83 days (interquartile range 32–133 days); authors report an average review time of about 25 weeks; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 24% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
Where are the editorial board members of Journal of Diabetes Investigation based?
Of the 92 board members whose country the journal's board page names, 8 (about 9%) are in mainland China; the countries named most often are Japan (39), United States (11) and Taiwan, China (9). Counted from the institutions listed on the board page; for reference only.
Which databases index Journal of Diabetes Investigation?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, Journal of Diabetes Investigation is indexed in SCIE, Scopus and DOAJ. The journal's website also lists Web of Science, MEDLINE, PubMed and Embase; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is Journal of Diabetes Investigation open access, and what is the APC?
Journal of Diabetes Investigation is a fully open-access journal. APC about USD 3,850.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex, DOAJ; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .