Journal profile · Dermatology
JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY
ISSN 0385-2407 · eISSN 1346-8138 · Wiley-Blackwell · JAPAN · Monthly · Founded 1974
JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY: CAS Zone 4 · Medicine (2025 upgraded edition); impact factor 2.29; hybrid open access; APC about USD 3,630; median 67 days to acceptance (115 articles, last 24 months); community-reported acceptance: fairly easy; 537 articles in 2025; indexed in SCIE and Scopus.
Scope
Aims, scope and focus
JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY is published by Wiley-Blackwell and is in Zone 4 of Medicine in the CAS Journal Ranking (2025 upgraded edition). By OpenAlex counts of its recent articles, its largest topics are Autoimmune Bullous Skin Diseases, Dermatology and Skin Diseases and Cancer and Skin Lesions, together about 25.1% of its articles. Its main subfields are Dermatology. (generated from OpenAlex topic counts and CAS ranking data)
The Journal of Dermatology is the official peer-reviewed publication of the Japanese Dermatological Association and the Asian Dermatological Association. The journal aims to provide a forum for the exchange of information about new and significant research in dermatology and to promote the discipline of dermatology in Japan and throughout the world. Research articles are supplemented by reviews, theoretical articles, special features, commentaries, book reviews and proceedings of workshops and conferences. Preliminary or short reports and letters to the editor of two printed pages or less will be published as soon as possible. Papers in all fields of dermatology will be considered.
From the journal's Aims & Scope
Research area (LetPub): Dermatology
Editor-in-chief Takafumi KadonoPublisher website
Main research topics OpenAlex counts of recent articles; shares are approximate
- Autoimmune Bullous Skin DiseasesMedicine10.6%
- Dermatology and Skin DiseasesMedicine7.8%
- Cancer and Skin LesionsMedicine6.7%
- Cutaneous lymphoproliferative disorders researchMedicine5.7%
- Nail Diseases and TreatmentsMedicine5.5%
- Psoriasis: Treatment and PathogenesisImmunology and Microbiology5.2%
- Genetic and rare skin diseases.Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology5%
- Skin and Cellular Biology ResearchBiochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology4.8%
Rankings & indexing
CAS ranking and database indexing
CAS Journal Ranking
CAS Journal Ranking, upgraded edition (March 2025)Medicine Zone 4
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 4 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
CAS Xinrui Journal Ranking (March 2026)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: not marked
CAS Journal Ranking, previous upgraded edition (December 2023)Medicine Zone 3
| Level | Category | Zone |
|---|---|---|
| Major | Medicine | Zone 3 |
| Minor | Dermatology | Zone 3 |
Top journal: noReview journal: no
Database indexing
SCIEScopusLetPub
International journal early-warning lists: not listed in any editionLetPub
Indexing the journal's website claims
MEDLINEPubMedEmbaseCASCAB AbstractsCurrent ContentsPublisher website
Other: ProQuest
As the journal's website lists them, not checked against each database; for Web of Science editions the records above apply.
Editions, and major and minor categories, are shown separately and never merged into one zone; check which edition your institution uses before you submit or report.
Metrics
Impact metrics and publication volume
Impact
- Impact factor
- 2.29LetPub ·
- Impact factor (publisher) 2025
- 2.3Publisher website ·
- CiteScore 2026-06
- 4.2LetPub ·
- CiteScore (publisher) 2025
- 4.2Publisher website ·
- SJR 2026-06
- 0.84LetPub ·
- SNIP 2026-06
- 1.14LetPub ·
- h-index
- 57LetPub ·
- h-index
- 102OpenAlex ·
- i10-index
- 4,286OpenAlex ·
- 2-year mean citedness
- 1.46OpenAlex ·
- Self-citation rate
- 8.7%LetPub ·
- Share of gold OA articles
- 32.12%LetPub ·
Volume
- Articles per year
- 260LetPub ·
- Articles per year (publisher) 2025
- 491Publisher website ·
- Downloads per year (publisher) 2025
- 773,946Publisher website ·
Articles by year OpenAlex count · 12,702 in total · the current year is incomplete
| Year | Articles | Open access | Citations |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026 | 402 | 202 | 69 |
| 2025 | 537 | 239 | 594 |
| 2024 | 507 | 277 | 1,448 |
| 2023 | 417 | 245 | 2,013 |
| 2022 | 422 | 99 | 2,572 |
| 2021 | 572 | 133 | 5,022 |
Sources count differently and were observed at different times, so each source's own value is kept; "publisher" marks figures from the journal's website.
Review & acceptance
Review time and acceptance
Review time from article dates manuscript dates registered with Crossref · to
67 daysMedian, submission to acceptance · P25–P75 41 days – 113 days
- Acceptance to online
- median 13 days (115 articles)
- Submission to online
- median 80 days
- Sample
- 115 articles with submission and acceptance dates (1,048 in the window); the latest was accepted on
Only articles that were accepted and published are counted, not the time spent on rejected manuscripts, so this usually runs longer than a publisher's "time to first decision".
Other sources
- Average review time (community reports)
- 4–8 weeksLetPub ·
- Average acceptance (community reports)
- Fairly easyLetPub ·
- Acceptance rate (publisher) 2025
- 24%Publisher website ·
- Submission to first decision 2025
- 5 daysPublisher website ·
- Submission to acceptance 2025
- 81 daysPublisher website ·
- Acceptance to publication 2025
- 11 daysPublisher website ·
- Peer review
- Single anonymous peer reviewPublisher website
Community reports come from authors' own submissions (confidence 0.5) and are not a promise from the journal; for publisher figures, the journal's own definitions apply.
Fees & open access
APC and open-access policy
A subscription journal in which authors can pay to publish their article open access.
| Source | APC | Fee waiver | License | Observed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| OpenAlex | USD 3,630 / EUR 3,050 / GBP 2,400 | — | — | |
| Publisher website | JPY 20,000 / USD 200 | — | — |
A hybrid journal charges the APC only when the author chooses open access; publishing under the subscription model is usually free.
The journal's website is authoritative for fees; sources were observed at different times and each keeps its own value, without averaging.
Submission
Article types and submission policies (journal website)
What to prepare9 items from the author guidelines
- Abstract
- ≤ 300 words
- Keywords
- 5
- Manuscript length
- ≤ 6,000 words
- Reference style
- Vancouver
- First submission
- Free format: the journal's layout is not required
- Suggested reviewers
- Optional
- Highlights
- Optional
- Graphical abstract
- Optional
- Cover letter
- Required
Article types accepted7, with length limits
- editorialIn this section authors must describe any interest or relationship, financial or otherwise, that might be perceived as influencing an author's objectivity is co…Length not stated
- letters to the editorWord limit: 500 wordsAuthors: Maximum ten authorsAbstract: No abstractReferences: Up to 5Figures/Tables: Up to 1 (Multi panel figures must be compiled into one …main text ≤ 500 words · figures and tables ≤ 5
- original articleMANUSCRIPT CATEGORIES AND REQUIREMENTS Original Articles Word limit: 6,000 words including abstract Abstract: Unstructured (up to 300 words)main text ≤ 6,000 words · abstract ≤ 300 words
- original articlesOriginal ArticlesLength not stated
- protocolIn this section authors must describe any interest or relationship, financial or otherwise, that might be perceived as influencing an author's objectivity is co…Length not stated
- review articlescription of the data and the findings. Review Articles Word limit: 5,000 words including abstract Abstract: Unstructured (up to 300 words)main text ≤ 5,000 words · abstract ≤ 300 words
- review articlesReview ArticlesLength not stated
Policy excerpts from the journal's websiteAI use, Authorship, Conflicts of interest, Data availability, Publication ethics, License & copyright, Preprints, Trial registration / reporting guidelines
- AI use Updated Disclosing the Use of Artificial Intelligence (AI)
AIGC tools cannot be authors; use must be described transparently in Methods or Acknowledgements. Model summary
If you or your co-authors have used Artificial Intelligence Generated Content (AIGC) tools such as ChatGPT and others based on large language models (LLMs) to develop any portion of a manuscript, their use must be described transparently and in detail in the Methods section.Find more details on Wiley’s AI guidelines for researchers and Wiley’s AI policy in full in the Best Practices Guidelines on …
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Authorship Authorship
Name change policy: paper updated and republished, metadata redelivered, no correction notice, co-authors not notified. Model summary
The journal adheres to the definition of authorship set up by The International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE). The ICMJE recommends that authorship be based on the following 4 criteria: i) Substantial contributions to the conception or design of the work; or the acquisition, analysis, or interpretation of data for the work; ii) Drafting the work or revising it critically for importa…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Conflicts of interest Conflict of Interest Statement (applies to all article types)
In this section authors must describe any interest or relationship, financial or otherwise, that might be perceived as influencing an author's objectivity is considered a potential source of conflict of interest. These must be disclosed when directly relevant or directly related to the work that the authors describe in their manuscript. Potential sources of conflict of interest include, but are no…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Data availability Data Sharing and Data Availability
This journal encourages data sharing. Review Wiley’s Data Sharing policy where you will be able to see and select the data availability statement that is right for your submission.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Publication ethics COPE
COPE core practices; research and publication misconduct handled accordingly. Model summary
This journal is a member of the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). Publication ethics guidelines can also be found at http://exchanges.wiley.com/ethicsguidelines.
Source ↗Publisher website ·- License & copyright Reproduction of Copyright Material
If excerpts from copyrighted works owned by third parties are included, credit must be shown in the contribution. It is authors’ responsibility to also obtain written permission for reproduction from the copyright owners. For more information visit Wiley’s Copyright Terms & Conditions FAQ.The corresponding author is responsible for obtaining written permission to reproduce the material "in print a…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Preprints Preprint policy
Preprints accepted; submitted version may be posted to preprint server at any time. Model summary
Please find the Wiley preprint policy here. This journal accepts articles previously published on preprint servers.The Journal of Dermatology will consider for review articles previously available as preprints. You may also post the submitted version of a manuscript to a preprint server at any time. You are requested to update any pre-publication versions with a link to the final published article…
Source ↗Publisher website ·- Trial registration / reporting guidelines Reporting Guidelines
Clinical trials must be prospectively registered in an ICMJE-approved registry. Model summary
Authors are encouraged to consult the reporting guideline that is most appropriate for their study design during the preparation of their manuscript (CONSORT, STROBE, PRISMA, ARRIVE, CARE etc.). Reporting guidelines can be accessed on the EQUATOR network website (http://www.equator-network.org/home/).
Source ↗Publisher website ·
Excerpts are quoted from the journal's website; "model summary" lines are written by Workers AI and checked against the text. The journal's website is authoritative.
Profile
Publication details and official links
- Publisher
- Wiley-Blackwell
- Country or region
- JAPAN
- Language
- English
- Frequency
- Monthly
- Founded
- 1974
- ISSN
- 0385-2407
- Electronic ISSN
- 1346-8138
- Society / sponsor
- Japanese Dermatological Association and Asian Dermatological Association
- Latest issue on the website
- Volume 53, Issue 9 (September 2026)
- Official links
- Journal homepage ↗OpenAlex
- Submission system ↗LetPub
- Special issues ↗Publisher website
FAQ
Frequently asked questions about JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY
What CAS zone is JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY in?
In the 2025 upgraded edition of the CAS Journal Ranking, JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY is in Zone 4 of Medicine, and in Zone 3 of the minor category Dermatology. In the 2026 Xinrui edition it is in Zone 3 of Medicine. Zones from different editions, and from major and minor categories, are not interchangeable.
What is the impact factor of JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY?
The latest impact factor listed by LetPub is 2.29; CiteScore 4.2, h-index 102.
How long does peer review take at JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY?
Based on the dates recorded on 115 articles published between October 2024 and October 2026 (the last 24 months), the median time from submission to acceptance is 67 days (interquartile range 41–113 days); authors report an average review time of 4–8 weeks; the community-reported acceptance is “Fairly easy”; the journal's website gives an acceptance rate of 24% (2025). Article statistics cover accepted papers only, publisher figures follow the journal's own definitions, and community reports come from authors' own submissions; none is a promise from the journal.
What are the manuscript requirements of JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY?
According to the journal's author guidelines: Abstract: ≤ 300 words; Keywords: 5; Manuscript length: ≤ 6,000 words; Reference style: Vancouver; First submission: Free format: the journal's layout is not required; Suggested reviewers: Optional; Highlights: Optional; Graphical abstract: Optional; Cover letter: Required. A model extracted these from the author guidelines and each was checked against the text; check the latest version on the journal's website before submitting.
Which databases index JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY?
According to LetPub and DOAJ records, JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY is indexed in SCIE and Scopus. The journal's website also lists MEDLINE, PubMed, Embase, CAS, CAB Abstracts and Current Contents; that list has not been checked against each database.
Is JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY open access, and what is the APC?
JOURNAL OF DERMATOLOGY is a hybrid journal. For open-access publication: APC about USD 3,630.
Sources and updates
The facts on this page come from LetPub, Publisher website, OpenAlex; every figure is tagged with its source and the date it was observed, and conflicting values are kept per source. LetPub source page: view ↗ (archived 2026-08-25). Last updated: .